Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

A good movie

“It has been a while since I have seen this movie and I will probably re-watch it at some point. In fact, even though I have studied English at college level, I have actually never read anything written by Jane Austen (in fact, l haven't even read anything from Shakespeare either which is even more s” read more

4 weeks, 1 day ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Scent of a Woman

An average movie

“It has been a while since I have seen this flick and maybe I should give it a second chance at some point. Of course, since I’m a huge fan of Al Pacino, I was really eager to check it out but, to be honest, I thought the whole thing was rather disappointing. I mean, sure, it is a decent drama and ” read more

4 weeks, 1 day ago
Michael M posted a review of War Nurse

Hell's Angels

“I watch a lot of obscure movies, films which 99.9% of people will never watch. It’s like discovering a world that only I know about. Occasionally I will come across a hidden gem which I absolutely love, usually because it meets my personal preferences. But then there are movies like War Nurse in w” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of De Marathon

An average movie

“To be honest, I found most of the Dutch movies rather disappointing but since this one had some pretty good ratings and was rather well received in the Netherlands, I thought I should check it out. At first, I really had a hard time to get into it and I thought the whole thing was going to be terr” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Select Hotel

A good movie

“Honestly, it is a real obscure flick, in fact, I was the very first listal user to rate this movie. And, yet, for some reasons, if I recall it correctly, I still ended up watching it in the movie theater when it was released. Anyway, even though it was not really original, I thought it was a very bl” read more

1 month ago
doudouce55 posted a review of Into the Woods

“Not much of a musical fan. That said, it's a decent watch, with decent special effects. Streep was superbly cast. Decent adaptation from stage to screen.” read more

1 month ago
doudouce55 posted a review of Still Alice

“actors performing have a much too calm reaction to this dramatic event IMO (director's choice obviously). still not a bad movie, however it's a little too melodramatic for me. and much too slow.” read more

1 month ago
doudouce55 posted a review of The Gambler

“This talks the talk, but is darn too talkative (much too much talk), and its main character is not clearly defined. Definitely not the film I expected, nor the performances Mark Wahlberg is known for.” read more

1 month ago
doudouce55 posted a review of Two Days, One Night

“Nothing new to be learned here, but there's something very humane in the performances, both acting and directing.” read more

1 month ago
doudouce55 posted a review of Kill the Messenger

“The first hour is great and exciting, looked like it was on a good roll, unfortunately it starts going downhill, however it is still an enjoyable action-thriller film with decent (and good-looking) actors ;)” read more

1 month ago
doudouce55 posted a review of Stonehearst Asylum

“Quite surprised at the excellent outcome of this film: cinematography, directing and acting performances. Particularly the twist, which we weren't expecting. Still not perfect :) but definitely an enjoyable movie amid the recent lesser-known productions.” read more

1 month ago
doudouce55 posted a review of Selma

“BAM, that was quite an opening! This is definitely worth watching: directing, performance, costume, sets, etc. I'm not old enough to know much on or about Martin Luther King so unsure on accuracy (hence the rating), Yet this remains an eye opener, as I suspect it'll be for most viewers.” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of The Company Men

An average movie

“Even though it is a rather obscure feature, since there was a nice cast, I was still eager to check it out. Eventually, I thought it was a fairly realistic and interesting film dealing with the current economic crisis but, to be honest, I thought the whole thing was actually quite depressing. Probab” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Secrets & Lies

A good movie

“To be honest, it has been a while since I have seen this flick and I should probably re-watch it at some point. I remember it very well, when it was released, it was a critical success and even won the prestigious Golden Palm at the Cannes Film festival. With this in mind, I had some rather high exp” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of School Ties

A good movie

“To be honest, I has been a while since I have seen this flick and maybe I should check it out again at some point. Basically, it is a rather straightforward but still well made and effective drama about prejudices in a US prep school during the 50’s. So, it was a decent feature but the most intere” read more

1 month ago
The O.P. posted a review of The Company You Keep

First off, it should have been rated "PG" not "R"!

