Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

JxSxPx posted a review of Personal Property

Personal Property

“Damn you, W.S. “Woody” Van Dyke! I mean, you’ve given the world The Thin Man, as perfect a romance/screwball comedy/noir as a movie can be, but your filmography is also littered with films hampered by your “one-and-done” philosophy of film-making.

Personal Property is the giddy, ” read more

1 week, 6 days ago
JxSxPx posted a review of Suzy

Suzy

“Funny thing about the Studio Era of Hollywood, they were the best at crafting films built entirely around a star’s persona, using each release to craft and hone that image and play with its various limitations and expansions. On the reverse of that, you also end with films that were crafted for on” read more

1 week, 6 days ago
Stehako posted a review of Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead

“An inspiring documentary about rebooting your life with juicing. I thought the first half was pretty standard and I would have left feeling informed but then it takes a delightful turn when Joe meets a truck driver who wants to change his life...” read more

1 week, 6 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Daddy Nostalgia

A good movie

“It is once again a rather obscure French movie which not much people have seen here in Listal (I was the very first user who rated this movie and, right now, only 4 users have rated it and I’m pretty sure that 2 of those are actually fake). Even though Bertrand Tavernier is pretty much unknown her” read more

1 week, 6 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Europa

A good movie

“Honestly, I’m not a huge fan of Lars von Trier’s work but he is definitely a very interesting director so I was really eager to check this flick. Like his other movies, I had a rather hard time to connect with it as the narrative structure was really obscure which made for a quite mesmerizing bu” read more

1 week, 6 days ago

“It's funny how some people 'get' certain movies and other people don't, part of the magic & mystery of cinema. There are plenty of films I don't get, but 'American Psycho' is one that hits the target. To me, it aims to skewer 1980's culture of greed and superficiality, when young hotshots made killi” read more

1 week, 6 days ago

“Does what more adult relationship comedies should provide: laughs & likeable, intelligent characters.” read more

1 week, 6 days ago

Review of The Magnificent Seven (1960)

“1960's The Magnificent Seven is considered to be one of the great Westerns. Obviously it has inspired numerous sequels and remakes, and its influence in film and American culture is undeniably great. But taken on its own merits, is there anything truly magnificent about The Magnificent Seven? By all” read more

2 weeks ago

Superb sequel with the best CGI effects ever.

“Although the original installment released in 1968 remains a classic, Planet Of The Apes as a franchise has been mixed due to its mediocre sequels and the 2001 remake. Those films portrayed an ape-dominated world as more like science-fiction adventures than displaying humans and apes as a family wit” read more

2 weeks ago



April O'Neil: What are you?

Leonardo: We're ninjas.

Raphael: We're mutants!

Donatello: Technically, we're turtles.

Michelangelo: And we're teenagers. But we can have adult conversations.

April O'Neil: So, you're... Ninja Mutant Turtle Tee” read more

2 weeks ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Chocolat

A good movie

“Not so long ago, I have seen ‘White Material’ also directed by Claire Denis and there is an obvious link with this movie which she was her directing debut and which she made 20 years before. Indeed, even though Denis was born in France, she actually spent the first 12 years of her life in Africa” read more

2 weeks ago
Monstermaster posted a review of Balls of Fury

“The movie is called Balls of Fury and is a spoof of martial arts movies...it is also a homage to the sport known as table tennis/ping-pong.

It revolves around our main protagonist Randy Daytona who is portrayed by Dan Fogler, he is introduced to us via a dove and is a down on his luck for” read more

2 weeks ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Jane Eyre

An average movie

“Honestly, when I first heard of this movie, I had some rather mixed feelings. Indeed, again another adaptation pf Charlotte Bronte’s book… Basically, like some other classic books like ‘Pride and Prejudice’ or ‘The Three Musketeers’, they feel compelled to bring again another version ev” read more

2 weeks, 1 day ago
Exclusive posted a review of Cold in July

Cold in July review

“"Count to ten and then one of you step out and get his attention. I'll do the rest."

"10... 9... 8... 7... 6..."

"You're actually counting?"

I have been a huge fan of Michael C. Hall ever since i first started watching Dexter, so when he actually get's to star in movies” read more

2 weeks, 1 day ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Cyclo

A good movie

“What ever happened to Anh Dung Tran?!? Back in the 1993, he burst into the film world with ‘The Scent of Green Papaya’ which was a massive critical success, at least in France, following its release at the Cannes Film Festival. Unfortunately, during the last 15 years, he has made only 2 movies, ” read more

2 weeks, 1 day ago
BAMF posted a review of Beneath

“I'm pretty much only watching this for Mackenzie Rosman. The creature is actually creepy and kind of cool. The teens are extremely stupid though and the script is quite cheesy. There aren't many likeable characters in my opinion except maybe Deb and Johnny. It was different than most horror movies y” read more

