Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

thaskett posted a review of She's the One

"California" is a great song

“The Tom Petty soundtrack is really the only good thing about this thoroughly boring film. It's also set in New York City, which is always a bonus.

Oh, and I guess John Mahoney is good (though he doesn't act all that different than he does on "Frasier").

As far as the rest of the ” read more

1 week, 3 days ago
johanlefourbe posted a review of Charlie St Cloud

An average movie

“Honestly, I wasn't expecting much from this flick but, somehow, I still ended up watching this movie. Basically, it is 'The Sixth Sense' all over again but the concept this time was handled as a romance. Unfortunately, I'm not already a huge fan of the classic starring Bruce Willis and this romanti” read more

1 week, 3 days ago
fernando posted a review of Escape

“Ok direction and acting,but too dependant on the escape, there are few moments to stay with Rex's and his thoughts, and Manki can't make much with untasty Cummins.” read more

1 week, 3 days ago
fernando posted a review of Crossed Swords

“Lollo work). represses her sexiness and Flynn is obliged too exagerate his impossible youth and skills to jump form windows (a lot of visible stunt work is involved). Story is ok with banning of single man in the town and all women saving them by flirtinf with the guards).” read more

1 week, 3 days ago

The Amazing Mistakes of a Franchise

“[img id=8079274 width=500full]

Following an unneeded but, at least, decent revamp of the Spider-Man saga, this movie makes the same mistakes as 'Spider-Man 3' with having too many villains/storylines. It's not because it's confusing it's because they shortchange every character and by the” read more

1 week, 3 days ago
fernando posted a review of The Fan

“Carroll is excellent as the adventuress with a secret and a heart and Crain is more then ok. ¡It´s Dorothy Parker in the script! Well, Carroll has good lines and theres a lot of hipocresy and innuendo in all the cast. Don´t like the aging of Carroll and Sanders.” read more

1 week, 3 days ago
fernando posted a review of The Stooge

“The 7th Lewis and Martin and the plot establishes clearly, with some dramatism between routines, who is who in the funny duette. Not so good gags but you can feel the armony and the tension of the pairing.” read more

1 week, 3 days ago
fernando posted a review of The Good Fairy

“Touching in the beginning and ending, but slow and talkie in the middle. Sullavan is a world apart in acting, she is convincing in each inverosimile scene, and you can feel harsh Marshall smelting at her side. Owen is excellent, and Morgan, the looser millionaire has a great line: "If there´s a goo” read more

1 week, 3 days ago
Stehako posted a review of They Came Together

Few Came to See See This

“[img id=7059684 width=500full]

From the creators of 'Wet Hot American Summer' comes everything that annoys you about romantic comedies.

Even with a star-studded cast this film seemed to fly under the radar, and it looks like, with good reason. There are no outrageous, memorabl” read more

1 week, 3 days ago
mirinbuddy posted a review of Teddy Bear

“I'm curious to see this film because It's about Thailand and I'm Thai and it's a surprise I've never expected,small hidden gem,a very touching film.

"Teddy Bear" looks like a low budget film but it's no cheap work.

A touching film about discovering oneself,breaks the chain to fre” read more

1 week, 3 days ago

If you didn't like it, try giving it a 2nd chance

“It took a long time for this one to grow on me. The first time that I tried watching it (years and years ago) I LOATHED it -- and I vowed to avoid it from that point on.

I guess I just had to watch it all the way through or something, because when I finally streamed it on Netflix not long ” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Picture Perfect

So-so movie with an annoying main character

“My sister and I saw 'Picture Perfect' in the theater back when it was released in 1997, mainly because Kevin Bacon is in it (we were never into "Friends", or Jennifer Aniston). I thought it was okay -- nothing remarkable.

I didn't bother re-watching until almost 18 years later, when I was ” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of The Other Woman

Better than I expected

“Another for my "movies I'd never heard of that are set in New York City" list.

I definitely didn't watch 'The Other Woman' for its cast; Natalie Portman and Lisa Kudrow aren't actresses who would ever make me run to the theater (or even to my Netflix queue) and I don't really have an opini” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Notting Hill

Decent, not great

“Eh. I'm almost tempted to dock a half-star (or give a 4/10), because I didn't think 'Notting Hill' was all THAT great. But for a Julia Roberts movie (most of the time, I don't care for those) it isn't too bad, either. I liked the London setting, and (although I didn't "fall in love" with him) Hugh G” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Norman

Richard Jenkins is good

“'Norman' is one of those random independent movies that I'd never heard of, but decided to give a chance one day on Netflix because nothing else at the moment captured my interest.

