Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
Scorn video

Scorn - Lick Forever Dog

Added by Johnny Love
8 years ago on 18 January 2014 15:56

Artist Scorn
Song Lick Forever Dog
Album Vae Solis
Year 1992
Track # 5 of 13

The first incarnation of British industrial/dub music project Scorn was as a trio on their first album "Vae Solis" released by Earache Records. To say the least, the album was a reunion of three original and core members of the grindcore act Napalm Death Mick Harris (drums), Nik Bullen (vocals, bass) and Justin K. Broadrick (guitars). This is the only album where Scorn was ever a trio, as well as the only to feature Justin on guitars.

Interestingly, the three formed Scorn because they all were tired of the punk scene, as well as didn't like the death metal direction Napalm Death was taking. The three have always shared an interest in industrial music ala Swans, Throbbing Gristle and 60's psychedelia, so they decided to create Scorn (well, Mick and Nik were the official members, Justin was considered a "guest" on the album).

This is the only Scorn album that is heavily guitar driven, as well as possess some heavier moments than future Scorn albums. It also is one of the few albums to heavily incorporate movie samples in songs. The album can be best described as a Godflesh meets Coil hybrid, full of droning guitars, reverb/dub style live drums, pitchshifted harsh vocals, and gritty production.

Later Scorn releases would be more in the minimalistic industrial/dub vein where Mick Harris would be the only member in the group, whereas Nik would disappear from the music scene in 1994 after the release of the classic industrial/dub album "Evanescence". Justin would still continue playing in Godflesh up to 2002, and then form Jesu from there onwards.