Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more
Avatar
Added by PvtCaboose91

on 17 Mar 2012 03:41

149
8520 Views 53 Comments

Typical Movie Arguments That Irk Me...

Choose file... or enter url:
Sort by: Showing 11 items
People who added this item 2077  Average listal rating (1429 ratings) 7.8  IMDB Rating 7.8 
1. Drive (2011)
The Typical Argument:
"It's too slow and boring, should've had more action!"

Why That's Bullshit:
There's a distinct difference between what you want and what a filmmaker's vision is. Drive is not about car chases or action; it's a crime/drama/thriller. Just because it doesn't have the action you expected it to have, doesn't necessarily mean that it's a bad movie - it just means it isn't for you. Because the film was not tailor-made to your vision, you have no right to wander around saying "Dude it was the worst movie ever!" That just makes you look fucking inane.
PvtCaboose91's rating:

People who added this item 2009  Average listal rating (1251 ratings) 7.8  IMDB Rating
2. Let the Right One In (2008)
The Typical Argument:
"It's foreign and subtitled! I don't want to read subtitles! It'll be so boring"

Why That's Bullshit:
Imagine for a second that you spend months and months making a motion picture. For the sake of argument, let's say you wrote and directed it, and poured your heart and soul into the finished movie.
Now let's imagine that your distributor needed to release it in non-English countries, and it needed to be subtitled. How would you like it if non-English speakers automatically hated your movie because it was in English?
Being subtitled doesn't mean bad or boring. It means you have to concentrate on the movie. And that's the thing about movies: you should give them your full concentration without any distractions.
PvtCaboose91's rating:

People who added this item 1011  Average listal rating (637 ratings) 7.4  IMDB Rating
3. King Kong (1933)
The Typical Argument:
"It's old! Effects are crappy and it's boring"

Why That's Bullshit:
What's your favourite movie right now? For the sake of argument, let's say it was made 5 years ago. Now fast-forward 25 or 30 years. Now your favourite movie is about 35 years old and would look rather dated. Would you then hate it?
Who cares about how old the movie is? If a movie is good, it'll grab your attention regardless of its age. Why does it matter if the picture is a little grainier, or if the audio sounds dated? Give a movie a chance.
PvtCaboose91's rating:

People who added this item 2722  Average listal rating (1856 ratings) 7.5  IMDB Rating
4. District 9 (2009)
The Typical Argument:
"Those aliens were shit! They should've destroyed those humans easily! Would've been better with big battles of humans vs. aliens!"

Why That's Bullshit:
This criticism is another case of your expectations being different from an artist's vision. District 9's aliens are weak grunts, the equivalent of worker ants. They don't have the ability to go to war, and they're starving and desperate. Once again, just because the movie wasn't full of alien combat or anything stereotypically "cool", doesn't mean it's a bad movie, and you have no right to call it as such.
PvtCaboose91's rating:

People who added this item 2283  Average listal rating (1550 ratings) 8.5  IMDB Rating 8.6 
5. Rear Window (1954)
The Typical Argument:
"Eh it's so predictable now, I knew what was gonna happen."

Why That's Bullshit:
I'm not kidding, someone literally watched this after seeing Disturbia and said they could see where Rear Window was headed. Well yeah, when your mind has been tarnished by plenty of imitators, you will have those movies in the back of your mind.
But when Rear Window was first released so many decades ago, nobody had seen anything of the sort. It was fresh and original. You're a fucking retard if you call a classic film unoriginal because you've seen the films that the classic inspired.
PvtCaboose91's rating:

People who added this item 8895  Average listal rating (5533 ratings) 8.1  IMDB Rating 8.8 
6. The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the... (2001)
The Typical Argument:
"The book was so much better!"

