Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
Added by Kenji on 18 May 2015 12:45
982 Views 1 Comments

Cotswold Villages & Towns

There are many picturesque villages and towns in the Cotswolds, a magnet for tourists.

Bibury, Bourton on the Water, Broadway, Burford, Castle Combe, Chipping Campden, Chipping Norton, Cirencester, Lower Slaughter, Malmesbury, Moreton in Marsh, Snowshill, Stow on the Wold


The Cotswolds is an area in south central England containing the Cotswold Hills, a range of rolling hills which rise from the meadows of the upper Thames to an escarpment, known as the Cotswold Edge, above the Severn Valley and Evesham Vale. The area is defined by the bedrock of Jurassic limestone that creates a type of grassland habitat rare in the U.K. and that is quarried for the golden coloured Cotswold stone. The area, designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in 1966, is considered to have unique features derived from the local Cotswold stone; the predominantly rural landscape contains stone-built villages, historical towns and stately homes and gardens.

There is evidence of Neolithic settlement from burial chambers on Cotswold Edge, and there are remains of Bronze and Iron Age forts. During the Middle Ages, the area became prosperous from the wool trade—indeed the name is usually attributed the meaning, sheep enclosure in rolling hillsides, and large "wool churches" were built. The area remains affluent. Typical Cotswold towns are Burford, Chipping Norton, Cirencester, Moreton-in-Marsh and Stow-on-the-Wold. The Cotswold town of Chipping Campden is notable for being the home of the Arts and Crafts movement, founded by William Morris at the end of the 19th and beginning of the 20th centuries.

The Cotswolds are roughly 25 miles (40 km) across and 90 miles (145 km) long, stretching south-west from just south of Stratford-upon-Avon to just south of Bath. It lies across the boundaries of several English counties; mainly Gloucestershire and Oxfordshire, but also parts of Wiltshire, Somerset, Worcestershire and Warwickshire. The hills give their name to the Cotswold local government district in Gloucestershire, which administers a large part of the area. The highest point of the region is Cleeve Hill at 1,083 ft (330 m) just to the north of Cheltenham.


Added to

10 votes
Lists Made By Others 3 (19 lists)
list by blackknight99
Published 8 years, 9 months ago 3 comments
8 votes
My British Lists (61 lists)
list by Kenji
Published 9 years ago 1 comment
16 votes
My Places lists (81 lists)
list by Kenji
Published 9 years, 1 month ago 1 comment

People who voted for this also voted for

More lists from Kenji