Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

johanlefourbe posted a review of Miles from Home

A good movie

“Even though it is a really obscure feature (I was only the 3rd listal user who has rated it), since I had a weak spot for Richard Gere, I thought I might as well give it a try. In fact, the most interesting thing about this flick is that it was Gary Sinise’s directing debut. Indeed, even though it” read more

1 week ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of All Is Lost

A good movie

“I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this flick but since I really enjoyed J.C. Chandor’s previous directing effort, I was quite eager to check it out. Well, first of all, to be honest, I thought the whole thing was like a very long and agonizing anti-commercial against sailing. I mean, seri” read more

1 week ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of The Boxtrolls

A good movie

“Yesterday, my daughter was really eager to see a movie and, to my surprise, she chose this one. To be honest, I didn’t know much about the flick and I first thought it was actually a drawn animated feature. I was therefore positively surprised that it was actually a stop-motion feature produced b” read more

1 week ago
ManintheCape posted a review of Mad Max: Fury Road

“This was brilliant! A non-stop chase scene with exhilarating stunts & effects that tell the story. There was such a perfect balance of action and plot even though it was simplistic. Yet the action sequences were the most complex and Helluvalot fun to watch! For almost 2 hours you get stunning ex” read more

1 week ago
mirinbuddy posted a review of Inside Out

I don't love it like other people do

“INSIDE OUT = brilliant idea and concept,rather bad executed ,confused,hard to follow ,all characters are so annoying, not entertaining but very torturing while watching,over the top directed.

I know it's a very good idea, but I think it's kind of intellectual exercise I didn't "Feel"it,did” read more

1 week, 1 day ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Midnight Express

A classic

“To be honest, it has been ages since I have seen this flick and I should definitely re-watch it at some point. Personally, I always had some rather mixed feelings about the damned thing. I remember as if it was yesterday, I was actually blown away by the introduction. Indeed, you had the main charac” read more

1 week, 1 day ago
ManintheCape posted a review of Seventh Son

“ This wasn't that bad. Aside from Jeff Bridges mumbling through out the film, it was actually a worthy piece of Fantasy/Adventure filmmaking. I really liked it. It had that old school appeal when it came to witches and sorcery. Reminded me a little bit of a Nic Cage flick called 'Season of the” read more

1 week, 1 day ago
ManintheCape posted a review of Blackhat

“ This was a hugely shallow attempt at making a cyber crime thriller. I can't understand how director Michael Mann could have botched this up, but then I remember what he did in Miami Vice and Public Enemies and I realize I should have known better. Blackhat had the potential of being a cyber t” read more

1 week, 1 day ago
fernando posted a review of Destino

“Disney was capable of too many cinematic adventures, but this one,matching with Dali was so bizarre and in a way so reasonably arty, that its rare that was cancelled and had to wait posterity to be finished.” read more

1 week, 1 day ago
fernando posted a review of Fantasia 2000

“The flamingo-Saint Saens episode is wonderful, playful, comic, superb.The whlaes stuff is too solemn, the Rhapsody in blue is too argumentative.” read more

1 week, 1 day ago
fernando posted a review of The Roots of Heaven

“It´s up to its fame. Niaf existencialism by Romain Gary and french souvenir muse Juliette Grecco, imposible actress. Flynn drinks more than acting, Welles is just visiting, Lukas is terrible. Eddie Albert and the elephants are the best.” read more

1 week, 1 day ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Midnight Cowboy

A classic

“To be honest, it has been ages since I have seen this flick and I should definitely re-watch it at some point. Anyway, even though it was released in 1969, in my opinion, it actually belongs to the great wave of amazingly inspired US movies from the 70’s such as ‘Taxi Driver’, ‘Dog Day After” read more

1 week, 2 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Café au lait

A good movie

“At some point, it seemed that Mathieu Kassovitz was set to become the next great French director. Indeed, in the mid-90’s, he made ‘La haine’ which became a huge critical success in France and, even internationally, it became a cult-classic. Unfortunately, none of his following directing eff” read more

1 week, 2 days ago

A good movie

“Right now, if you would ask around, most people would tell you that this is, so far, the best movie released in 2015. With this in mind, I had some high expectations but, to be honest, I had my doubts. Eventually, I finally watched the damned thing and I thought it was a fairly entertaining actio” read more

1 week, 2 days ago
Michael M posted a review of My Geisha

Land of the Rising Fun!

