Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

PerfectPortal posted a review of American Sniper

"American Sniper" (2014)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

I always have a tough time reviewing dramas, especially biographical ones, since it all comes down to how invested in the story you get. But this is a wonderfully realised one. Clint Eastwood is one of those directors who doesn't seem to care about style but more about si” read more

2 weeks, 3 days ago
Stehako posted a review of Ender's Game

Dead-Ender's Game

“[img id=6147142 width=500full]

The young leads do a fine job in this VFX heavy attempt at an epic adaptation. However Harrison Ford phones it in and several parts seem rushed, as if it was going through the motions, but not as bad as with 'Hunger Games'.

I'm assuming there ” read more

2 weeks, 3 days ago
Stehako posted a review of Paranormal Activity 2

“I am surprised by how good this nanny camera horror film was compared to the first. I might actually be interested in checking out the third one...” read more

2 weeks, 3 days ago

“Garland is pretty funny in this relatively unique indie film about finding someone to love. Silverman is funny in a toned-down version of herself.” read more

2 weeks, 3 days ago
BAMF posted a review of Strange Magic

“Initial Thought: I remember seeing the trailer and noticing how simply awful it looked. It looked like it was made for like three year olds. Anyways I am going to watch this for your sake.

Characters/Acting: It does have a fairly decent cast with the likes of Alan Cumming, Evan Rachel Wood” read more

2 weeks, 3 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of North

An average movie

“20 years later, this movie has pretty much become the stuff of legends. Indeed, when it was released, it was a massive critical failure and many considered it as one of the worst movies ever made. The impact for Rob Reiner’s career would be quite dramatic and the guy never really fully recovered f” read more

2 weeks, 3 days ago
oldman posted a review of Thank God He Met Lizzie

“I went to watch this film at an Oz film festival. My reason to go watch was Cate Blanchett. One would assume if a favourite actress plays the title role, then her screen time would be for at least half the film. At least.

I'm not going or planning to spoil anything about the film if you ha” read more

2 weeks, 3 days ago
PerfectPortal posted a review of Jurassic World

"Jurassic World" (2015)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

Well, it's finally happened. :) Jurassic World, after over a decade in development hell, has finally been released. Personally speaking, this has to be the most anticipated movie of my entire life; I've been waiting for this since 2001! I went to see it on Saturday, makin” read more

2 weeks, 4 days ago

"Mad Max: Fury Road" (2015)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

I was never a big fan of the first Mad Max, but I think the second one can easily stand alone as its own movie – and a damn good one.

In this reboot, whereas originally oil was the scarce commodity, this time it seems to be water.

The story is set up” read more

2 weeks, 4 days ago

"Avengers: Age of Ultron" (2015)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

Speaking as someone who was pretty disappointed in the second wave of Marvel movies, I think this is, hands down, the best Marvel movie since Avengers 1. It's a concentrated blast of pure fun and doesn't aspire to be anything more than that. It's still the same wonderful ” read more

2 weeks, 4 days ago
PerfectPortal posted a review of Chappie

"Chappie" (2015)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

I might have gone into this movie with higher expectations had I not disliked director Neill Blomkamp's previous effort, Elysium. And, between that film and this one, it's starting to look more and more like District 9 was a fluke! This was horrible!

And that's ” read more

2 weeks, 4 days ago

"Kingsman: The Secret Service" (2015)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

Matthew Vaughn's second adaptation of a Mark Millar comic. :) And just like Kick-Ass, it proves to be a match made in heaven! :D In a word, wow! It's a send-up to over-the-top spy action movies that's equal parts gleeful homage and biting satire. It tells two stories in p” read more

2 weeks, 4 days ago
PerfectPortal posted a review of Ex Machina

"Ex Machina" (2015)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

After writing such masterpieces as 28 Days Later, Sunshine and Dredd, this is Alex Garland's debut in the director's chair; that alone got me intrigued. :) And the result certainly didn't disappoint.

It's not a stunningly original take on artificial intelligence” read more

2 weeks, 4 days ago
PerfectPortal posted a review of Taken 3

"Taken 3" (2015)

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

In the last review I posted on this site, I mentioned that I'd started a new blog on Blog.com. Well, I turned my back on that because the site was becoming far too unstable; most of the time, it just didn't load. (It seems fine at the moment, but I didn't want to take tha” read more

2 weeks, 4 days ago

An average movie

“When I was a kid, I saw ‘Honey, I Shrunk the Kids’ in the movie theater when it was released. Sure, it might not a masterpiece but, back then, I was just 10 years old, I thought it was really awesome and it has always remained a childhood favorite. Obviously, since the first installment was a su” read more

2 weeks, 4 days ago

“My Favourite Villains Wikia From The Adventures Of Pinocchio (1996) Udo Kier He Plays Lorenzini The Italion Actor” read more

2 weeks, 4 days ago
BAMF posted a review of Unfinished Business

“Initial Thought: I saw the trailer and thought it looked alright. I haven't heard much of anything good about it though. I'm still going to give it a shot for myself.

