Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Avatar
Added by johanlefourbe on 20 Dec 2012 05:21
1895 Views 10 Comments
25
vote

Almost a Complete Review of David Lynch's work

Add header image

Choose file... or enter url:
Sort by: Showing 27 items
Decade: Rating: List Type:
People who added this item 68 Average listal rating (41 ratings) 8.7 IMDB Rating 0
Twin Peaks (2017)

Unfortunately, I haven't seen this one yet...
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 24 Average listal rating (15 ratings) 5.9 IMDB Rating 6.7


What was it about?
David Lynch has released a CD with his own music and this is the video clip for the title song.

My two cents:
So... It is what Lynch has been up to lately... Honestly, it is rather difficult to pick up which one is the lamest, the music or the video-clip. Personally, I would say the music. I mean, Lynch has made some brilliant movies but, as a musician, he is honestly pretty bad. Like I said before, the video-clip is really average but like every movie directed by Lynch, there is still something mesmerizing about it. Watch this at your own risk...

My rating: 06/10
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 29 Average listal rating (17 ratings) 5.9 IMDB Rating 6.3
The 3 Rs (2011)


What was it about?
It was the festival trailer of the Viennale 2011, which had its world premiere on 21st September 2011 in the Gartenbaukino in Vienna. The trailer was shown in over 100 cinemas in Austria and Germany and during the festival in several cinemas in Vienna.

My two cents:
I thought this one was pretty good. It is a very short movie, only just 1 minute a long but I think this format works really well with David Lynch's directing style. Indeed, even though it is really experimental, since it is so short, Lynch doesn't have to pretend that there is an actual plot and can go wild with his imagination. Personally, I liked the weirdness but the randomness annoyed me a little bit (something recurrent that I always dread in Lynch's work) but I enjoyed this flick.

My rating: 07/10
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom


What was it about?
It is a collaboration between Lynch and the band Interpol, played in the background during Interpol's concert at the Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival in April 2011. The short featured Interpol's song "Lights".

My two cents:
Basically, it is another video clip but this time, thank God, Lynch didn't provide the music. Honestly, I never heard of Interpol before watching this but I thought their music was pretty good, at least I liked this song. Coming back to the movie, I thought it was a very good combination with the music. Watching all those shorts, I discovered that Lynch was originally into animation at the beginning of his career and he was actually pretty gifted. The only thing which prevented this short to get a higher rating is that it was highly repetitive (which wasn't really a big issue) and after a while Lynch started to shake the image back and forth endlessly and also out of focus (which was terribly annoying). All in all, it is still a pretty good video-clip with some cool music.

My rating: 07/10
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 59 Average listal rating (34 ratings) 5.9 IMDB Rating 6.3


Cast : Marion Cotillard

What was it about?
A nameless woman (Marion Cotillard) enters her Shanghai hotel room to find a vintage record playing and a blue Dior purse that seems to come from nowhere. The security guards that search her room find nothing and ask if the bag belongs to an acquaintance. The question reveals to the woman a vision of her traveling to the Pearl Tower and old Shanghai in search of a lost lover who cant stay with her...

My two cents:
Honestly, I thought this one was terribly disappointing. I don't know, I thought that a combination of David Lynch, Marion Cotillard, Dior and Shanghai sounded really awesome but the end-result was nothing really amazing. Above all, it was the first time that I found a Lynch feature rather ugly. I mean, it has been already a few years since Lynch has switched to digital filming for some obvious reasons and it has never bothered me until I watched this flick. Indeed, I thought it looked rather ugly and I'm pretty sure it would have looked better with some good old celluloid. Still, like everything touched by David Lynch, there was still something fascinating about it and Marion Cotillard remains a very good actress.

My rating: 06/10
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 33 Average listal rating (14 ratings) 6.8 IMDB Rating 6.1


What was it about?
It is an omnibus of short films by auteur directors based on Dreams.