To be honest, even though I chose to stream it, I went into 'Norman' somewhat reluctantly; I wasn't sure how ” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of New York, I Love You

Not much to love

“I love New York, too, but I can't say the same about this film. Or, rather, anthology of short films -- each one a sort of "love story" set in New York City.

Maybe that's the problem -- while I don't automatically hate all movies classified as "love stories", it's rare that I think most "r” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Mr. Deeds

Stupid

“This utterly ridiculous movie (a remake of 'Mr. Deeds Goes to Town') is filled with childish, slapstick-y "humor" and cartoon violence. Of course, that goes without saying, considering that Adam Sandler is the star. I only watched the stupid thing because (like many other films I've streamed on Netf” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Mary and Max

Worth a watch

“'Mary and Max' is one of those movies that I wanted to like a little better than I did. The story is certainly unique; the film spans the 20-year pen-pal friendship between "Mary Daisy Dingle", an 8-year-old girl living in Australia with her alcoholic mother, and Max, a 44-year-old obese man with As” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Maid in Manhattan

Not terrible, not great

“'Maid in Manhattan' received generally terrible reviews, and it's certainly no great cinematic treasure. Indeed, the movie is clichéd, contrived, and predictable. Jennifer Lopez and Ralph Fiennes don't have a lot of chemistry, and (while not the brattiest I've seen) naturally Lopez's character's yo” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Lovelace

Flawed, yet interesting

“Sometimes I watch movies simply because actors that I like are in them; in the case of 'Lovelace', I happened to notice that Peter Sarsgaard was one of the stars, which prompted my decision to stream it on Netflix (I've enjoyed Sarsgaard in other roles, and I hadn't seen him in anything for awhile).” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of License to Drive

Late 80's silliness

“I watched this dumb movie ages ago and thought that it was really stupid. Not "good" stupid -- just stupid, stupid.

I watched it again recently on Netflix... and still thought that it was really stupid. Only this time, it also put me to sleep.

What did I expect from a movie starr” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Lars and the Real Girl

I liked it better the second time around

“I watched 'Lars and the Real Girl' for the first time in 2014 and didn't think much of it. Something prompted me to watch it again in 2015, though; I believe it was a review I read that mentioned that the film portrays Lars's Christian church in a positive manner. Since that's a rare thing in most m” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of It Could Happen to You

A solidly okay film

“I ignored this one for 20 years due to lack of interest; I'm not really into romantic comedies (and I've never been a fan of Nicolas Cage).

I finally watched it one night, and it was... fine. Not spectacular, but not terrible. Cage's character is a bit of a "Gary Stu" (or whatever you cal” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of The Interview

Garbage

“I watched 'The Interview' for two reasons: partly to see what all the hype was about, and partly because I've read a bit and watched a few documentaries about North Korea. So -- even though I'm no Seth Rogen fan -- I was mildly curious to see how he portrayed it in this film.

I honestly re” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Girl Most Likely

Imogene isn't very likable

“This one was another stinker (I've streamed my share on Netflix). I was dubious going into this movie, because the plot point of our oh-so-admirable heroine (Kristen Wiig) FAKING A SUICIDE to get her ex's attention after he breaks up with her is right there in the film description, and I... didn't r” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Get Over It

Not very entertaining

“Not that I went into this silly teen movie expecting much, but it was very stupid and not even entertaining (like a few other teen movies of its time). Actually, I fell asleep before the end; I didn't bother going back later to see what I missed, because I didn't care.

I won't even bother ” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Everybody's Fine

An unexpected surprise

“'Everybody's Fine' is yet another movie that I'd never heard of before coming across it on Netflix. The first few times I scrolled past it, I didn't bother paying attention (the title seemed kind of generic; and while I wouldn't place any of the cast on my "least favorite actors" list, I don't exact” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Detachment

A little TOO depressing, but Adrien Brody is good

“Think of the most depressing movie that you've ever seen, and multiply it times a million. The result would STILL look like "The Mickey Mouse Club" in comparison to 'Detachment.'

I'm not opposed to sad movies -- I've enjoyed and appreciated many movies that some might even label "depressin” read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Compliance

A hard-to-believe, yet somewhat interesting film

“'Compliance' is another movie I'd never heard of before watching it, starring actors I'm unfamiliar with and based on a real-life incident that I knew nothing about. In other words, a very random choice for me to decide to stream on Netflix. (Hey, at least I wasn't going in with any biases.)
read more

1 week, 4 days ago
thaskett posted a review of Barefoot

Saccharine indie love story

“If you like nauseatingly cute movies featuring charisma-free male leads (Scott Speedman, in this case) falling in love with (blech) "manic pixie dream girls" (Evan Rachel Wood gets the honor here), then 'Barefoot' might be your cup of tea.

I'm not really a fan of such movies, so -- while I” read more

1 week, 4 days ago