Why That's Bullshit:
Oh here we go. The juicy complaint from the pseudo-intellectuals who think they're superior because they have the patience to read a book.
Xanadont said it best: the complaint comes from "people who don't understand that adaptations between two different mediums necessitates certain sacrifices, reconstructions, embellishments, and other tricky and subjective decisions."
People dislike Tom Bombadill's exclusion from Fellowship of the Ring, but would it REALLY have made an impact on the plot? No... It would've been a useless plot digression that'd give more people cause to call the film boring or too long. Take FOTR on its own terms, and it's a marvellous standalone movie which gives vivid life to Tolkien's excellent ideas.
PvtCaboose91's rating:

People who added this item 3527  Average listal rating (2295 ratings) 7.9  IMDB Rating 8.2 
7. No Country for Old Men (2007)
The Typical Argument:
"WTF was with that ending?"

Why That's Bullshit:
We get so many happy, upbeat endings because Hollywood knows what people want: to walk away with a warm, fuzzy feeling. Everything needs to be wrapped up tidily and filmgoers don't want to engage their brain.
And then when they're confronted by something like No Country for Old Men, they shit themselves. I actually remember talking to a friend who worked in a video store a few years back. Someone hired this movie on the day of release, and returned it to complain that the disc skipped a few scenes and went straight to the credits when in fact he saw the whole movie but couldn't grasp this. They couldn't double-check the time-codes on their DVD player or think about the ending; their first thought was that the disc fucked up.
Brain fodder doesn't hurt, people...
PvtCaboose91's rating:

People who added this item 947  Average listal rating (592 ratings) 6.8  IMDB Rating 7.3 
8. Michael Clayton (2007)
The Typical Argument:
"It didn't make sense!! It was shit!!"

Why That's Bullshit:
Not every movie is designed to be properly digested in one sitting. In some movies, if you miss the littlest detail or dialogue exchange, you may find yourself lost. It's true of many movies, ranging from Michael Clayton to more complex films like Mulholland Drive. Not every stab at this type of complex film is successful, granted, but if a film does in fact make sense and/or has room for you to create your own interpretation, this complaint is utterly naive.
PvtCaboose91's rating:

People who added this item 1263  Average listal rating (744 ratings) 6.3  IMDB Rating 6.6 
9. Australia (2008)
The Typical Argument:
"This is so stupid!" (referring to cultural-specific things they just do not understand)

Why That's Bullshit:
I could put an array of movies on this list to address this point, but Australia deserves some love. I can't tell you how many times people have complained about the scene in which Nullah (the "African Australian" as some have called him...you know what? Your retardation is off the charts if you've used that term) prevents the stampede from going over the cliff. They say his "magical powers" are fucking stupid and the scene is cringe-worthy. These retards, however, are just naive about Aboriginal culture. They are very in tune with the land and animals. After all, it's theorised they travelled to Australia during the freaking ICE AGE, and were stuck with spears and arrows until the white settlers arrived.
PvtCaboose91's rating:

People who added this item 3878  Average listal rating (2626 ratings) 6.6  IMDB Rating 7.2 
10. Transformers (2007)
The Typical Argument:
"It's just a dumb action movie! If you don't like it, go watch Gone with the Wind."

Why That's Bullshit:
This is actually an argument in defence of a terrible movie, and it's almost always wrong. Whenever people express how much they detest something like Transformers, the fans immediately leap in and say "It's just a dumb action movie! It's fun! If you don't like it, go watch a boring artsy drama." Or something to that tune. And ultimately, the argument is tiresome. I don't want Transformers to be Gone with the Wind or something, I want it to be Die Hard, Lethal Weapon or The Terminator. By that I mean, I want a good action movie which is stylish and competently written. Not a film like Transformers that's boring and filled with inane dialogue.
Just because we hate dialogue like "Bumblebee, stop lubricating the man!", doesn't mean we want characters discussing their feelings. Just because we hate robots with testicles, doesn't mean we'd prefer to see a wedding ceremony. Just because we hate shaky-cam and frenzied editing, doesn't mean we want a 5-minute shot of a character staring at another character.
Maybe we'd prefer genuinely witty dialogue in our dumb action films. Maybe we prefer action we can follow easily without getting a migraine. Maybe we prefer creativity, not 15-year-old boy smut like testicles on a robot.
Please learn the distinction between "Good fun dumb action movie" and "Horrendously dull, witless action movie".
PvtCaboose91's rating:

People who added this item 5339  Average listal rating (3591 ratings) 8  IMDB Rating 8.7 
11. Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope (1977)
The Typical Argument:
"Read the comics/books, it'll make more sense!"