My two cents:
I thought this one was really awesome. It is probably the shortest movie on this list (only 42 seconds) but it was quite amazing. Indeed, it is one of those marvelous animated features made by Lynch and it was just spellbinding to watch. I really wonder why he never added some animation in his full length features since it could have been a great combination. Anyway, you have some great stuff here, really surrealistic, and quite reminiscent of René Magritte's paintings.

My rating: 08/10 (I have seen only the short movie directed by David Lynch so that's why I didn't rate the whole thing)
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 27 Average listal rating (12 ratings) 7.5 IMDB Rating 7.4


Cast : Laura Dern, Nastassja Kinski

What was it about?
It a direct-to-DVD feature made of outtakes from 'Inland Empire'.

My two cents:
Since I didn’t really like ‘Inland Empire’, I wasn’t expecting much from this flick . So, if you enjoyed ‘Inland Empire’, you will be thrilled to get back to this strange world but if you, like me, didn’t care much about its randomness, you won’t enjoy it much. Indeed, I had about the same feeling like I had while watching ‘Inland Empire’, half of the time I was thinking it was some huge crap and I was just wasting my time but the other half, I was just mesmerized by this other nightmarish world created by Mr Lynch. One thing I enjoyed is that this time around, we got to see Nastassja Kinski who was credited in ‘Inland Empire’ whereas she was there only for a split second sitting on a chair.

My rating: 06/10

Check the full review
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 26 Average listal rating (18 ratings) 4.6 IMDB Rating 6
Boat (2007)


Cast : David Lynch

What was it about?
A journey into night (I'm serious! This is the description provided in IDMB...)

My two cents:
Oh boy... I really had a hard time to care about this one... I mean, the first 30 seconds were pretty good. Indeed, you had this eerie shots of trees with a rather haunting voice-over. But then, suddenly, David Lynch showed up with his boat and the whole thing became some rather lame and obscure boat trip... I couldn't help thinking while watching this that Lynch was actually on holiday when he thought 'I have a camera and I just bought a new cool boat... Let's make a movie!'. Eventually, even though it was pretty neat to see David Lynch himself, the whole thing felt like a real weird holiday home movie but not much more than that, I'm afraid.

My rating: 06/10
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 1069 Average listal rating (506 ratings) 7 IMDB Rating 7
Inland Empire (2006)


Cast : Laura Dern, Jeremy Irons, Justin Theroux, Grace Zabriskie, Harry Dean Stanton ... Freddie Howard, Diane Ladd, William H. Macy, Julia Ormond, Jordan Ladd, Mary Steenburgen, Terry Crews, Nastassja Kinski, Laura Harring,
Naomi Watts

What was it about?
A blonde actress is preparing for her biggest role yet, but when she finds herself falling for her co-star, she realizes that her life is beginning to mimic the fictional film that they're shooting. Adding to her confusion is the revelation that the current film is a remake of a doomed Polish production, 47, which was never finished due to an unspeakable tragedy.

My two cents:
This is Lynch last full length feature film. Will he ever make another movie? Difficult to say... Of course, I was just dying to watch it and I can't believe it took me 6 years to see it. Anyway, to watch his last movie was like torture to me. Not because it was bad, not at all, but because I was torn in two during the whole thing. Indeed, one part of myself was thinking it was just 3 hours of garbage non-sense and couldn't wait until the end but the other part was thinking it was actually fascinating and couldn't wait to see what would happen next. You either love his directing or you hate it and though I'm not a hater, I can't say I'm a lover either. I mean, I admire his boldness, the way he breaks all the rules of storytelling and, as a result, you end up ... somewhere else. Was it a hallucination? Was it a nightmare? Was is another dimension? I have absolutely no idea and even Laura Dern and Justin Theroux have both said they have no idea what the film is about.... Basically, it is a typical Lynch outing (at least, if you compare it with the other movies he made in the 2000's) and I found it rather frustrating, as usual, but it is still definitely worth a look, especially if you are interested in experimental filmmaking.

My rating: 06/10

Check the full review
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 49 Average listal rating (30 ratings) 6.1 IMDB Rating 5.7
Darkened Room (2002)


Cast : Jordan Ladd, Cerina Vincent

What was it about?
It is about a blonde woman stuck in a dark room.

