Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

A good movie

“Francis Ford Coppola completely ruled the 70's. He made 4 movies, 'Apocalypse Now', 'The Godfather: Part II', 'The Conversation', 'The Godfather, they were all critically acclaimed and at least 3 of them are arguably some of the finest movies ever made. So, he ruled the 70's but it was as much a ble” read more

3 weeks ago
BAMF posted a review of See No Evil 2

“I have been wanting to see this for awhile as I enjoyed the first one. The Soska sisters didn't really impress me too much with their ABCs of Death 2 entry, but I won't let that stop me from checking this out. I mean Danielle Harris, Katharine Isabelle, and Chelan Simmons wowza that's a nice selecti” read more

3 weeks, 1 day ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Vampires

A bad movie

“I already saw this flick and I really didn't like it all but I thought I was maybe a little too harsh so I decided to give it a second chance and re-watched it with Nick, my step-son, since he loved vampire movies. Well, even after all these years, I still think it is actually pretty terrible and de” read more

3 weeks, 1 day ago
BAMF posted a review of 7500

“I have been wanting to see this for awhile now, but I've hesitated because I'm not sure if I have the whole movie. Some sources say it's about 80 minutes while others say 95 minutes. So is the version for America cut or something I don't know. I decided to check it out anyways. I'm not a big fan of ” read more

3 weeks, 1 day ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Veronica Guerin

A good movie

“I wasn’t sure what to expect from this flick but since I have always been a fan of Cate Blanchett, I was really eager to check it out. Honestly, on paper, there was no reason why this movie should have worked. Indeed, a historical drama taking place in Ireland, directed by Joel Schumacher and prod” read more

3 weeks, 1 day ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of New Police Story

An average movie

“Honestly, I wasn't expecting much from this but many movies starring Jackie Chan are broadcasted on the Dutch channels and my step-son Nick has a weak spot for this actor so we ended up watching it. Contrary to most of the movies with Jackie Chan, this one actually had some potential as it was actua” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Twin Sisters

A very good movie

“Since I have been living in the Netherlands, I have been watching many Dutch movies but, to be honest, the Dutch film industry is actually rather disappointing. I mean, they are not really productive and, on top of that, most of those movies actually flop at the box-office, except for the family fea” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
Stehako posted a review of 21 & Over

“Collegiate antics abound in this silly movie attempting to save Jeff Chang. Unfortunately nothing new was brought to the genre and the characters, while not annoying, aren't going to be iconic like past in the genre... well, maybe Jeff Chang!

read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

Disappointing

“I was expecting so much more from this film.Instead I got a ton of slichés along with a tremendous amount of predictability.Thankfully acting performances and directorial was strong, which makes the movie watchable.

Other than that, I would not recommend it nor will I watch it purposely a” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
PerfectPortal posted a review of Training Day

"Training Day" (2001)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

This review will contain basic spoilers. Sorry, but it's required to fully explain my impressions.

As the title implies, this movie takes place over the course of a single day, as a rookie narcotics detective (Ethan Hawke's Jake) is introduced to the gang neighb” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
PerfectPortal posted a review of Dumb & Dumber

"Dumb and Dumber" (1994)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

I surprisingly really liked this movie. I went in expecting nothing dignified – I knew full well it was going to be stupid – but this movie seemed like it was having so much fun being stupid that it transcended my usual bias against that sort of humour.

This” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

"Big Trouble in Little China" (1986)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

I decided to watch the movie itself before Spoony's review of the Commodore 64 game, and he's praised it so often he got me interested anyway. And… I don't get it. I'm sorry.

What I read afterwards confirmed what I'd suspected while watching it: it's an homage” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

"Angry Video Game Nerd: The Movie" (2014)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

This happens to be my 100th review on this site, and what an appropriate choice for such a milestone! :D

I've been a huge AVGN fan since 2007, and James Rolfe himself, through his other videos, has become one of my biggest filmmaking idols. I've been following t” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
PerfectPortal posted a review of Labor Day

"Labor Day" (2014)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

I have to admit, I'm having trouble explaining my thoughts on this one, because… I really don't know what to make of it. It's a pretty strange movie.

From the trailer, I got the impression that it was about an escaped convict keeping this woman and her son pri” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
PerfectPortal posted a review of Divergent

"Divergent" (2014)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

I'm not just saying this because it's cool to pick on young adult fiction, but… yeah, you guessed it. I didn't like this movie.

