Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

Reno posted a review of Mr. Pip

Every masterwork can't be understood by everyone.

“A novel based movie and partially a true story that set on a Pacific island with the backdrop of the 90s civil war. The film was directed by a New Zealand filmmaker who was known for 'Shrek' and 'Narnia' movie series. One of the best movies of the year 2013 I have seen. Looks like it was not noticed” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
Reno posted a review of Mr. Peabody & Sherman

A great update from 2d to the 3d.

“I liked last two movies from DreamWorks Animations. Besides Disney and Pixer I kind of like this production house because the first ever 3D animation I ever saw was 'Antz', when I was a child. In their 30 movies this is only the second movie based on sci-fi after 'Megamind'. I was familiar with 'Mr.” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

“As much as I like Futurama, I have to say that this movie was weaker than some of the weakest episodes.

All the old characters were there. All the old jokes. All the things you could ever want from a movie made to continue the series.

They just couldn't hold it together. In the l” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
oxana posted a review of Mutiny on the Buses

“Those who have watched the TV show "On the Buses" are bound to like this.

The characters and predicaments are similar to those seen on TV (with a few scenes directly borrowed, but the movie plays them very well and puts an original spin on things). The story here is whole, unlike in the fi” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
oxana posted a review of Holiday on the Buses

“Strong 3 stars.

The traditional "On the Buses" setting takes a remodeling in this movie that sees Stan Butler, Jack Harper and Inspector Blake in a very different place due to certain mishaps at the depo.

Getting jobs at a holiday village, Stan and Jack are back to their old rout” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of La Bamba

An average movie

“I remember it very well, the first time I saw this flick, I must have been 12 or 13 years old, it was broadcasted on TV and that’s how I ended up watching it. Honestly, isn’t it how we all saw this flick after all? Anyway, basically, it is a fairly traditional musical biopic and the main reason ” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
oxana posted a review of 2012: Doomsday

“Over-religious, badly constructed movie with over-dramatic music playing on the background from the very beginning.

"2012 Doomsday" is an odd movie about the end of the world, and by now I have seen many of them. This definitely is the worst one so far. The camera work wasn't impressive ei” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
oxana posted a review of Love and Other Disasters

“Funny, twisty, light movie. "Gay man is a girl's best friend" really made itself useful here - giving the movie the depth and edge it deserves.

Great characters, good acting, and witty script.

And did I mention Orlando Bloom really nailed his role, looking absolutely lovely with ” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

“I was looking forward to seeing this movie (especially because of Darkrai, Dialga and Palkia).

Not a bad film on the scale set by Pokémon movies.

The art was beautiful, although nothing out of the ordinary. Still, I liked it, and it stood out nicely for itself.

Besides” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

“Directly takes place after "Bender's Big Score". No better than the first film either, managing to get as high as the worst episodes of the show.

With the world (possibly) threatened by a mysterious rift, it somehow once again falls to the hands of Planet Express crew to investigate the th” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

“Strong 3 stars.

A rather entertaining movie with a captive story for any fan of Avengers (little hints were thrown at how their story ended as Ultron rose, how Tony became the guardian of his friends' children, and so on and so forth).

The plot wasn't without its holes but none o” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
oxana posted a review of Futurama: Bender's Game

“Does Bender have an imagination? What is the secret of Dark matter?

This film is definitely the best one so far. It has the same drawn-out feeling as the other two before it ("Bender's Big Score" and "The Beast With A Billion Backs"), and the jokes and action get a bit numbing after a bit.” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
oxana posted a review of Hulk Vs.

“ Hulk vs. Thor

Loki proceeds to bring the Hulk to Asgard while Odin is still snoozing during Odinsleep - and it falls onto Thor to battle the monster when all else fails.

The plot was actually more complex than that, well executed and bringing out the many side-stories that exist” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

“Reverse World is by far one of the most fascinating things about the whole Pokémon world; the design, the rules, its Ying and Yang position with the real world... truly awesome.

Giratina, one of the new legendary Pokémon who appear in this film, wasn't bad either, and getting a glimpse o” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
oxana posted a review of Dragon Hunter

“While there was a mediocre glimpse of a story in there somewhere, it got a little lost in everything else that was going on.