My two cents:
Oh dear... I didn't care much about this one... You see the description above ? That's exactly it and during 8 very long minutes. The weird thing is that even though the whole thing was just really meaningless, David Lynch still managed to make it quite unsettling and somehow watchable. It's just too bad that it was just terribly tedious to watch. Something even weirder, is that out of the 3 woman in this short, 2 of them (Jordan Ladd and Cerina Vincent) were cast the same year in 'Cabin Fever', a decent horror movie but definitely something completely different than this short feature, that's for sure. How did they end up in this movie?!? Was it a coincidence?!? That's really something typical with Lynch, to do something really trivial which has actually nothing to do with the movie itself but which nonetheless still makes me wonder even weeks after watching this flick. Still, beware, this is one of the least interesting movies on this list so watch it at your own risk...

My rating: 06/10
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 245 Average listal rating (108 ratings) 7.2 IMDB Rating 7
Rabbits (2002)


Cast : Naomi Watts, Laura Harring

What was it about?
A story of a group of humanoid rabbits and their depressive, daily life. The plot includes Jane ironing, Suzie sitting on a couch, Jack walking in and out of the apartment, and the occasional solo singing number by Suzie or Jane. At one point the rabbits also make contact with their "leader".

My two cents:
I thought this one was pretty cool. Actually, I was already familiar with those 'rabbits' since David Lynch included them (really randomly) in 'Inland Empire'. Anyway, it is one of Lynch's most original project and I was definitely able to appreciate this one. Indeed, it is basically a parody of your typical sitcom, even including the laughing track, except that the main characters were portrayed by some giant rabbits. While watching this, I thought it was some kind of weird mix of 'Fantastic Mr. Fox' and Lynch's nightmarish vision of the world. My only complain would be that the whole thing was damned too long (around 43 mins). I mean, it would have been fine for 10 minutes maybe but, instead, it goes on and on, without any plot whatsoever (David Lynch doesn't even pretend this time) and the whole thing became really repetitive really soon. Still, it remains a very creative piece, sometimes hilarious, sometimes rather scary and I will definitely never forget those damned rabbits.

My rating: 07/10
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 3068 Average listal rating (1800 ratings) 7.8 IMDB Rating 8


Cast : Naomi Watts, Laura Harring, Naomi Watts, Dan Hedaya, Justin Theroux, Robert Forster

What was it about?
A bright-eyed young actress travels to Hollywood, only to be ensnared in a dark conspiracy involving a woman who was nearly murdered, and now has amnesia because of a car crash. Eventually, both women are pulled into a psychotic illusion involving a dangerous blue box, a director named Adam Kesher, and the mysterious night club Silencio.

My two cents:
For many viewers, this is David Lynch's best movie, his ultimate masterpiece, his magnum opus. However, I tend to respectfully disagree. I mean, don't misunderstand me, I enjoyed this movie and I think it was pretty good but I don’t think it was really that mind-blowing. Personally, I thought it followed a rather standard structure, a structure that you can spot in many other Lynch features such as 'Lost Highway' or 'Blue Velvet'. The pattern is the building up of a fascinating thriller during the 1st half and in the 2nd half, the plot is basically thrown away and what's left is a succession of some rather random and weird scenes. At least, this time, I thought the formula was easier to digest but I still think it is quite frustrating to make us acquainted with such a fascinating world to eventually pull out the rug from under our feet and leave us in the dark until the end. Still, the directing was pretty awesome with some gorgeous scenes (it was Lynch's final movie before switching to digital film-making), the acting was very good as well with a breakthrough performance by Naomi Watts but Laura Harring did a great job as well. So, in my opinion, it is a good movie but not a masterpiece and I really wonder how this TV show would have turned out to be (Yeah, it was supposed to be a TV show, not a full length feature film...).