And that's mainly due to the premise. I guess it plays to teenagers who are discovering their social standing, but this whole idea o” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
PerfectPortal posted a review of Reasonable Doubt

"Reasonable Doubt" (2014)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

When an attorney (played by Dominic Cooper) commits a fatal hit-and-run, he becomes determined to manipulate the case to acquit the accused (Samuel L Jackson) who was found with the body and convicted of the crime. But he eventually realises his actions have freed a guilt” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

"The Legend of Hercules" (2014)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

To put it simply… this was bad! Really, really, really bad!

It's a retelling of the story of Hercules that imagines him as your typical Moses-like hero overthrowing a tyrant. It's as clichéd as it gets, and you can even pinpoint the famous historical epics it” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

"Before I Go to Sleep" (2014)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

This is basically 50 First Dates in the form of a thriller. :D It's the same psychological condition: she has amnesia that wipes her mind every morning. But in this case, it's told from her perspective, as she tries to figure out what happened to her and gets back in touc” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

"Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For" (2014)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

Well, it was a long wait for this one! I never read any of the comics, but I love the first Sin City movie: its spectacular blend of hyper-violence, snappy character actions and dazzling visual style is like nothing I've seen before or since.

That unique atmosph” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
PerfectPortal posted a review of Sex Tape

"Sex Tape" (2014)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

Married couple Jay and Annie try to reignite their sex life by making… well, the eponymous sex tape – but Jay accidentally ends up synchronising it to several iPads before distributing them.

I usually find sex comedies insufferable, but this was a surprising” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
PerfectPortal posted a review of If I Stay

"If I Stay" (2014)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

Mia Hall is left comatose after a car accident; caught between life and death, she has to decide whether to die or wake up again. As she wanders around the hospital, she overhears what happened to her family, and other discussions among her family and friends that guide h” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
PerfectPortal posted a review of Lucy

"Lucy" (2014)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

This was HORRIBLE!

Right from when I first heard the premise, I couldn't help but laugh at how downright stupid it sounded! Look, until right now, I didn't realise the "10% of the brain" thing was an actual misconception; I always thought it was just an expressi” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
PerfectPortal posted a review of The Boxtrolls

"The Boxtrolls" (2014)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

It's funny how they're marketing this as "from the makers of ParaNorman" even though it doesn't share any of the same creative team. It's presumably the same animators, though: same studio, and the art design looks very similar. It also shares those movies' dark, mildly c” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
fernando posted a review of Sunday Light

“Decontraída, un poco monocorde (quizá para subrayar,por contraste, la violación de Estrella); pero marcada por buenos diálogos y observación d epersonajes. El señor feudal del pueblo dice, tras la violación, "no lo hemos hecho por vicio, sino por política".” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
catcarlo posted a review of Marley

“Progettato da Scorsese e passato per le mani di Jonathan Demme, il progetto di un lungo documentario sulla vita e sulla musica di Bob Marley è finito nelle mani dello scozzese Macdonald che, essendo un nome meno ingombrante, ha potuto mettersi al servizio della materia senza prevaricare e costruire” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of F for Fake

A good movie

“Somehow, I have actually seen this flick in the movie theater (of course, not when it was released because I wasn’t even born). Anyway, at the time, I had no idea what to expect from this flick but since I was a huge fan of Orson Welles, I was really eager to check it out. Honestly, I have always ” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
BAMF posted a review of Silent Retreat

“I remember seeing the trailer for this awhile back and was pleasantly intrigued. The concept looked interesting enough so I had to see how everything played out. I would hate the rules of such a place. You pretty much cannot do anything which sounds way worse than going to prison. The acting is actu” read more

3 weeks, 3 days ago
SMilkshake posted a review of Our Deal

“What a nice take on Romeo and Juliet.

Honestly it is like a mix of Romeo and Juliet and West Side Story.There are not many words to none at all butt it still conveys alot of beautiful emotions by great actors.A great direction with Drew Barrymore and fantastic actors like Shailene Woodley,” read more

3 weeks, 3 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Blood Simple.

A good movie

“I had actually already seen this flick but it was ages ago so it definitely needed a re-watch. The most impressive thing about this directing debut was to see that the Coen brothers had their own style right from the very beginning. I mean, right from the very first minutes, with this very sarcastic” read more

3 weeks, 3 days ago
OsamaEx posted a review of 28 Weeks Later

A Gory Mess with Absence of Logic.

“This movie is supposed to be a sequel to the 2002 Danny Boyle '28 Days Later... ', which is a mistake by itself, because that movie didn't need any follow up, it ended perfectly well and the story was closed.

The movie starts with Don (played by Robert Carlyle) along with his wife living i” read more

3 weeks, 3 days ago