Why That's Bullshit:
I chose Star Wars for this because it's notorious for having an entire "expanded universe" of comics, books, videogames, television shows, and so on. The Broadway play probably isn't far off.
If anyone picks up on any plot inconsistencies, or questions why a random character shows up on one occasion then is never seen again, the nerds automatically tell them to read the comic or novel that expounds on a certain character and their rich history.
Which is complete bullshit.
Another good example of Akira. I couldn't make heads or tails of it, and later found out it was compressed from a huge comic book series. When I said I couldn't follow it, I was told to read the comic and it'll make more sense. Again, bullshit.
Why the FUCK should I have to do additional homework? I'm watching a feature film, I expect to have the full experience and all the information I'll need. I don't expect to have to spend another two weeks of my life reading a book or comic to fill in the blanks left by a movie. Especially in Akira's case, what's the point in making an adaptation of a comic if viewers have to go read the comic anyway? Shouldn't the adaptation be able to stand as its own entity?
PvtCaboose91's rating:


 

Casual filmgoers take movies for granted way too much. It's because of them that we get dumb summer movies, English-language remakes of foreign movies and scripts that are compromised for bigger box office.

But the criticisms and arguments are so fucking inane... Open your goddamn mind.

Suggestions welcome!

Added to

53 votes
Favorite Lists (219 lists)
list by MichelleCassidy
Published 2 years ago 4 comments
8 votes
My favorite lists (33 lists)
list by Jamie M.
Published 2 years, 7 months ago 3 comments
40 votes
Favorite Lists (59 lists)
list by propelas
Published 2 years, 8 months ago 7 comments
22 votes
Drugs' Favorite Movie Lists (29 lists)
list by drugs
Published 2 years, 7 months ago 1 comment
7 votes
Fab Movie Lists (27 lists)
list by talia_sparkle
Published 2 years, 5 months ago
29 votes
the giraffe's favorite lists (65 lists)
list by the giraffe
Published 2 years, 8 months ago 8 comments
6 votes
Favorite Lists (8 lists)
list by The Cinephile
Published 2 years, 6 months ago



Related lists

Movies posters that made me want to see the movie
58 item list by Kanna
11 votes
Movies that make me hungry.
14 item list by Lex
11 votes 1 comment
movie that made me stop doing things for a bit
5 item list by frankhta
5 votes
Not a typical Christmas movie
14 item list by propelas
50 votes 8 comments
Songs that remind me of movies
11 item list by My raimBow
3 votes 1 comment
My Favourite Movies of All Time
10 item list by Quote Unquote Sir
16 votes
Movie scores that make the movie
16 item list by sleepless101
10 votes 1 comment
what a title tells me about a movie
42 item list by astro_man23
33 votes 4 comments
Funny movie trailers
12 item list by Lex
1 votes
Tunes that take me somewhere
12 item list by Jack Napier
1 votes

View more top voted lists

People who voted for this also voted for

Greatest Unscripted Scenes
~ I Don't Want to Live on this Planet Anymore.
These are the questions that haunt me.
Facts about my movie-watching
30 Greatest Modern Monster Movies
How the mighty have fallen
Authors Hate the Movie Versions of Their Book
If the film is shot a century ago...
Facepalm Movies
10 Reasons Why Gary Oldman Should Get An Oscar
Actors who turned against their own movies
Stan Lee's Marvel movie cameos

More lists from PvtCaboose91

Biggest Disappointments in Film History
Great Movies With Useless Franchises
Movies Everybody Seems To Hate Except Me
Worst Movies of 2010...
Looking Forward to in 2011...
My Top 50 Favorite Movies...