My rating: 07/10

Check the full review
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 854 Average listal rating (486 ratings) 7.8 IMDB Rating 8


Cast : Richard Farnsworth, Sissy Spacek, Everett McGill

What was it about?
An old man makes a long journey by tractor to mend his relationship with an ill brother.

My two cents:
I remember, when this movie was released, there was a huge buzz about it. I mean, for the film community, it was a big event. Indeed, suddenly, David Lynch was making a standard drama, based on a true story and to make this even better, it was called 'The Straight Story'. It couldn't get more awesome than this. Eventually, indeed, this most typical feature ended up being the most atypical movie directed by Lynch. Still, was it really amazing? I don't think so. I mean, a standard drama, even if it is directed by Lynch, remains a standard drama and if another director would have made it, it would never have got so much coverage. Still, it remains a decent flick, with a touching story, a great performance by Richard Farnsworth and Lynch shows he can be a hell of a director even when he stick to the g*d*mned script.

My rating: 07/10

Check the full review
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 1583 Average listal rating (872 ratings) 7.5 IMDB Rating 7.6
Lost Highway (1997)


Cast : Bill Pullman, Patricia Arquette, Robert Blake, Balthazar Getty, Gary Busey, Giovanni Ribisi, Richard Pryor, Jack Nance, Marilyn Manson

What was it about?
After a bizarre encounter at a party, a jazz saxophonist is framed for the murder of his wife and sent to prison, where he inexplicably morphs into a young mechanic and begins leading a new life.

My two cents:
This movie had a huge impact concerning my relationship with this director. Indeed, before, he used to be one of my favorite directors and I basically worshipped the guy. However, this movie changed everything. Indeed, I saw this movie in the theater when it was released and I had some huge expectations but, unfortunately, it turned out to be one of the most disappointing movies I have ever seen. I mean, it was not bad, in the contrary, the first half was just amazing, I was completely wrapped up in this spellbinding world and this 1st half was possibly the best thriller I had ever seen. But suddenly, the thunder struck and I landed into a completely different movie. My first reaction was 'WTF!?!'. I was honestly never able to enjoy the 2nd half of this movie and I have seen this movie at least 3 times already. In my opinion, there is absolutely no meaning in this succession of weird non-sensical scenes. It is just being weird for the sake of being weird and let's pretend it is actually Art. It had so much potential though . Indeed, the directing was amazing, it looked really gorgeous and the cast gave some really impressive performances. Like I said before, it could have been the best thriller ever made but, at the end, it is just a decent weird mind-f*ck and not much more, I'm afraid.

My rating: 06/10

Check the full review
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 116 Average listal rating (42 ratings) 7 IMDB Rating 7.1


What was it about?
40 international directors were asked to make a short film using the original Cinematographe invented by the Lumière Brothers, working under conditions similar to those of 1895. There were three rules: (1) The film could be no longer than 52 seconds, (2) no synchronized sound was permitted, and (3) no more than three takes.

My two cents:
Wow.... This was really random... Even though it is not even a minute long, David Lynch managed to put a whole bunch of nonsense in this. Still, I liked this short though. Indeed, just at the 30 seconds mark, you have about 2 or 3 seconds of some weird guys walking in some kind of lab and in the background, you can see a naked woman struggling in some water tank... Obviously, it had nothing to do with the rest which was rather incomprehensible and really uninteresting but those 2 or 3 seconds were just so fascinating, so spellbinding, they will be forever printed in my mind. D*mned! He always find a way to mess up with me...

My rating: 07/10 (I have seen only the short movie directed by David Lynch so that's why I didn't rate the whole thing)
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 927 Average listal rating (545 ratings) 7.2 IMDB Rating 7.2


Cast : Kyle MacLachlan, Sheryl Lee, Ray Wise, Mädchen Amick, David Bowie, Heather Graham, Chris Isaak, Moira Kelly, Peggy Lipton, David Lynch, Jürgen Prochnow, Harry Dean Stanton, Kiefer Sutherland, Grace Zabriskie

What was it about?
A young FBI agent disappears while investigating a murder miles from Twin Peaks that may be related to the future murder of Laura Palmer; the last week of the life of Laura Palmer is chronicled.

