Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

Raiders of the Lost Tintin

“Spielberg's first foray in the field of digital animation was unsurprisingly technically adept but sadly disappointing in many respects. Visually it was highly accomplished with beautifully detailed backgrounds which bring the right atmosphere to every scene. The characters were less successful du” read more

4 weeks ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Sleeper

An average movie

“Honestly, it has been a while since I have seen this flick so maybe I should watch it again at some point to make up my mind for good about the damned thing. As far as I can remember, I think it must be the only science-fiction feature directed by Woody Allen. Of course, it is and remains a comedy b” read more

4 weeks ago

“A decent adaptation of Grangé's book (remember him? his first novel adapted to the screen was Crimson Rivers). Confusing yet engaging at times, it is still a decent watch with a complex story.” read more

4 weeks, 1 day ago
doudouce55 posted a review of The International

“This movie looked quite promising, but in the end turns out to be very disappointing. Too many flaws in the story for it to be even remotely believable. Acting performances are decent though, although at times Watts overacts (IMHO).” read more

4 weeks, 1 day ago
doudouce55 posted a review of A Most Wanted Man

“A most excellent adaptation of John LeCarré's novel. Philip Seymour Hoffman is absolutely superb, the entire cast is great actually.” read more

4 weeks, 1 day ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Big Miracle

An average movie

“Honestly, I had no idea what to expect from this flick but since I have a weak spot for Drew Barrymore, I thought I might as well give it a try. Well, eventually, I didn't like it much. I mean, obviously, it was supposed to be some uplifting tale based on some actual events but it didn’t really” read more

4 weeks, 1 day ago
fernando posted a review of Rendezvous

“Agile, clever in spite of comic mishappens (Russell is funny posing as a matron and jelous of Binnie Barnes). It makes tolerable something as dry as war codes.” read more

4 weeks, 1 day ago
fernando posted a review of Not as a Stranger

“To watch just for the cast, a washed melodrama, with some edge in the nonchalance of Gloria Grahame, and De Havilland's discoviering she is a romatic idiot. Mitchum too stony to such a delicate character, but ¡what a star he is!” read more

4 weeks, 1 day ago

Up there with ‘The Avengers’ and probably better!

“'Guardians of the Galaxy' is one of the best Marvel movies, a masterpiece! Up there with 'The Avengers' and probably even better! 'Guardians of the Galaxy' has everything that would make a perfect superhero movie, nearly as good as 'The Dark Knight'

'Guardians of the Galaxy', like 'The Ave” read more

4 weeks, 1 day ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Small Time Crooks

A good movie

“If I recall correctly, I saw this movie in the movie theater when I was living in England. At the time, I was still a huge Woody Allen's fan and I was trying to catch all his movies when they were released. 10 years later, it seems rather like a minor effort for the great American director but I tho” read more

4 weeks, 1 day ago
filmbuilder posted a review of Citizen Kane

One of the best movies ever

“After 74 years of existance, I have finally seen 'Citizen Kane' and how is it? Brilliant! One of the best movies ever!

'Citizen Kane' features a brilliant plot about a man named Charles Foster Kane who has died and his last word was "Rosebud", the movie sees people trying to find out why i” read more

4 weeks, 1 day ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Surfer, Dude

An average movie

“It was yet another movie that I had on dvd for ages so it was really time to watch the damned thing. Recently, Matthew McConaughey has made one of the most impressive come-backs ever and, somehow, he has managed to become one of the most exciting actors at work nowadays. However, it hasn't always be” read more

4 weeks, 1 day ago

“So they made a fourth installment to The Scorpion King spin-offs. I have to say I have no idea why I decided to watch this other than to see what else could be done to this series. This is the first time another actor reprised their role as the future villain of The Mummy franchise. There is such a ” read more

1 month ago

Utterly interminable

“"I have a message for President Snow: You can torture or bombed us, blasted our district to the grounds. But do you see that ? Fire Is Catching... If we burn, you burn with us!"

2014's The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1 is the first instalment in the Hunger Games series that can rightfu” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of The Drop

“The three main actors are the reason I was interested in this if nothing else. The premise is decent, but doesn't really sound like anything too special. There are a few great twists and turns I can't say I expected. The acting is pretty good as I expected. Violence isn't constant, but when it does ” read more

1 month ago

A waste of actual talent

“That's it! I've finished the tetralogy of 'Indiana Jones' with 'The Kingdom of the Crystal Skull'. Some people like it and some people hate it! I don't like it! I don't like how it comes after my favourite 'Indiana Jones' movie 'The Last Crusade'.