Comments

Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 5:22
Why That's Bullshit:
I'm not kidding, someone literally watched this after seeing Disturbia and said they could see where Rear Window was headed. Well yeah, when your mind has been tarnished by plenty of imitators, you will have those movies in the back of your mind.
But when Rear Window was first released so many decades ago, nobody had seen anything of the sort. It was fresh and original. You're a fucking retard if you call a classic film unoriginal because you've seen the films that the classic inspired.

Seriously, that's the most common one I hear! it also gets furiously annoying. Great, and necessary list, my friend!
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 5:49
Great list! If I can think of any suggestions I'll let you know...right now I've got nothing.

The subtitles one reminded me of when Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon was at the discount theatres before going to video, there was a theatre in a very redneck area that posted signs in the box office windows warning that the film was in subtitles. Even then some people walked out of the theatre to demand their money back because they refused to read, which I guess means they didn't couldn't be bothered to read the signs either. Depressing.
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 6:17
Gay marriage is illegal, but retards are allowed to flourish? Urgh.
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 6:19
Yep. You saw Idiocracy, right? ;)
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 6:35
One that annoys me is always "The book was better". I always thing... Really? Wow, so you feel that hundreds of pages of text can be transformed to a different media then further condensed to typically less then two hours of run time and still be even remotely close to the original experience. I can't think of any time where I have ever heard anyone say "Wow, the Movie was *so* much better then the book". Mmm... well perhaps "Breakfast at Tiffany's"
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 6:40
I thought the movie version of Kick-Ass was MUCH better than the book.
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 8:10
Yep, these are all code for "You don't need to ever discuss movies with me again because I don't know shit." And so, I never again bother talking about movies with these people.

I'm definitely with jaytoast on the "book was better" complaint from people who don't understand that adaptations between two different mediums necessitates certain sacrifices, reconstructions, embellishments, and other tricky and subjective decisions.

Another one that bugs me are the people that condemn a film simply because it doesn't end in a way that's happy, neat, and tidy. If it's a downer of an ending, they're pissed. If it's an ambiguous ending that requires them to think for themselves, well fucking forget about it.
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 8:22
Two excellent suggestions, they shall be added to the list!
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 8:58
Great list.. but why spend so much time caring about what people with no appreciation of film think?
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 9:16
Because those types of people are fast becoming the majority, and that's a worrying thing. My father and brother adhere to these stereotypes, and it's embarrassing to share movies with them.
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 9:45
Excellent! I'll have to remember to try to check back on this list for any further additions. I'm sure there are one or two other common-place bullshit complaints out there.
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 9:51
Awesome. I completely agree. Although, I don't like when someone's favorite movie was made in the last five years. It irks me even more when someone's favorite movie is STILL in theaters. Also, god forbid that a movie is in black and white.
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 9:59
This is an excellent list, I would feel confident to say that it is one of my personal favourite lists on this website. In an ideal world, people would be more open-minded.
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 10:13
Thanks for the comments!
Although, I don't like when someone's favorite movie was made in the last five years. It irks me even more when someone's favorite movie is STILL in theaters.

See, that's the thing. When people don't care, their favourite movie becomes more of a matter of the last movie they saw that they liked.

I'm happy to say I've called LOTR: Return of the King my favourite movie for almost 9 years now :D
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 12:27
wow,wow,wow you're so right!
Excellent list,excellent comments and one suggestion:
Mulholland Dr. and that it doesn't make a sense so the movie is awful
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 12:40
Oh man, this was so satisfying to read. I've pulled off so much hair hearing/reading complaints like that.

Speaking of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, probably 90% of people who didn't like the movie based their "criticism" on the fact that THE FLYING WAS RIDICULOUS. I swear they only say "It was dull, flying was stupid." I don't know what to file that under, perhaps useless nitpicking or being unaware of genre-traditions or whatever, but that always sounded really inconsiderate to me. Like they can't see the big picture so they diss the movie for something that's not the point.
So there's a potential complaint to add. I hope you'll find a fitting category for that.
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 13:48
Soooooooo true!!! haha
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 14:04
Another one that gets on my nerves:

"It was too long"
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 17:40
Some very nice additions to this list since I last stopped by. It drives me crazy how many people have dismissed A Serious Man because it didn't make sense to them. Understanding the film requires knowing a little about the time in which it's set, so for younger viewers doing some research into 1967 in American culture would shine some light on the events of the film & what it all means. Instead of doing some research & trying the film again they'd rather complain about how it didn't make sense so it wasn't any good. Meh.