2 weeks, 1 day ago

An average movie

“This flick is registered as a TV show here on Listal but, in IMDB, it is considered a standard movie (I think it was considered as a TV feature on IMDB as well but it has been modified in the mean time). In fact, this film was originally supposed to have a theatrical release but it eventually ended ” read more

2 weeks, 1 day ago

A classic

“Since I have always been a huge fan of Marlon Brando, of course, I was really eager to check this flick. To be honest, Brando’s career has always been rather chaotic and this flick must have been his most controversial one. Basically, it is quite a messed up flick, I have to admit that it is an ac” read more

2 weeks, 1 day ago

An average movie

“By now, I have seen almost all the movies directed by Hayao Miyazaki and, of course, at some point, I had to watch his directing début. Well, even though it was fairly enjoyable, it was still his weakest effort so far. Indeed, basically, it wasn’t a personal project but, like everyone else, he ha” read more

2 weeks, 2 days ago

Time to have the sidekicks.

“The second movie in the series directed by Russo brothers. This time the story set in the modern world only if you are not taking 'The Avengers' in the account. The cast was expanded, I mean the sidekicks were introduced. Looked the strength of the 'good' has doubled, but the villain was also equall” read more

2 weeks, 2 days ago
Reno posted a review of Oldboy

History won't repeat, I mean sometime in a remake.

“One of my all time favorite world cinema is the Korean version of this movie. Remakes are okay, but some movies won't suit for recreation because of its masterpiece value, believing that won't come close for the second time. Just like Mona Lisa, Starry Night, Birth of Venus, The Last Supper and othe” read more

2 weeks, 2 days ago
Reno posted a review of Rage

GOOD performances. AVERAGE story. BADly made.

“Also known as 'Rage'. My first question is what happened to Nicolas Cage, I did not like any of his recent movies. So it makes me think that his time is over. Once he was known as a good actor with the better appearances, but not anymore. This movie was average with a decent story and twist and fres” read more

2 weeks, 2 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Beverly Hills Cop

A classic

“By now, I have seen all the movies starring Eddie Murphy (I’m only missing his last movie ‘A Thousand Words’) and it has been a very thankless task. Indeed, it is not very often that you come across an actor who managed so thoroughly to destroy his career (Val Kilmer and Nicolas Cage are some ” read more

2 weeks, 2 days ago
V. Manohar posted a review of Mehbooba

“Classic movie of Super Star Rajesh Khanna - Mehbooba (1976)

Director: Shakti Samanta

Writer: Gulshan Nanda

Release Date: 19 July 1976

Genre: Drama / Family / Action / Fantasy / Romance

Language: Hindi

Cast:

Super Star Rajesh Khann” read more

2 weeks, 2 days ago
Joshua "LF" posted a review of Battleship

Review of Battleship

“There are films, and then there is Battleship. 131 minutes of explosions, tedious exposition, and lots and lots of yelling. The problem (or at least one of the problems) with Battleship, isn't that it's mindlessly stupid (though it is), or that it contains poor acting (though it does), but that it” read more

2 weeks, 2 days ago
Emily J. posted a review of Mrs. Doubtfire

Is Mrs. Doubtfire Really That Good?

“Due to the passing of Robin Williams, I have decided to write a review for one of his most well-known movies, Mrs. Doubtfire. What do I think of this movie? Well, I am going to be quite honest with my review, so if you don't like the review, I understand.

Mrs. Doubtfire focuses on Robin Wi” read more

2 weeks, 2 days ago
BAMF posted a review of Mercenaries

“It's obvious that this is the mockbuster for The Expendables. I am surprised it took this long to make it. They did get some well known female action stars. Some of them have better acting skills than others. I swear this movie has the same set as the film Extraction with Vinnie Jones. Some of the a” read more

2 weeks, 3 days ago
The O.P. posted a review of Iron Man 3

“Clueless. The plot is complete mess. Terrible jokes. The characters are a joke, too.On the other hand, a few spectacular scenes, some charming actors and and my old love for Marvel heroes gave me the strength to watch it till the end, but it wasn't easy.” read more

2 weeks, 3 days ago
JxSxPx posted a review of Donnie Brasco

Donnie Brasco

“Donnie Brasco is an interesting bit of undercover cop drama, in that the undercover cop begins to feel empathy, friendship, and develop a strong bond with his new mentor in the mafia. The fun is in watching our undercover cop struggling valiantly with his allegiance, trying to decide to stick with h” read more

2 weeks, 3 days ago
JxSxPx posted a review of The Rainmaker

The Rainmaker

“On the one hand, if you’ve seen one John Grisham film adaptation, you’ve pretty much seen them all. On the other hand, this one was done by Francis Ford Coppola and features a tony cast. Granted, this is director-for-hire Coppola. This is Coppola on the verge of bankruptcy and trying to scrounge” read more

2 weeks, 3 days ago