Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

BAMF posted a review of Message in a Bottle

“Initial Thought: After watching the newest release of a Nicholas Sparks adaptation I decided to check out the one that started the trend. It has a pretty good cast so that's always a plus. Let's see what the first had to offer other than it's cast.

Characters/Acting: Not too many people he” read more

1 month ago

A very good movie

“This movie is one of the examples of why I still love the French cinema very much. I mean, sure, it is pretty obscure (I was only the 3rd listal member who rated the damned thing) and I’m not sure if it was really noticed outside France but I thought it was a fascinating minimalistic drama. I reme” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of The Longest Ride

“Initial Thought: I'm not going to lie. I'm a guy who enjoys a good romance film. I can be a bit of a sucker when it comes to Nicholas Sparks adaptations. I have seen a majority of them except the first few that were produced. Anyways I couldn't miss this one of course.

Characters/Acting: ” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Nick of Time

An average movie

“Back in the 90’s, way before he became the king of the box-office, I used to be a huge fan of Johnny Depp and I was eagerly watching all his movies. To be honest, even though his track-record was pretty amazing at the time (‘Edward Scissorhands’, ‘Arizona Dream’, ‘Benny & Joon’, ‘Wha” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Gold

“Initial Thought: I found another Maisie Williams film to check out. I'm hoping this will be much more entertaining. It's also a comedy which isn't the typical place to see her.

Characters/Acting: Maisie Williams is what caught my interest. It also has James Nesbitt and Kerry Condon withou” read more

1 month ago

“An amusing film that runs a little long at 80 minutes. The worst part of the film is the final scenes where the aliens lecture the heroes about how stupid, stupid, stupid they are. At that point even seeing Vampira or Tor shuffle through a cemetery would be more entertaining. Yes, the dialog is f” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Schneider vs. Bax

A good movie

“After watching only 2 movies directed by Alex van Warmerdam, I can already say that he has become one of my favorite Dutch directors. Some people might say that they love his unique way to throw in some absurdism in his pictures but, personally, what I enjoy the most is his humor. Indeed, the tone ” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Beyond the Reach

“Initial Thought: This is another desert movie I had interest in. It looked crazy and fun at the same time. Then again looks can be deceiving.

Characters/Acting: The cast here is pretty good with the likes of veteran Michael Douglas and the relatively young Jeremy Irvine as the leads. I al” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Heatstroke

“Initial Thought: How did I not know this was already out? I have been wanting to see it ever since I saw the trailer. It's been awhile and I was wondering what was taking so long. Looks like I just wasn't paying attention surprisingly. Anyways time to finally check this one out.

Character” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Inherent Vice

A good movie

“Usually, Paul Thomas Anderson is not what you could call a quick director. Indeed, it took him 5 long years after 'Punch-Drunk Love' to come up with 'There Will Be Blood' and then 5 more years before he came up with 'The Master' so I was really glad that his following directing effort was coming up ” read more

1 month ago
spineau posted a review of Across the River

“i watch a lot of horror films, and none of them ever scare me - but i have to admit that i deeply regret watching this before bed. bianchini doesn't rely on jump scares and other cheap techniques; instead he creates an atmosphere of tension that builds relentlessly and never allows the viewer any re” read more

1 month ago
kid posted a review of The Berlin Affair

“A hauntingly tragic story of lesbian love, overwhelming jealousy, and betrayal.film directed by Lilianan Cavani..” read more

1 month ago

A bad movie

“Honestly, I wasn't expecting much from this flick but since but since I had this on DVD for such a long time (more than 4 years!), I thought it was really time to watch the damned thing. When I was a kid, I saw the 1st installment starring Jean-Claude Van Damme and, back then, I really enjoyed those” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Byzantium

“Initial Thought: I have been meaning to watch this one for awhile. I just never had the chance until now. It looked rather interesting and different. Besides who wouldn't fantasize about being bitten by Saoirse Ronan or Gemma Arterton.

Characters/Acting: Really I only care about Gemma Arte” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Vertical Limit

“Initial Thought: I have always been curious about this one. I think I remember seeing it in my parents' movie collection. I never got the chance to check it out though. If they did have it they got rid of it soon after. Anyways the time has come for the cat to get its satisfaction.

