Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
Added by rickterenzi on 4 Jun 2013 03:16
2377 Views 4 Comments

Mille Miglia

Legendary Italian racing champion Tazio Nuvolari and navigator Giovan Battista Guidotti in 1930.
Tazio Nuvolari won the Mille Miglia in 1930 and in 1933.
The first winners of the Mille Miglia in 1927: Ferdinando Minoia and Giuseppe Morandi on OM 665 S spyder.
Mille Miglia 1928. The start in Brescia.
Italian racing champion Giuseppe Campari and navigator Giulio Ramponi on Alfa Romeo 6C 1500 SS spyder Zagato, winners in 1928.
Legendary italian racing champion Tazio Nuvolari and navigator Giovan Battista Guidotti on Alfa Romeo 6C 1750 GS (left) at the start in 1930.
Legendary Italian racing champion Tazio Nuvolari and navigator Decimo Compagnoni on Alfa Romeo 8C 2300 spyder Zagato, winners in 1933.
Italian racing champion Carlo Pintacuda and navigator Paride Mambelli on Alfa Romeo 8C 2900A spyder, winners in 1937.
Picture from the Gran Premio Brescia delle Mille Miglia 1940.
In the Mille Miglia in 1938, ten spectators (among them seven children) died in accident caused by a Lancia Aprilia near Bologna. As a consequence, the Italian government banned all the metropolitan car races. In 1939, the Mille Miglia didn't take place. In 1940, it was replaced by the Gran Premio Brescia delle Mille Miglia on the road track including Brescia, Cremona and Curtatone (near Mantova), without passing through the towns, to be repeated nine times.
Gran Premio Brescia delle Mille Miglia 1940. BMW 328.
Legendary Italian racing champion Tazio Nuvolari and navigator Francesco Carena on Cisitalia 202 SMM spyder in 1947.
Tazio Nuvolari won the second place, although he was almost at the end of his wonderful career, spanning three decades (1920 to 1950).
Italian racing champion Clemente Biondetti and navigator Giuseppe Navone on Ferrari 166 S coupè Allemano, winners in 1948.
Clemente Biondetti won the Mille Miglia in 1938, 1947, 1948 and 1949.
Italian racing champion Giannino Marzotto and navigator Marco Crosara on Ferrari 195 S coupè Touring, winners in 1950.
Picture from the Mille Miglia 1951.
Argentinian racing champion Juan Manuel Fangio on Alfa Romeo 1900 Sprint coupè in 1952.
Mille Miglia 1952. Italian racer Bruno Ruffo at the start.
Picture from Mille Miglia 1952.
Ingrid Bergman with Roberto Rossellini just before his start in the Mille Miglia 1953.
The navigator of Roberto Rossellini was cameraman Aldo Tonti, who worked with him in Il Miracolo (episode of L'Amore, 1948) and in Europa '51 (1952).
Picture from the Mille Miglia 1953.
Mille Miglia 1953. Ferrari 340 MM Competition spyder.
Italian racing champion Alberto Ascari on Lancia D24 Carrera spyder Pininfarina, winner in 1954.
Load more items (22 more in this list)

The Mille Miglia (1000 miles) was an open
road endurance race who took place in Italy twenty-four times, in its classic form, from 1927 to 1957. There were 13 editions before the World War II and 11 editions from 1947.
The race started from Brescia (Lombardy) to Rome, then went back to Brescia, following different tracks through the years and with
an exception only in 1940.
Several kinds of cars took part in the Mille Miglia, with the slower cars starting first.
The competition number of each car was accorded to its starting time; e.g. if a car
had its start scheduled at 6:02 a.m. its competition number would have been 602.
From 1953 to 1957 the Mille Miglia was a
round of the World Sportscar Championship.
In 1957, two major accidents occurred. In
the first, Spanish racer Alfonso De Portago, U.S. navigator Edmund Nelson and ten spectators (six of them were children) died in Guidizzolo (near Mantova). It's believed that the accident was caused by a blown tyre of the Ferrari 335 S driven by De Portago. In
the second, German racer Joseph Gottgens died while he was driving his Triumph TR3 in Brescia.
After the 1957 edition, the Mille Miglia, in its classic form, was suppressed.

The Freccia Rossa (Red arrow) logo of the Mille Miglia.
The logo of the Mille Miglia is owned by Automobile Club di Brescia (Lombardy, Italy).

See also:

Fausto Coppi Vs. Gino Bartali

Grande Torino

Added to

34 votes
Vintage Car Lists (7 lists)
list by Anautix
Published 8 years, 10 months ago 1 comment

People who voted for this also voted for

More lists from rickterenzi