I love the visual effects as usual but the” read more

1 month ago
fernando posted a review of My Foolish Heart

“Forget it is based in a Salinger story. Robson is OK handling love encounters and disencounters between cool Dana Andrews and OK Susan Hayward. Robert Keith is a good support. Dialogues OK.” read more

1 month ago
filmbuilder posted a review of The Grinch

It's not great but the visual effects are!

“'The Grinch' is a decent movie. It's not great but the visual effects are!

'The Grinch' is a good movie! I like Jim Carrey's performance as Grinch, I love the visual effects and I like the backstory on the Grinch. I like the plotting and how it keeps it's rhyming! It's still not a great mo” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Sneakers

An average movie

“Honestly, it has been a while since I have seen this flick but I will probably re-watch it at some point. Nowadays, the box-office has drastically changed. You either get some huge blockbusters involving super-heros, YA adaptations, some very well know franchises or some very cheap indie features an” read more

1 month ago
DuckNation posted a review of The Maze Runner

“The Maze Runner is a good movie but its nothing great. Although For me it felt like the movie left out a lot of details the book had but im not even sure if that's true because i haven't read the books yet but after watching this im thinking about checking them out. The first half of the film is pre” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Ask Me Anything

“I was intrigued by this for Brittany Robertson and Gia Mantegna for reasons. It seems also it has quite an interesting cast. Another thing that pulled me to this is the constant mention of a "crazy ending". I had to see that for myself. Also seeing as the director is the writer of "Untraceable" and ” read more

1 month ago

“More plot holes than the whole Batman franchise, but who cares? So freakin' entertaining. It's just another Shaw Brothers classic, with amazing set design, skilled fighting, colorful characters and a theme song that unfortunately these days is known as that "Tarantino song with the sirens".” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of My One and Only

An average movie

“I wasn't really sure what to expect from this flick but since there was a nice cast, I was quite eager to check it out. On top of that, I had this dvd already for ages so it was really time to watch the damned thing. To be honest, I had no idea that it was actually based on a true story, about the r” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Penguins of Madagascar

“I think the Penguins are one of the few things I found funny about the Madagascar movies. This happens to be directed by both the Madagascar director and a director of mostly short films. They even got a few cool additions to the cast for this like Benedict Cumberbatch. The penguins still got it. I ” read more

1 month ago

My favourite 'Indiana Jones' movie

“'Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade' is my favourite 'Indiana Jones' movie! I love the action and the acting as usual but I was amazed by the scenes involving the Nazis. Like the previous movie, there's life threatening fire but I think I like this the best of the series! As usual Harrison Ford is g” read more

1 month ago

Decent finale but it's no Return Of The King.

“The sad time has now come to bid our farewells to Middle-Earth. It’s been a long wait coming after the series’ pre-production hell before shooting commenced and its two predecessors’ release in 2012 and 2013, but the finale of the 300-page book has arrived. It may have perhaps been too long as” read more

1 month ago
filmbuilder posted a review of Gnomeo & Juliet

'Romeo & Juliet', 'Toy Story', gnomes and unfunny

“'Gnomeo & Juliet' is a mixture between 'Romeo & Juliet', Toy Story', gnomes and unfunny jokes. It's not a bad movie but it lacks funny jokes, a gnome in a mankini (inspired by 'Borat') seems unsuitable for children and a fight across a lawn with a £1000 turbo lawnmower!

Where 'Romeo & Ju” read more

1 month ago
DuckNation posted a review of Tusk

“You know i honestly didn't expect this film to amongst the worst films of 2014 with the likes of Transformers: Age of Extinction and I, Frankenstein. Seriously though WHAT THE F**K!!!! was was Kevin Smith thinking when he was making this film its neither scary or funny and all it does is leave you w” read more

1 month ago
filmbuilder posted a review of Arthur Christmas

Complicated but heartwarming plot

“'Arthur Christmas' has a complicated but heartwarming plot. The animation (another CGI film by Aardman after 'Flushed Away') and the score are perfect. The animation looks quite good, the score is absolutely beautiful. The plot seems sort of complicated but it's heartwarming and entertaining for kid” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Soldier of Orange

A very good movie

“Honestly, it has been a while since I have seen this flick but I will probably re-watch it at some point. In fact, in the Netherlands, it is a huge classic and it is broadcasted on TV at least twice or three times a year. I mean, most of Paul Verhoeven's movies are more or less controversial but thi” read more

1 month ago