My two cents:
Even though I have always been a huge fan of Twin Peaks, I wasn't really blown away by this prequel. I mean, I definitely enjoyed it and it was absolutely pretty neat to get back to this weird city and its demented inhabitants. Still, in my opinion, I don't think there was really a need to see what exactly happened to Laura Palmer before she died. Sometimes, it is better to leave it to your imagination. Also, I was missing Lara Flynn Boyle who didn't reprise her role as Donna Hayward but that was just a small thing. Furthermore, if the TV show was incredibly disciplined, at least for a Lynch production, the film was once again a little too random for my taste. Still, I just love this fascinating world, definitely.

My rating: 07/10

Check the full review
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 1672 Average listal rating (1034 ratings) 8.2 IMDB Rating 8.9
Twin Peaks (1990)


Cast : Kyle MacLachlan, Mädchen Amick, Richard Beymer, Lara Flynn Boyle, Sherilyn Fenn, Peggy Lipton, Everett McGill, Jack Nance, Joan Chen, Piper Laurie, Ray Wise, Sheryl Lee, Grace Zabriskie, Heather Graham, David Lynch, Billy Zane, David Duchovny

What was it about?
An idiosyncratic FBI Agent investigates the murder of a young woman in the even more idiosyncratic town of Twin Peaks.

My two cents:
Oh dear... I'm such a huge fan of this TV show. Basically, it is one of my all-time favorites and I'm planning to watch it again in 2013. In my opinion, it is one of the very few times that David Lynch has perfectly managed to balance his own weird but highly imaginative directing style with some more straightforward and conventional cinematic narration. As a result, you have some of most fascinating TV characters ever put on screen, a spellbinding story and, indeed, there is a lot of weird stuff going on but instead of dragging down the whole thing, in the contrary, it really enhanced the plot to create one hell of a TV show. I'll have to admit it, in the 2nd season, the whole thing tends to loose focus a little bit, but the makers certainly didn't think they would be allowed to go with that project for so long. Anyway, I think it is just one of the most unique and spellbinding TV shows ever created and probably the best thing Lynch has done in his whole career.

My rating: 09/10
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 1087 Average listal rating (663 ratings) 7.1 IMDB Rating 7.2
Wild at Heart (1990)


Cast : Nicolas Cage, Laura Dern, Willem Dafoe, Crispin Glover, Diane Ladd, Isabella Rossellini, Harry Dean Stanton, Grace Zabriskie, Sherilyn Fenn

What was it about?
Young lovers Sailor and Lula run from the variety of weirdos that Lula's mom has hired to kill Sailor.

My two cents:
Even though it won the Golden Palm at the Cannes Film festival back then, I personally had a hard time to care about this flick. Ok, I have to admit it, I have seen it only once and it was more than a decade ago so it probably needs a re-watch, but still, I don't recall anything really brilliant about it. I mean, the directing was solid and Cage and Dern both gave some pretty good performances but I really didn't care much about the story. Above all, I thought that Sailor and Lula were two of the most obnoxious characters I have ever seen. Still, I'll give you that, this movie is 100 times better than all the garbage that Nicolas Cage has done lately.

My rating: 06/10

Check the full review
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 2238 Average listal rating (1335 ratings) 7.8 IMDB Rating 7.8
Blue Velvet (1986)


Cast : Kyle MacLachlan, Isabella Rossellini, Dennis Hopper, Laura Dern, Dean Stockwell, Brad Dourif, Jack Nance

What was it about?
The gruesome discovery of a severed human ear he found in a field leads a young man on a dark and dangerous journey into a dark and sinister underworld that exists in his hometown.