The characters weren't introduced properly, so feeling anything for them was impossible. Kendrick, for one, didn't have any makings of a hero whatsoever, although hi” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

“Perhaps the best Futurama movie so far.

While it has some unimportant storylines (like Bender's affair with Fanny), the story is otherwise quite whole - a guaranteed humor-ride for all Futurama fans.

While Leela joins a green movement and Fry struggles to understand yet another g” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
oxana posted a review of Planet Hulk

“Strong 3 1/2 stars.

One of the best Marvel animated movies I've seen.

It had a steady story which built itself beautifully and without plot holes, which isn't a given in these types of movies. You really get invested in the events and they were filled with awesome stuff.

read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

“Another blackout, another thrilling story of Family Guy characters playing Star Wars.

The story, like in "Blue Harvest" before this, sticks closely to the source material. I would have loved seeing some variation, more parody, but they simply end up twisting some scenes a little.

read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

A good movie

“It is another one of these movies which I haven't seen for many years (maybe 20 years ago, as a matter of fact) but I definitely have some fonds memories about this flick and I will definitely check it out again whenever I get the opportunity. Basically, it was the closest thing to a comedy that Pol” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
fernando posted a review of Seeing Red

“Conventional, too many interviews with not too important people, commy activists. At least we have Pete Seeger singing and talking.” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
fernando posted a review of Fading Gigolo

“(Seen in cinema)A surprise. Turturro includes Woody's world in his own world. We see the intersection of both, the lights of decadence, the beauty of imperfection (the rude sex appeal of Fioravante, the bunny teeth of Vanessa Paradis)...” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

A very good movie

“I wonder if a lot of people remember this movie but, somehow, it seems pretty much forgotten which is quite a shame. Indeed, when it was released, it was a big critical success and launched the once promising career of Lee Tamahori. Back then, I was very young when I saw it and I was definitely impr” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

“Fourth "Free Willy" movie, although I think it's a bit unfair to call it one; they call the whale Willy, and it is an orca, but that's where the similarities end when it comes to characters.

Kirra is young and determined to stay at his father's side when he gets into an incident which forc” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
oxana posted a review of Order of Chaos

“A slightly strange, bizarre movie. It felt like the camera work and plot were slightly off their medication as well.

The beginning of the movie made somewhat more sense than the rest of it, but it was a bit jerky. Sure, that was the style that was maintained thorough the entire film, and w” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
oxana posted a review of Tidal Wave

“This movie had a lot of different characters - some of them goofy and some just very loud and obnoxious, bordering to annoying. Nonetheless, all those stories are rather thoroughly explored before the actual main event begins to approach.

The disaster itself, in the shape of a mega tsunami” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
oxana posted a review of Dorian Gray

“The scariest sounding painting ever can be found in this movie (yes, you heard right).

For some reason I was expecting to see a vampire movie. No idea where I got that idea stuck in my head.

While the plot of the movie was rather bizarre and there were very artistic moments of lu” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
oxana posted a review of Love & Distrust

“This movie consist of five different stories, all of them starring some bigger names (I was really looking forward to the stories with Sam Worthington and Robert Downey Jr.).

I'm not sure where exactly the title of this film came from, because there wasn't a whole lot of love in there. Not” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago

“From the very beginning, this movie is an unfunny joke. The overall mood is light, the plot on the dangerous side of ridiculous, the actors are over-acting, which makes it all feel like one big farce.

This movie also has the cheapest special effects I've seen in any recently made movie. Ha” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Boyhood

A great movie

“Once again, we have seen a great film with the filmclub. In fact, we pretty much all agreed that it was one of the best movies we have seen together so far. Personally, I already heard about this movie 6 or 8 years ago and, of course, I was really intrigued but I didn’t expect it to be so amazing.” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago
oxana posted a review of Pros and Ex-Cons

“The movie started off a little weird; random little shots of people, then introductions... after that the story got really going, and was enjoyable after the unbalanced beginning.

I watched this movie mostly to see Sam Worthington's performance, and he was brilliant as usual. He didn't hav” read more

3 weeks, 2 days ago