“First off, let me say I was really surprised to learn that this movie is "R" rated in the United States. In my country, Italy, it is "for all ages". It contains no sex scenes at all, no graphic violence, just a few seconds of footage about a bank robbing where a man was shot dead, of the sort you co” read more

1 month ago
fernando posted a review of Whiplash

“I love it. The craziness of creation in a more consequent, straightforward, honest, sincere, way than in Birdman. A classic duel in classic american music (all that jazz)and a wonderful J.K. Simmons.” read more

1 month ago

“Glory to the geeks, in its most struggling character. Director Marsh and screenwriters try to blend a simplification of a theory in a biography and it just glows for some seconds...” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Hail Caesar

A bad movie

“It is quite an obscure flick (only 6 listal users have rated it, including a couple of fake ratings) and, to be honest, I wasn't expecting much from it but since I had this dvd already for ages, I thought I should finally watch the damned thing. Well, eventually, it turned out to be even worse than” read more

1 month ago

An average movie

“To be honest, I thought the title of this movie sounded rather lame but since I have a weak spot for Lasse Hallstrom's work, I was still eager to check it out. Unfortunately, like most of his recent work, the whole thing was rather underwhelming and it seems that the guy has pretty much lost his to” read more

1 month ago
Michael M posted a review of Mutiny on the Bounty

Ship Happens

“If was to sum up Mutiny on the Bounty, it would be “immensely satisfying”. The actual build up to the mutiny itself is just so immense. Charles Laughton is an absolute beast as Captain Bligh. I can’t stress just how much I love this performance. Shivers go down my back at any of his many outbu” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Alien Outpost

“I saw the trailer for this and was intrigued to see if it could actually be any good. There was tons of action throughout. It doesn't have a big budget, but I think it was still pretty decent considering. The acting was pretty good. All the characters were likeable and interesting. It's found footag” read more

1 month ago
filmbuilder posted a review of Nativity!

A bad film much worse than I expected

“More than two years ago, 'Nativity 2' was released. I ended up seeing it and finding it a bad movie with pretty squeamish inappropriate humour for kids. From recording 'Nativity', I expected something pretty average!

'Nativity' is a bad film much worse than I expected it to be! The film fo” read more

1 month ago
OsamaEx posted a review of Invictus

Uninspired Borefest.

“So, there's this concept that i'd like to call "being overally Hollywood", which is basically, a person people like to put on a pedestal, so, no matter what he write/direct/produce/create, people would go all the way to support him even if the final product is dissatisfying. the person in hand is Cl” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Top Five

“I enjoy Chris Rock and I thought this looked like fun in the trailers so I knew I would check it out. There are tons of cameos here that are pretty cool. It had many laugh out loud moments and some just great scenes as well. I thought the stand-up scene felt legit improved instead of scripted. Some ” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Wild Card

“I really enjoy me some Jason Statham movies so I decided to check this one out. I also somewhat enjoy Simon West films. It seems like a blend of John Wick meets The Gambler which lets face it isn't very original. Upon further looking it seems this is a remake of a Burt Reynolds movie called Heat so ” read more

1 month ago
browser posted a review of Jackpot

Scandinavian Noir Comedy

“Jackpot certainly starts off with a bang, as the movie's protagonist is discovered surrounded by dead bodies in a sleazy strip club. He is soon hauled off to the local cop shop by detective Solør and by a process of interrogation the full story of how he got there is pieced together.

The” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of No

A very good movie

“Since this movie had received some pretty good reviews, I was quite eager to check it out. On top of that, it was dealing on a very interesting subject so it seemed quite intriguing. To be honest, I didn't know or didn’t remember the actual outcome of this election and I was actually pretty sure t” read more

1 month ago
BAMF posted a review of Bound

“Yeah I'm going to watch this. The only reason is for Charisma Carpenter who by the way still looks quite remarkable for her mid 40s. Other than that I know this will suck major balls. It's an Asylum productions rip off of 50 Shades of Grey. Also the only other "big" name is Daniel Baldwin. The main ” read more

1 month ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Sea of Love

An average movie

“It has been a while since I have seen this flick and I should definitely re-watch it at some point. Back then, Al Pacino was going through a strange periode in his career. Indeed, in the 80’s, he made only 5 movies and except for ‘Scarface’, all his movies were not really amazing. With ‘Sea ” read more

1 month ago