My two cents:
Some people really love it and even think it is Lynch's best directing effort and some others think it is actually pretty bad (Roger Ebert, for example). Personally, I'm in between. I mean, I liked this flick, I thought it was pretty good but, honestly, I don't think it was really mind-blowing though. The point is that, as usual with Lynch, the first half was downright amazing, a spellbinding thriller-film noir with some awesome performances by the cast mentioned above. Unfortunately, again as usual with Lynch, in the 2nd half, the plot was basically thrown by the window and what was left was just some rather random and honestly not really interesting scenes. Still, there was some great stuff here like Dennis Hopper giving his best performance ever as Frank Booth and I enjoyed most of this movie eventually. At the end of the day, it remains one of the most highly regarded movies directed by David Lynch.

My rating: 07/10

Check the full review
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 1272 Average listal rating (779 ratings) 6.3 IMDB Rating 6.6
Dune (1984)


Cast : Kyle MacLachlan, Sean Young, Brad Dourif, Linda Hunt, Virginia Madsen, Silvana Mangano, Everett McGill, Jack Nance, Jürgen Prochnow, Sting, Dean Stockwell, Max von Sydow, Alicia Witt

What was it about?
A Duke's son leads desert warriors against the galactic emperor and his father's evil nemesis when they assassinate his father and free their desert world from the emperor's rule.

My two cents:
Even though it is probably the least regarded movie made by David Lynch, it has now reached more or less a cult status. Personally, I thought it was pretty good. I have to admit it, I did read the book before watching this movie, so the story was never really confusing to me but, I guess, without this previous knowledge of the material, maybe I wouldn't have enjoyed this movie that much. Still, it was the first and last time that David Lynch was directing a big budget feature and, honestly, I thought it was pretty neat to see him at work within a totally different environment. Of course, with a director like him, the whole thing was pretty much doomed but I always had a weak spot for SF features and I enjoyed the way Lynch developed this epic tale. Apparently, Lynch didn't enjoy much being a director-for-hire and he would only make his own personal projects in the future.

My rating: 07/10

Check the full review
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 2362 Average listal rating (1303 ratings) 8.1 IMDB Rating 8.2


Cast : John Hurt, Anthony Hopkins, Anne Bancroft, John Gielgud

What was it about?
A Victorian surgeon rescues a heavily disfigured man who is mistreated while scraping a living as a side-show freak. Behind his monstrous facade, there is revealed a person of intelligence and sensitivity.

My two cents:
When talking about Lynch's career, it seems that this movie has been a little bit forgotten. Indeed, if you compare it to the movies more faithful to his directing style such as 'Blue Velvet' or 'Mulholland Dr.', it seems to be like a rather straightforward drama. Indeed, it is rather straightforward but still quite fascinating to watch in my opinion and after directing only 2 movies, David Lynch was already regarded as one of the most promising American directors at work. The best thing in this movie was that even though the story was rather predictable, Lynch preserved his own rather dark directing style and it made the whole thing quite sinister but so spellbinding to watch. Another thing that I appreciated is that, for once, he allowed us to get acquainted with the characters, to get to know them and eventually to care about them. I have to admit it, it has been a while since I saw this one but I will definitely re-watch it as soon I get the opportunity.

My rating: 09/10

Check the full review
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 1694 Average listal rating (900 ratings) 7.4 IMDB Rating 7.4
Eraserhead (1977)


Cast : Jack Nance

What was it about?
Henry Spencer tries to survive his industrial environment, his angry girlfriend, and the unbearable screams of his newly born mutant child.

My two cents:
This was David Lynch's full length feature directing debut and it took him about 5 years to finish it with not much of a financial backing. Personally, this movie had a massive impact on me and it has always been a major influence on my movie watching ever since. I mean, when I saw it in the theater, I was about 15 or 16 years old and I was completely blown away by this flick. I had never seen anything similar in my life and I thought I experienced a nightmare while I was actually wide awake. It became right away one of my favorite movies and it took me many years to finally re-watch it. Eventually, the second time around (many many years later), I was able to set aside the overwhelming power of the whole thing and I noticed that the pacing was rather sluggish so I did lower my rating but it is and remains an impressive piece of experimental film making, at least, if you are into this kind of things. Even though there is no plot whatsoever, it didn't bother me at all this time and I thought it was one of the most spellbinding movie experiences.

