Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
1943 Views    Share:

Favorite Images of Wallabies

Animals list created by kathy Avatar

A list of my favorite images of wallabies.


A wallaby is a small or mid-sized macropod found in Australia and New Guinea.

They belong to the same taxonomic family as kangaroos and sometimes the same genus, but kangaroos are specifically categorised into the six largest species of the family.

The term wallaby is an informal designation generally used for any macropod that is smaller than a kangaroo or wallaroo that has not been designated otherwise.

There are 11 species of brush wallabies (g. Macropus, s.g. Protemnodon). Their head and body length is 45 to 105 cm and the tail is 33 to 75 cm long.

The six named species of rock-wallabies (g. Petrogale) live among rocks, usually near water; two species are endangered.

The two species of hare-wallabies (g. Lagorchestes) are small animals that have the movements and some of the habits of hares.

Often called "pademelons", the three species of scrub wallabies (g. Thylogale) of New Guinea, the Bismarck Archipelago, and Tasmania are small and stocky, with short hind limbs and pointed noses. They are hunted for meat and fur.

A similar species is the short-tailed scrub wallaby, or quokka (Setonix brachyurus); this species is now restricted to two offshore islands of Western Australia.

The three named species of forest wallabies (g. Dorcopsulus) are native to the island of New Guinea.

The dwarf wallaby is the smallest member of the genus and the smallest known member of the kangaroo family. Its length is about 46 cm from nose to tail, and it weighs about 1.6 kg.

The name "wallaby" comes from Dharug 'walabi' or 'waliba'.

Young wallabies are known as "joeys", like many other marsupials.

Adult male wallabies are referred to as "bucks", "boomers" or "jacks".

An adult female wallaby is known as a "doe", "flyer" or "jill".

A group of wallabies is called a "court", "mob" or "troupe".

Forest-dwelling wallabies are known as "pademelons" (genus Thylogale) and "dorcopsises" (genera Dorcopsis and Dorcopsulus).

Added to

12 votes
My Marsupial Collection (15 lists)
list by kathy
Published 5 years, 1 month ago 1 comment
11 votes
Animals - W (12 lists)
list by kathy
Published 6 years ago 1 comment

People who voted for this also voted for

More lists from kathy