“*** This review contains spoilers ***

Oh man, these are the kinds of quirky film concepts I live for, definitely up there with films like The Major and the Minor, The Whole Town’s Talking and Sylvia Scarlett. I’ve never previously been a Shirley MacLaine fan, but My Geisha may have con” read more

1 week, 2 days ago
Jan Go posted a review of Rafureshia

“The story was so bad, thank god for the speedup function in media players that enabled me to completely watch this in 1/3rd the time required.

Arisa is adored, imprisoned and abused by her dad on an island which she has no permission to leave. Harumi is chided constantly by her mom-in-law ” read more

1 week, 2 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Amy

A good movie

“To be honest, I have never really cared about Amy Winehouse while she was still alive. I mean, she did have an interesting voice but, especially towards the end, she looked just terrible and I mostly remembered how her chaotic behavior was described in details in the media and, soon enough, she w” read more

1 week, 2 days ago
mirinbuddy posted a review of Pixels

“Stupidity can be the most creative thing.

Why so low rating?

I've never like Adam Sandler before, I'm not the fan of comedy genre,I'm not the fan of 80s video games, but I think this film was made creatively , funny and entertaining, there's a few "boring" moment but overall I wa” read more

1 week, 2 days ago
fernando posted a review of Last Words

“Strange short, in the fringe of the filming of "Signs of life", with sense of humour and accomplices in the cretian town, playing with repetition of texts, popular music and common sense” read more

1 week, 2 days ago
fernando posted a review of Herakles

“The very beginning of Herzog. From the gym and from the very human urge to build muscle, you can ironize too easily on the man made world, its harmony and its conflict.” read more

1 week, 2 days ago

“Maybe, with 'Aguirre',the best Herzog. It is clear,illuminate, tender, you feel the tension of Kaspar coping with civilization and logic and religion.” read more

1 week, 2 days ago
fernando posted a review of La Soufrière

“Just a short, almost improvised adventure in a deserted island. I like this non rethorical not too much filosofical Herzog.” read more

1 week, 2 days ago
fernando posted a review of Signs Of Life

“Herzog's opera prima: a necessity to film outside Germany, even it has all its filosofical questions. Stroscek is surpassed by his madness, he builds stories, fire, light in a very quiet island.” read more

1 week, 2 days ago
BAMF posted a review of American Ultra

“Initial Thought: When I saw the trailer I knew this would be something I wanted to see. It kind of reminds me of the likes of Pineapple Express meets The Bourne films. It also felt like an original take on something that could have very easily have been cliched. So when my theater got it I watched i” read more

1 week, 3 days ago

A classic

“When I was a kid, I loved all the basic stuff. You know, Bruce Lee, Clint Eastwood, James Bond, Star Wars, Indiana Jones,... However, somehow, I never really connected with this flick. I mean, I did like it, that's for sure, but I never thought it was really mind-blowing and, I guess, it probably ha” read more

1 week, 3 days ago

A bad movie

“At last, I have seen all the movies directed by Robert Rodriguez... To be honest, it was a rather thankless task. Indeed except for 'Sin City', which is still one of my all-time favorites, all his movies have been at best decent but also rather frequently really weak. This movie is a perfect example” read more

1 week, 4 days ago

“Initial Thought: Night of the Living Dead was my introduction to zombies. Of course it was. From then on I have loved them endlessly. I will watching anything with zombies in it. So I had bought a DVD with the final three Return of the Living Dead films, the last two of the Reanimator trilogy, and t” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
BAMF posted a review of Straight Outta Compton

“Initial Thought: I didn't know much about N.W.A. to be honest. I only knew about the three main members. I didn't even know who MC Ren or DJ Yella were. All I know is the trailer was awesome and the I was familiar with a few songs of theirs. So when it came to my theater I set out for it immediately” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Company Man

An average movie

“I wasn't expecting much from this flick but since there was actually a decent cast, I thought I might as well give it a try. Well, within the first 5 minutes, I was already totally bored and it seemed to be a total disaster. Indeed, the whole concept was just completely stupid but above all rather ” read more

1 week, 4 days ago

A good movie

“Back in the 90's, I was a huge fan of Win Wenders and, if I recall it correctly, I even saw this movie in the movie theater when it was released. Back then, it didn't get much love (unfortunately, Wenders's movies would get some increasingly poor reviews in the following decade) and there was espec” read more

1 week, 5 days ago