My rating: 08/10

Check the full review
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 86 Average listal rating (57 ratings) 5.2 IMDB Rating 5.6
The Amputee (1974)


Cast : David Lynch

What was it about?
It is about a legless double-amputee who, throughout the film, is going over a letter she is writing. Very quickly, the droning monotony of the woman's letter becomes a background noise which gets lost in the actions of her nurse, played by David Lynch himself.

My two cents:
Apparently, this short feature was made for the American Film Institute while Eraserhead was in financial limbo. Personally, I thought this one was pretty good. Indeed, I loved the juxtaposition of those very miscellaneous things : the missing legs, the reading of the letter, the letter itself which seems to come from some kind of soap opera, the female nurse who is actually a man, the nursing which seems to go pretty bad whereas nobody seems to get worried about... All those random elements put together created a rather sinister but still actually pretty funny short feature. As usual with Lynch, there was no plot whatsoever, you never get to know the characters which is always rather frustrating in my opinion. What remains eventually is your gut feeling which is what Lynch is actually interested in (at least, that's my belief) and my gut feeling was in this case, amused disgust.

My rating: 07/10
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 147 Average listal rating (84 ratings) 7.5 IMDB Rating 7.3



What was it about?
A young boy plants some strange seeds and they grow into a grandmother.

My two cents:
Personally, I consider this movie a rehearsal for 'Eraserhead' (pretty much like Akira Kurosawa considered a masterpiece such as 'Kagemusha' only a mere rehearsal for his ultimate masterpiece 'Ran'). Since I like experimental stuff, I enjoyed this flick but if you didn't like 'Eraserheard', you should probably avoid this one. Indeed, 'Eraserheard' is definitely weird but this short is even more alienating, even more random and I had a hard time to follow what was going on (I think I gave up after 10 minutes and just 'watched' what was happening on my screen). The thing I really enjoyed is how the whole thing looked. Indeed, I thought there were some awesome shots, most of the time completely pitch black, except for some small white dots which were just enough to make out who or what was there. Still, like I said before, the whole thing was really random and with a running time of 30 minutes, it was just too long for this and it was getting really tiresome after a while.

My rating: 07/10
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 174 Average listal rating (114 ratings) 6.8 IMDB Rating 6.8
The Alphabet (1968)


What was it about?
A woman's dark and absurdist nightmare vision comprising a continuous recitation of the alphabet and bizarre living representations of each letter.

My two cents:
Like I said before, David Lynch was actually into animation at the beginning of his career and he made some pretty wild stuff back then. This short is a perfect example. Indeed, it is creepy, unsettling and probably not the best way to learn the alphabet but I thought it was very creative, artistic and quite awesome to behold. Furthermore, since those movies are really short (this one was only 4 minutes), I think they worked much better and were more enjoyable than some of his longer features. Basically, it can be awesome to watch some weird random stuff for 5-10 minutes but for 2-3 hours, it can be really tedious, at least, that's my opinion. Anyway, based on the merits of this short film, Lynch was awarded an American Film Institute production grant and became a minor celebrity. Personally, I thought this one was pretty cool and if you are into experimental movies, you should definitely check it out.

My rating: 08/10
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 21 Average listal rating (12 ratings) 5.8 IMDB Rating 5.6


What was it about?
It's just a man walking towards a woman. That's it...

My two cents:
Actually, I think I'm being really generous with my rating here. I mean, should we really take this seriously?!? I mean, it does seem to be a pure technical exercise but, with David Lynch, you never know for sure. Anyway, I actually enjoyed this short. Indeed, it was really random, weird, pretty creepy and unsettling but also quite spellbinding to behold. Of course, the whole thing doesn't go anywhere, doesn't make much sense so it is not really a rewarding watch but for what it's worth, I thought it was pretty good.

My rating: 07/10
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom
People who added this item 123 Average listal rating (88 ratings) 6 IMDB Rating 5.7


What was it about?
It is basically an endlessly repeating film of people vomiting with their heads on fire projected on to a special sculptured screen featuring twisted three-dimensional faces in various states of puking.

