Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

A very good movie

“Back in the 80’s, Rob Reiner was one of the most successful directors at work. I mean, just check his track-record, it is quite impressive (‘This Spinal Tap’, ‘The Sure Thing’, ‘Stand by Me’, ‘When Harry Met Sally...’, ‘Misery’, ‘A Few Good Men’). But then, he made ‘North” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of All Good Things

An average movie

“I wasn't really sure what to expect from this flick but since I have a weak spot for Ryan Gosling and Kirsten Dunst, I was quite eager to check it out. Eventually, to be honest, I can't believe how underwhelming the whole thing was. I mean, the story actually really had some potential (it was based ” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Pretty Baby

A good movie

“Louis Malle was one of the best French directors that ever lived. At some point, he had the opportunity to expand his career in the US and this movie was therefore his first American production. He definitely took some risks with this project as it was dealing with a very controversial subject, the ” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Ready to Wear

An average movie

“To be honest, it has been a while since I have seen this flick but since I didn’t like it much the first time around, I highly doubt that I will give it a second chance. Basically, Robert Altman had troubles with the Hollywood studio system in the 1970s after some of his films lost money despite t” read more

1 month ago

Page One Note

“This documentary is about what most of us already know, the impending doom of the newspaper industry. It goes into some interesting detail and points of view with some intriguing characters along the way.

This documentary is well made but would have been completely average if it weren't l” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Fifty Shades of Grey

“Initial Thought: I really had no care in the world to see this. It was at my theater for awhile and I just could not do it. It's Twilight all over again just trying to not be copyright. The names were changed as well as the setting, but the scenario is pretty much basically the same. He is something” read more

1 month ago
Chilette posted a review of Ang magpakailanman

“It’s about a young man named Juan who suffers from crucifixion nightmares when asleep, endures the contempt of a fat man in an old office when awake, and is followed around by mysterious woman in a black veil. Later he searches for a book, "Ang Magpakailanman," which has the power to grant immorta” read more

1 month ago
Chilette posted a review of Anino

“Raymond Red received the first ever Cannes Palme D'Or award for a Filipino in 2000 Cannes Film Festival for his short film "ANINO" (Shadows) starring Ronnie Lazaro.

read more

1 month ago

“Bestselling novels are always quick cash bait for Hollywood. When they see something with a huge fan base they'll jump right in. Because they know you'll see it. Look at Comic Books. There's a huge cult following of nerds who suck on the Marvel and DC Universe teet. X-Men, Batman, The Avengers. It's” read more

1 month ago
Błυe Nøтe posted a review of The Burbs

“Before Tom Hanks was serious, he was funny. A lot of his earlier stuff was when he first starred in a short-lived sitcom called 'Bosom Buddies' where he played an ad executive forced to dress as a woman in order to live in an inexpensive all-female hotel. This was because his character's apartment w” read more

1 month ago

“Elvira, Mistress of the Dark is known as a television personality concocted by Cassandra Peterson. Elvira is known for hosting a television show in the eighties dedicated to showing bad horror and sci/fi movies. Her style was to make comments on the film she was hosting while doing brief gags in bet” read more

1 month ago

“Dan O' Bannon, the writer of such classics like 'Alien' & 'Dark Star', made his first directorial debut with 'The Return of the Living Dead'. A hodge podge of comedy and zombie horror. The concept was conceived in a story by co-author John Russo who was also part of another little zombie movie calle” read more

1 month ago

“In the late sixties, George Romero set out with a limited budget to make a monster movie that would revolutionize a genre. It would be a little film about a group of survivors of a sudden plague of flesh eating humans. The word 'Zombie' wasn't too familiar in horror movies at the time. Bela Lugosi h” read more

1 month ago
Błυe Nøтe posted a review of Dawn of the Dead

“It would take George Romero ten years after 'Night of the Living Dead' before he could make the 2nd chapter in his Living Dead Movies. This time it would be called 'Dawn of the Dead' and it would turn out to be a tremendously well-made horror classic. It sticks to it's roots of being an independentl” read more

1 month ago
Błυe Nøтe posted a review of Day of the Dead

“After 'Dawn of the Dead' reached a considerable amount of fans and was hailed as the greatest horror movie ever made by Roger Ebert, it took George Romero seven years before making what would be considered the last chapter of his 'Dead' movies. This would be the one film in the series that would dis” read more

1 month ago

A good movie

“Ever since I saw 'Once Were Warriors' in the mid-90's, I had the greatest expectations for Lee Tamahori and I thought he would become a really great director. Unfortunately, even though this impressive debut managed for him to open the doors of Hollywood, his career has been rather disappointing ” read more

1 month ago

Solid enough continuation of the MCU

“"I know you're good people. I know you mean well. But you just didn't think it through. There is only one path to peace... your extermination."