Charact” read more

1 month ago

“Initial Thought: I grew up watching Dragon Ball Z. It was always one of my favorite anime. It was crazy, intense, and just had some awesome characters. I never got around to watching many of the movies though. My brother has been hounding me about watching this one though. So I decided to finally gi” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Paul Blart: Mall Cop 2

“Initial Thought: Honestly I can't tell you why I chose to watch this. I hated the first one quite a bit. From the trailer you can tell how much this one is going to suck. Nothing in the trailer screams laughter. You just cringe with how unfunny it is. Anyways nobody asked for it. Not many went to se” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Nixon

A good movie

“Nowadays, Oliver Stone has pretty much lost his stellar reputation but there was a time that his politically oriented features were eagerly awaited around the world by many movie watchers. This movie came at a turning point in his career. Indeed, back then, Stone was still doing pretty well but, aft” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Premium Rush

An average movie

“Since I always had a weak spot for Joseph Gordon-Levitt, I was quite eager to check this movie. My first thought was that it should be really neat to have a minimalistic thriller dealing with some couriers in New York. My second thought was how will they manage to deliver something really satisfying” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Seventh Son

“Initial Thought: When I saw the trailer for this I thought it looked like fun. I always tend to like epic fantasy films. After hearing all the bad reviews and feelings for the movie I decided to let it go. Finally I changed my mind and decided to see if I would like this when others didn't. Everyone” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Turkey Shoot

“Initial Thought: I don't really have much reason to why I am watching this. Pretty much the only things of interest here are Viva Bianca and that it sounds like a crazy future prison movie. Other than that I honestly don't care for it.

Characters/Acting: I used to like Dominic Purcell unt” read more

1 month ago
PvtCaboose91 posted a review of The Interview

All-in-good-fun comedic romp

“"Kim must die, it's the American way."

2014's The Interview was never going to live up to expectations. With the massive controversy, Sony hacking scandal, terrorist threats from North Korea, and the flick's temporarily cancelled release (it was going to sit in a vault forever unseen), mos” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Night on Earth

A good movie

“Ever since I saw ‘Dead Man’, I have been a huge fan of Jim Jarmusch and I have been trying to watch all his movies for many years. To be honest, none of his other movies impressed me as much as ‘Dead Man’ but they were all interesting to watch and this flick was definitely not an exception. ” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Psycho III

“Initial Thought: Well I am continuing on with the Psycho series. It is kind of sad that the producers thought it necessary to dish out sequels to a masterpiece. The one good thing though is seeing more of our sympathetic serial killer. I don't think people can say that too often. Anyways on with the” read more

1 month ago
JxSxPx posted a review of Meet Me in Las Vegas

Meet Me in Las Vegas

“Less a coherent film than a series of famous cameos, location photography, and a pleasing star turn from Cyd Charisse, Meet Me in Las Vegas is an overlong but cute diversion. The story is a dumb little trifle that gives up on itself by the halfway mark; pity there’s nearly another hour to go befor” read more

1 month ago
JxSxPx posted a review of Words and Music

Words and Music

“Throughout the 40s MGM released several of these thinly veiled revue films disguised as (highly fictionalized) biographies of famous composers. This one tackles Lorenz Hart and Richard Rogers, and the dramatics connecting the musical numbers is positively inert, which is a shame since Mickey Rooney ” read more

1 month ago

A good movie

“To be honest, I have always been rather skeptical about this franchise but, I have to admit it, the first two installments were actually fairly entertaining. Yet, since I knew that this 3rd movie would focus on some rebellion instead of the actual games, I was a little bit worried and I had once a” read more

1 month ago

Better than its reputation implies

“"Judgment Day. The end of the world. It's today, three hours from now."

There is only one true Terminator movie in this reviewer's eyes, and it was released in 1984 as The Terminator. Although 1991's Terminator 2: Judgment Day was an entertaining follow-up, it lacked the pitch-black tone o” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Mystery Train

A good movie

“Ever since I saw ‘Dead Man’, I have been a huge fan of Jim Jarmusch and I have been trying to watch all his movies for many years. To be honest, none of his other movies impressed me as much as ‘Dead Man’ but they were all interesting to watch and this flick was definitely not an exception. ” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Psycho II

“Initial Thought: I really enjoyed the first of this series. I didn't care for the remake though. I thought it was very distasteful and ruined the chilling atmosphere of the original. So I didn't really want to watch these due to that. Now I figured I would go ahead and see them. I'm sure they will b” read more

1 month ago