I expect to see "It was too long" on here next...or perhaps "I heard it was really long, so I'm not going to watch it."
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 17 23:30
I don't think anyone hates "Disctrict 9" for the absurd reason you put

Gee, really?! You mean I really haven't heard anyone say that before when I know I have? *rolls eyes*

but rather because, through cheap and painfully obvious "symbolism", it hammers an incredibly trite and cliched message down our throat, one which has been hammered down numerous times before

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JODwetfioWA
Edit: 2 years, 7 months ago
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 18 11:48
I expect to see "It was too long" on here next...or perhaps "I heard it was really long, so I'm not going to watch it."

"Too long" is a genuine criticism though, IMO. Even the greatest films of all time could be a little tauter.
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 18 20:11
Great list, I agree with most of these thoughts. I kinda disagree with the No Country For Old Men entry, though, since in that particular movie, the ending kinda came out of the blue and could've been better handled, IMO anyway.

In any case, very well structured list, I guess you clearly transmitted the thoughts many of us have towards those who disregard quality work due to their nitpicking or inability to go behind first impressions.
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 19 16:06
last week I heard someone say she thought Inception was boring and awful, because, here it comes "she had to think while watching".

Another one often heard: "why does the woman in Psycho gets killed so early, it makes no sense! That's like wasting half a movie!"
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 19 16:30
You are 100% right about all of them
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 19 17:17
I love your list!! You picked some really good movies: thank for doing them justice!
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 19 20:58
Great read. The following are ones that particularly resonated with me:
"It's foreign and subtitled! I don't want to read subtitles! It'll be so boring"

If I had that mentality, I'd be consistently watching the watered-down Godzilla: King of the Monsters instead of the original Gojira.
"It's old! Effects are crappy and it's boring"

Being a big fan of stop-motion animation/clay-mation and especially suitimation, I agree wholeheartedly. There's real charm in these methods, and they'll always have their fans.
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 19 23:46
Excellent list, I agree with all of these and you're especially spot on with No Country for Old Men. I loved that ending, yet some people cannot grasp the idea that a film doesn't always need to be wrapped up in a little bow. I mean, real life isn't, so why should films?
Posted: 2 years, 7 months ago at Mar 25 2:07
OK, I'll agree with most of them, but I'll also admit that when I give the "book was better" complaint, it is mostly to not so subtly encourage someone to get off their ass, turn off the TV, and read the real plot line before they complain about the adapted one.
Posted: 2 years, 5 months ago at May 9 19:36
AMAZING list!
Invariably, all these complaints are usually followed with "I wish I could get the last two hours of my life back again" or something to that effect.

I love you for posting this!
Posted: 2 years, 5 months ago at May 12 16:00
This is great. And the conversation going on here (or was going on) is fun to read. Awesome job!
Posted: 2 years, 4 months ago at Jun 2 1:24
You really feel strongly about this, don´t you? Too much people being called retarded in one list for my taste. Meh, whatever, I dont feel so strongly about it ;)

About the complaints that you mention they sound a bit too stupid to be too common but who knows? I don´t ever talk about movies with anyone. Perhaps you should do the same to reduce your misanthropy levels :)

There a lot of 'better' things you could complaint about of most of this movies.

