Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

Three intriguing period kaiju classics

“Spanning three films all released at four monthly intervals in the same year, 1966, the Daimajin series is one of the most atypical of all Japanese kaiju films. In this case the strange monster is a giant statue of a warrior that comes to life, but rather than menacing a modern city he's a force of ” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

“Who's the Edo Police constable who's a sex machine to all the chicks?

Who's the Edo Police constable who's a sex machine to all the chicks? Hanzo the Razor - Sword of Justice - can you dig it? With his funky theme tune and angry strut, he's the cop who takes no bribes and no excrement from” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

“It may be a triumph of style over content, but what style!

In 1953 Teinosuke Kinugasa's Gate of Hell aka Jigokumon was one of the breakthrough Japanese films on the international market, winning the Grand Prix at Cannes and two Oscars (though, shockingly, neither was for Kôhei Sugiyama's ” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

“Get Criterion's US disc for a fine presentation of the uncut version of Kurosawa's comeback

After years in the wilderness ended only when Francis Ford Coppola and George Lucas persuaded 20th Century Fox to invest some of the money they'd made from Star Wars in his financially stalled epic,” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

“It may not tap into the primal majesty of Arnold Fanck and Leni Riefenstahl's once-hugely popular German `berg' films of the Thirties, but Disney's 1959 live-action feature Third Man on the Mountain is a rather splendid family-friendly adventure that benefits from a stronger story and characterisati” read more

1 year, 6 months ago
Moviediva posted a review of Baby Face (1933)

“Probably my favorite pre-code film which possesses an uncharacteristically upbeat ending full of hope. A beautiful, saavy, young girl longs to escape the confines of the slums and works her way up through the ranks of the banking corporation and into the upper echelons of society only to discover t” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

Devolving Into Melodrama

“Bought this political drama series through the second season largely based on recommendations that if I enjoyed the Danish crime series Forbrydelsen I would enjoy this as well. Also, it received some good reviews across The Pond. While the first season was good, and the acting and and production val” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

“Fresh, unique, and entertaining. History comes alive as the founding fathers discover purpose, embrace love, and colonize unsettled lands. The Declaration of Independence is but a small piece of this effort-- the greater part is the song they find within their hearts. Freedom is celebrated from s” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
shawn tomorrow posted a review of The Wild

mildly good

“this is a decent movie that should be entertaining enough for most kids and maybe adults too. it never raises to the level of madagascar which its obviously banking off of. and thats sort've a shame because it has good potential. the jokes don't really come off well even when there are good jokes” read more

1 year, 8 months ago
scace posted a review of The Talented Mr Ripley

“Matt Damon was robbed of an Academy Award nominstion when Jude Law received one. Much better than "Purple Noon" Minghella's adaption was magnificent. I strongly recommend this film.” read more

1 year, 8 months ago

“The promotional tour of "Mylo Xyloto" began October 26, 2011 in Madrid and ends on February 19, 2013 in Monterrey, Mexico. Over $ 148 million received to date and nearly 2 million viewers.

Numbers thrill that convinced Coldplay to release a live CD + DVD simply titled "Live 2012", an accou” read more

1 year, 9 months ago

“I think it's a good mix of GT's more popular songs, although my favorites (like Hell bound Train) are not covered. If your a big Destroyer fan, like me, it's a must have just because. For an old guy he still has what it takes to rock the house and the songs covered on this DVD are classics that wi” read more

1 year, 9 months ago

“Another great script written by Tarantino.There's a rumour that "True Romance" and "Natural Born Killers"(perfect directed by Oliver Stone) were one script which was cut in two similar but different movies. Anyway TR is a great movie.There are more stars in it than at the Academy Awards.D.Hopper,C.W” read more

1 year, 10 months ago
markjazz posted a review of Kottentail

Piece of crap!

“This is officially one of the worst movies I have ever seen! I wasn't expecting much to begin with because I knew it had that "handycam" film quality too it but my God was this bad! It has piss poor acting, lame jokes, even lamer effects, and some odd looking boobs too.