My two cents:
It is David Lynch's first film project. Apparently, back then, Lynch was an Art student, a painter and he started to develop this idea that he wanted to see his paintings move. So, he made this short which is basically 20 seconds of movie set in a loop. I thought it was a pretty cool animation flick, very weird but quite fascinating. It is one of those short features which strips down the movie of its narrative attributes and what remains is pure Art, whether you like it or not. Even though it was supposed to be just a simple experiment and was not intended to have any successors, it was eventually the start for one of the most fascinating directors that ever lived.

My rating: 08/10
johanlefourbe's rating:
Rate:
Watched Wanted Custom

The 12th list in this serie wil focus on David Lynch. Even though I have a huge love-hate relationship with this guy, he is and remains definitely one of the most interesting and creative directors out there. Enjoy!

Added to

36 votes
A Complete Review of various directors' work (45 lists)
list by johanlefourbe
Published 5 years, 1 month ago 7 comments
5 votes
i will watch it someday, i swear (48 lists)
list by i laugh you
Published 4 years, 9 months ago
10 votes
Fab Movie Lists (27 lists)
list by talia_sparkle
Published 5 years, 4 months ago



Related lists

A Complete Review of David Fincher's work
11 item list by johanlefourbe
35 votes 9 comments
A complete review of Pixar's Feature Films
14 item list by filmbuilder
4 votes 1 comment
Almost a complete review of Joe Johnston's work
10 item list by johanlefourbe
4 votes
Almost a Complete Review of Michael Bay’s work
13 item list by johanlefourbe
13 votes 4 comments
Almost a complete review of Oliver Stone's work
25 item list by johanlefourbe
5 votes
A Complete Review of Kevin Smith's work
14 item list by johanlefourbe
8 votes
Almost a Complete Review of Michael Haneke's work
12 item list by johanlefourbe
9 votes 4 comments
A Complete Review of various directors' work
45 item list by johanlefourbe
36 votes 7 comments
A Complete review of various directors' work
8 item list by chandu
5 votes
Almost a Complete review of Ron Howard's work
24 item list by johanlefourbe
3 votes

View more top voted lists

Comments

Posted: 4 years, 9 months ago at Dec 23 17:36
If you are interested, most of the short movies are actually available here on Listal.
Posted: 4 years, 8 months ago at Dec 27 11:27
"Lynch has made some brilliant movies but, as a musician, he is honestly pretty bad" - totally agree with you. Couldn't bear to listen the whole album (Crazy Clown Time) and gave up on number 5 (Football Game) :)
Edit: 4 years, 8 months ago
Posted: 4 years, 8 months ago at Jan 11 15:08
Rightful homage to the master David Lynch! ;)
Posted: 4 years, 8 months ago at Jan 12 2:48
You did a fantastic job of this, bringing out David Lynch's flaws and genius at the same time.
Posted: 4 years, 8 months ago at Jan 12 8:50
Bravo johanlefourbe! :)
Posted: 4 years, 8 months ago at Jan 14 12:04
Very Interesting List!
Posted: 4 years, 5 months ago at Apr 21 9:54
I can't wait for him to do another "proper" film. And when he does, I hope he films it on actual film as Inland Empire looked terrible on digital.
Posted: 4 years, 5 months ago at Apr 21 10:27
@talia_sparkle, he is more or less retired so it won't happen anytime soon and, indeed, all his movies digitally filmed were rather ugly in my opinion.
Posted: 4 years, 5 months ago at Apr 21 16:21
I didn't know that he'd retired! Devastating news for art house movies. :-(
Posted: 4 years, 5 months ago at Apr 21 18:28
@talia_sparkle, sorry, I thought you already knew... I guess, at some point, David Lynch got fed up concerning the confinements and restrictions of the movie world which is driven by money and benefits and not by Art especially the weird stuff produced by a guy like him.

Still, who knows? One morning, he could wake up with a brilliant idea and start shooting a week later. That wouldn't surprise me. Let's remain hopeful ;)

Post comment


Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block