"It's foreign and subtitled! I don't want to read subtitles! It'll be so boring"


By the way I´m from Spain and here every last movie is dubbed (of course there are some little theaters offer undubbed movies but they aren´t many and you can only find them in big cities) so the hate against subtitles is really high between my people. The only thing that is slowly pushing for the subtitles is that lots of people download and watch shows from North America´s TV and don´t want to wait for their shows to be 'converted' to spanish. I hope that in one or two more generations people will forget about dubbing for good.
Posted: 2 years, 4 months ago at Jun 2 4:42
Too much people being called retarded in one list for my taste. Meh, whatever, I dont feel so strongly about it ;)

Nothing wrong with having zero tolerance for stupidity.
I don´t ever talk about movies with anyone. Perhaps you should do the same to reduce your misanthropy levels :)

In other words, you feel I shouldn't even discuss movies when I'm having conversations with friends or work colleagues, even when the other person brings it up? Dude, it's not like I walk up to every person I see and talk about movies. When you talk to someone, movies are a natural topic. Plus it's not always discussions -- I see a lot of this shit plastered all over forums.
Posted: 2 years, 4 months ago at Jun 25 9:54
Nice list and nice comments!
"The Book Was So Much Better" and "WTF was with the ending" are just hideous!
It's funny 'cause the first one is supposed to establish the intellectual superiority of whoever is saying that, but it really shows big ignorance! Not only what you said about the fact that, in portraiting a book on the screen, omission are sometimes necessary, I also think that, since the movie is not there so that you can avoid reading the book, and the two things are totally different, movies should be a personal interpretation of the book.
So, if you ask me, the author/screenwriter/director can literally change everything, there's plenty of examples (just think to Croenenberg's "The Naked Lunch" and the most recent "Cosmopolis").
There are, of course, movies that I find inadequate to the book they're portraying, but sure is not 'cause they're not being "thorough", that is bullshit!

As for the ending of "No Country for Old Men"...that just bugs me 'cause I always thought that was probably the most powerful and perfect choice in the all movie! I also found that to be perfectly fitting the concept of suc a philosophical movie. Isn't that from a book too? does the book end differently? I've no idea 'cause I never read it.

Oh and I live in the same situation as Keiju here...I'm from a country where I cannot go to the cinema because movies are dubbed and I think it's unacceptable (and kind of retarded)...so everybody should be thankful for subtitles
Posted: 2 years, 3 months ago at Jul 12 1:49
You're amazing. Can I call you Uncomfortable Truths Man? The world needs more heroes like you.
Posted: 2 years, 3 months ago at Jul 12 11:15
*takes a bow*
Obliged ;)
Posted: 2 years, 3 months ago at Jul 20 9:31
In my opinion, absolutely the best list i have ever seen! I guess, I will translate it in my mother tongue(Turkish) and share!
Posted: 2 years, 3 months ago at Jul 20 12:22
Sounds like a plan!
Soon this list will have a list of accolades attached to it...

"Recommended by Oprah!
Translated into one language, including Turkish!"
etc etc
Posted: 2 years, 2 months ago at Aug 18 10:01
oh my god this list is fabulous. esp. the bit about subtitles and Let The Right One In. being a foreigner (Cuban) I grew up watching movies in English with Spanish subs. so every time someone here (Canada) gives me the whole "I can't @ subs" argument I literally go batshit crazy. Contrary to popular belief, there's thousands and thousands of media in non-English, from movies to books to CDs. THE WORLD DOES NOT REVOLVE AROUND THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE, PEOPLE. It's the international lingua franca, not the official language of planet Earth, jfc. Non-English speakers don't go "this music/movie/book sucks because it's in English", lol, or at least I've never met any who do.
Posted: 2 years, 1 month ago at Sep 24 20:24
why do even bother about these stupid statements? Who cares?
Posted: 2 years, 1 month ago at Sep 24 21:46
why do even bother about these stupid statements? Who cares?

Oh the irony......
Posted: 2 years ago at Sep 28 19:28
Another complaint I absolutely hate is "It was different and really stupid". I personally love it when a movie can be unpredictable and different. My friend was complaining that Minority Report was stupid because it was different. And his favorite movie is Scary Movie. I really wish people had an appreciation for good filmmaking. They're used to the mediocre crap from Red Box.
Posted: 1 year, 11 months ago at Nov 21 22:45
This list is awesome.