The culmination of Marvel's Phase Two, and of the Marvel Cinematic Universe in general thus far, 2015's Avengers: Age of Ultron is definitely a bi” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Porco Rosso

An average movie

“To be honest, it has been quite a while since I have seen this flick and maybe I should re-watch it at some point. By now, I have seen almost all the movies directed by Hayao Miyazaki and even though I admire his work and I really wanted to love it but, after all, I can’t say I’m a huge fan and ” read more

1 month ago
Stehako posted a review of Pina

Pina, Not a Lotta

“I was slightly disappointed in this documentary about the choreographer. After seeing all of the beautiful shots in the trailer I thought surely this would be a moving and transformative piece. Sadly, beyond the beautiful choreography the film doesn't have much to say.” read more

1 month ago
Stehako posted a review of Premium Rush

Average Rush

“Lots of great action and decent enough story to support it. However the dialogue is hokey and there are plenty of moments that don't make logical sense; but still entertaining enough.” read more

1 month ago

Scattered But Worthy

“A nice documentary giving us a behind-the-scenes of the prestigious Bergdorf Goodman department store. I watched it for the creation of the windows but it goes well beyond that...

read more

1 month ago
Stehako posted a review of Arthur Newman

The Author Knew, Man

“Likable leads in Firth and Blunt. While many of the scenes are entertaining, the whole story never gets strong and it's in that awkward section of not being quite dramatic enough to be a drama and not funny enough to be a comedy.” read more

1 month ago
Błυe Nøтe posted a review of I Bury the Living

“I really love how misleading the poster of this movie is. It sort of gives you the impression that it's a monster movie about the dead rising from the grave. Instead it's more of a psychological thriller with some impressive camerawork. This moody thriller has a great performance by Richard Boone wh” read more

1 month ago
Reno posted a review of That Thing Called Tadhana

A broken heart needs another heart to mend it up.

“A movie first must get notice in its domestic circuit, then rest of the world come check it out on the curious. I don't know this was a blockbuster or not in the local market, but heard lots praise for it, especially, from the youngsters. I have seen only a few Filipino movies and this one was one o” read more

1 month ago
Reno posted a review of Effie Gray

What a married woman can expect from her husband?

“The movie was delayed a year to hit the screen due to the copyright issue. A biographical picture from Britain set in the late 1840. The movie revolves the story of Euphemia Gray shortly known as Effie Gray and her married life. She was from Scotland and only 19 when she married to the British art c” read more

1 month ago
Błυe Nøтe posted a review of The Snake Woman

“A lot of mythologies about snake women are great to exploit in horror movies. Namely in Greek mythology, a She-Viper (or Echidna) was known as being the mother of monsters. A half-woman and half-snake and beautiful to fall for. There are a shortage of these types of films. I guess because they're to” read more

1 month ago
Błυe Nøтe posted a review of Friday the 13th

“Ah, the one that started it all. The one that brought us the fear of going to summer camp. The one that makes us question why we took a job as a camp counselor to begin with. The one where we wish we had a mom as devoted as Mrs. Voorhees. This was the one that gave us the simplistic backstory to one” read more

1 month ago

“Just when you thought it was safe to go back to camp. This sequel to Friday the 13th helped launch several more sequels. Due in part by introducing us to the boy who drowned in the Lake. Mrs. Voorhees is dead. That's a fact. Her head was cut off, but in a classic dream sequence (and ending) a deform” read more

1 month ago
AesthetiX posted a review of Grabbers

“The best horror/comedy to come out since Shaun of the Dead. Think Tremors in Ireland and you've got this in a nutshell. I'd love to see a sequel to this one!” read more

1 month ago
Stehako posted a review of Lake Placid

Lake Flacid

“Best monster crocodile movie, with Betty White, set in the state of New York I've EVER seen!

Say goodbye to the careers of Bill Pullman and Bridget Fonda...” read more

1 month ago