Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo

Cry Father

Lists

8 votes
Books Read by BradWesley123 in 2017 (4 items)
list by BradWesley123
Published 7 years ago 1 comment

Pictures


Description: The second novel from the critically acclaimed writer of Pike, which was nominated for France’s prestigious Grand Prix de Littérature Policière crime fiction award and “easily rivals Larry Brown’s most renowned novels” (Spinetingler Magazine). In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Larry Brown comes a haunting story about men, their fathers, their sons, and the legacy of violence. For Patterson Wells, disaster is the norm. Working alongside dangerous, desperate, itinerant men as a tree clearer in disaster zones, he's still dealing with the loss of his young son. Writing letters to the boy offers some solace. The bott ... (more)
Manufacturer: Gallery Books
Release date: 16 September 2014
ISBN-10 : 1476734356 | ISBN-13: 9781476734354
My tags: Add tags

Update feed

BradWesley123 added this to a list 7 years ago
Books Read by BradWesley123 in 2017 (4 books items)

"Cry Father has a pretty familiar through-line; damages men and their father's influence. Where it diverges from most, or at least many, is just how grimy the thing is. Heavy drug use, sex, abuse, murder; it's all there, but what separates it from others is just how common these acts are to the characters. In this sense, it's occasionally a hard book to read. Those who can stomach it will be rewarded, mostly, with a searing look at the aftermath of violence. The language that author Whitmer use"


BradWesley123 posted a image 7 years ago

BradWesley123 rated this 7/10 7 years ago