I'm torn on the "The book was better" point though. If it's a matter of "that bit wasn't in the movie/book!" or "that's not what I pictured" (I did hear this one. It makes my skin crawl.), then yes. Side note: The Hunger Games was a tremendously awful book and it's a hilariously bad movie - JL's performance aside - but a coworker had this, and only this, criticism: the casting was bad. Why was the casting bad? The main cast didn't look like they were described in the book, especially JL. Because the movie didn't have a malnourished olive-skinned female lead, it sucked, yo! This coworker of mine sure drew the line at this huge fail that, I guess, obscured less obvious details like, dunno, the script, the camera work... Maybe it was the brain-freezing stupidity of some scenes that made it hard to notice much?

But I understand this book thing as a shorthand for "Personally, the movie didn't meet my expectations and I didn't enjoy it." The movie might be shallow, might miss the point, might rush from money-shot scene to money-shot scene, might be slavishly tied to the book/comics/whatever to the point of piling up countless pointless cameos that drag the whole thing under the dead weight of fan service, might do a dozen scenes of shameless infodumping, or might fail on its own for reasons completely unrelated to the fact that it's an adaptation - maybe M Night Shyamalan is involved, maybe Justin Bieber and Myley Cyrus are the leads and they also sing the soundtrack, any number of things. It's not "The movie is bad because it's not like the book", it's "The movie is bad, BUT the book IS good."
Posted: 1 year, 10 months ago at Nov 29 10:14
Hey cool! Finally someone else who dug Australia. I finally caught up with the movie earlier this week and enjoyed it thoroughly, but thought I was alone on that until now.
Posted: 1 year, 10 months ago at Nov 29 10:15
Oh, and thanks for quoting me in the 'book/bullshit' section!
Posted: 1 year, 10 months ago at Dec 15 20:02
Congratulations on creating one of the best lists ever with a topic that is near and dear to my heart. WELL DONE! This goes on my favorite list!
Posted: 1 year, 9 months ago at Jan 7 16:39
I agree with everything you've said here. All your points were spot-on!

One small addition, for my part, about books vs. films: In most cases, I do believe that the book was better but that still doesn't mean that the film won't be damn fine, too! And in some cases, the film is what's better. But in every case (for me), most of the books that I have read - and loved - I want to see put to film!
Posted: 1 year, 9 months ago at Jan 7 18:28
Many of them are my favourites movies, I disagree only "No Country For Old Man", but bc I'm not very fond of Cohen's work, but I respect them.
Posted: 1 year, 7 months ago at Mar 26 10:17
Your point on drive doesn't have any substance, just an opinion vs another opinion. Very silly to have that as the first one we read considering how weak of an argument it is.
Posted: 1 year, 7 months ago at Mar 26 10:48
Your point on drive doesn't have any substance, just an opinion vs another opinion. Very silly to have that as the first one we read considering how weak of an argument it is.

Your point about my point about Drive doesn't have any substance, just an opinion vs. another opinion. Very silly to say that considering how weak of a point it is.

Now run along little boy, your right hand demands sexual satisfaction again.
Posted: 1 year, 3 months ago at Jul 13 1:50
Did you know there was an actual lawsuit about Drive? Someone expected a Transporter style action movie, and was so pissed off that it didn't deliver that they tried to sue the production company. True story - look it up. I would say that qualifies as proof enough that people were frustrated by lack of action.

Besides, you miss the point completely. I'm not saying that Drive is the ONLY movie that gets this flack - the list identifies general complaints that people level against multiple movies. If you don't think my choice of movie was good enough to illustrate the complaint, that's your prerogative. I don't give a shit.
Posted: 9 months, 2 weeks ago at Jan 8 14:25
In my country all movies in cinema and on TV are subtitled(except for some animated movies that have dubbed versions), so I guess no-one has a problem reading subtitles, but I've heard people saying "I won't watch an asian or non-english language movie because I don't like how the language sounds" :)).
And another thing I've heard is "I won't watch anime because the drawing is nasty and the characters look stupid. Why would they draw characters with big eyes when asians have small eyes?!" :))
I don't have a problem with people forming an opinion after they've wathed the movie, regardless of the opinion, but refusing to watch because of some shallow ideas, that is plain stupid.

Login or Signup to post a comment