Characters/Acting: The cast is fairly good here. Vince Vaughn is a bit up and down for me, but I approve of pretty much eve” read more

2 weeks, 4 days ago

A good movie

“Honestly, it is a rather obscure feature so I wasn’t sure what to expect from it but since I always had a weak spot for Neil Jordan’s work, I was quite eager to check it out. On top of that, the leads were played by Ralph Fiennes and Julianne Moore, some of the best actors around, so the whole t” read more

2 weeks, 5 days ago
BAMF posted a review of Spring

“Initial Thought: I have been really wanting to see this since I saw the trailer. They really pulled you in without ruining anything about the story. The cinematography looks to be quite exquisite. The storyline itself is very mysterious.

Characters/Acting: Lou Taylor Pucci is really a grea” read more

2 weeks, 5 days ago
The O.P. posted a review of 28 Weeks Later

Zombie-fest or stupid-fest?

“Before writing this, I read some other reviews by Listal users, and I must agree with all those who blamed "28 Weeks After" for being *stupid*! True. Most of the actions and decisions in this story are unbelievably silly, as other reviewers explained in detail, if you don't mind spoilers. Stupidity ” read more

2 weeks, 5 days ago
The O.P. posted a review of Dodgeball

A funny game, a clown and a pretty lady

“What would you expect from a movie titled "Dodgeball", featuring Ben Stiller and Vince Vaughn? Yeah, that's right. Not a masterpiece of the cinematic art, yet not the worst way to spend an evening if you don't mind a lighthearted comedy. It's the sort of flick you might want to watch while having a ” read more

2 weeks, 5 days ago
PvtCaboose91 posted a review of Jurassic World

Immersive dinosaur blockbuster

“"She will kill anything that moves. She is finding where she fits in the food chain, and I don't think you want her to figure that out!"

Fourteen years of rumours, false starts and cancelled release dates have finally culminated with 2015's Jurassic World, a grandiose blockbuster that's co” read more

2 weeks, 5 days ago
fernando posted a review of The Believers

“A melodramatic beginning,police stuff, and fantastic overtones (good scene the insects in Helen Shaver face); but Schlesinger loses ellegance in the conventional intrigue.” read more

2 weeks, 5 days ago
fernando posted a review of The Homesman

“Good subject, big trip, the moral relativism (such adventure with killings and the destruction of a hotel, the anticlimactic suicide of Swank, just to transport 3 crazy women)somehow collides with Lee Jones's whimsical character.” read more

2 weeks, 5 days ago
fernando posted a review of Last Year at Marienbad

“Ah, Resnais, the feeling is in the experiment, not too much in the story; my feelings are in the shape of landscpae, in the trees without shadows, in Seyrig rendering her texts” read more

2 weeks, 5 days ago

“Great Sturges, he's the one of the best alliances of straightforward Hollywood comercial filmmaking, with good dialogues, acting and even social narrative. Here, the rude friendship between Lancaster and Douglas wins over classical romance lancaster/Fleming and patoligcal bond between Douglas and Jo” read more

2 weeks, 5 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Global Heresy

A bad movie

“Honestly, I wasn't expecting much from this flick but since I had it like forever on DVD (I bought the damned thing almost 4 years ago!), I thought it was really time to watch this. Well, eventually, it turned out to be quite terrible and it is not very often that I came across such a confused pictu” read more

2 weeks, 5 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Jurassic World

An average movie

“While I wasn't expecting much from this new installement, Nick, my step-son, has always been interested by dinosaurs so he was really eager to check this flick. Eventually, it turned to be a decent watch. Basically, it was half a sequel but also half a remake and even though it might sound like a po” read more

2 weeks, 5 days ago
BAMF posted a review of Poltergeist III

“Initial Thought: I don't know why I had this on my watched and rated list seeing as I've never seen it. I decided to actually change that since the new one is out now. It can't be too awful. May Heather O'Rourke rest in peace.

Characters/Acting: Heather O'Rourke and Zelda Rubinstein contin” read more

2 weeks, 5 days ago
BAMF posted a review of Unfreedom

“Initial Thought: Well this is apparently pretty controversial for India. Their own country banned it due to its content. For that reason alone I had to see what all the fuss was about. I'm sure India is just overreacting due to conservative attitudes. I have never been too interested in Bollywood ex” read more

2 weeks, 6 days ago