I wasn't even five ” read more

1 year, 10 months ago
shawn tomorrow posted a review of 10,000 BC

violence for kids...i think

“whatever this movie had going for it was wasted.

at least you know quickly that what you're watching has little connection to reality. its a cartoon...a violent one; which makes it a little hard to assess who the target audience was??

a group of pre-historic hunters are down on ” read more

1 year, 10 months ago
Sereia posted a review of Indian Hill Railways

“A wonderful series about the lives of people who work on and around the Indian Mountain Railways. This series gives a rich insight into the culture and cultural differences within India it's self and also, shows how caste is still very important in modern India. I loved how the show was still upbeat” read more

1 year, 11 months ago
ritapita posted a review of The Big Lebowski

“the best movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” read more

1 year, 11 months ago

“Collectible box set featuring all 22 James Bond films on Blu-ray disc in one complete offering for the first time.

Collection includes all 22 James Bond feature films from Dr. No to Quantum of Solace and more than 130 hours of bonus features including never-before-seen content from the Bon” read more

1 year, 11 months ago

“Condannato ai lavori forzati, Rambo riceve dal suo colonnello una proposta di libertà anticipata in cambio di una nuova missione impossibile: tornare in Vietnam e documentare con prove fotografiche la presenza di prigionieri americani dimenticati.” read more

1 year, 11 months ago
Mirko posted a review of Rambo

“Il film “RAMBO” e un film che si stacca dal solito filone dei film d’azione, per una volta infatti l’azione condivide il primo piano con un messaggio di denuncia. Questa pellicola infatti analizza in pieno,la società Americana, una società che non tollera gli sconfitti e che può ammettere” read more

1 year, 11 months ago

“Condannato per i fatti narrati nel primo film ai lavori forzati (è costretto a spaccare pietre in un penitenziario ), il reduce della guerra vietnamita John Rambo viene fatto scarcerare dal Colonnello Trautman a patto di ritornare nel nord del Vietnam per una nuova missione.

Trautman info” read more

1 year, 11 months ago

“Excellent picture and audio quality, a good set of extras. A valuable release despite the sad treatment from the Warner Bros not letting them release the complete version.” read more

1 year, 11 months ago

caricatures on a road trip to find gold

“its not really that this is an outright bad film, its just simply nothing new and not interesting enough to warrant watching. its an extended fairly competent student grade film.

of the 3 main characters only one is noticeably acceptable as an actor. the other two are more like a test ” read more

1 year, 11 months ago

like extended outtakes

“i like nara's work a lot. i just enjoy it. while questionable in the long history of art, its fun and for me thats enough. so when i saw this documentary i was surprised and i knew i wanted to see it. i had expectations then, which might cloud my judgement.

the truth is though that wh” read more

1 year, 11 months ago

turning around

“bad education is a good movie. it twists and turns in ways that i didn't really see coming although its not a shocking "oh we totally got you" sort've thing. it shows a story that has different people who went different ways, their interconnections, and then all the lies and deceit as they try to ” read more

2 years ago

compelling but incomplete

“paris the luminous years....or as it is really paris the post impressionists and beyond. i'm not sure why that is. maybe we have to take the subtitle more seriously "toward the making of the modern"

the box, as always, suggests so much. what is actually in the film is certainly more ” read more

2 years ago

better to look at pictures

“basic documentary from kultur. does what it needs to but offers very little beyond an introduction to bosch.

in fact right from the start they mention, more than twice, that there is little actually known about bosch. it begins to feel like filler from the start.

good images ” read more

2 years ago

“We starred in this fab Movie!

Runway Magazine

http://www.RUNWAYMAGAZINES.com http://www.facebook.com/RunwayMagazine

https://twitter.com/RUNWAYMAGAZINE

http://www.RUNWAYFASHIONTV.com

CEO. James Buccelli” read more

2 years ago

very human, not for everyone

“i think the box is somewhat misleading. the font, the quirky picture of a little boy with a camera, the colors, the review on the front that calls the movie among other things "...funny...". the back text refers to everything suddenly going wrong and accompanies that with a young smiling girl and ” read more

2 years ago
shawn tomorrow posted a review of Kids

blown ending makes this less than mindblowing

“as a photo instructor, i have an appreciation for what larry clark's photography did. his movies are another matter all together.

as a photographer he opened the festering wound hidden beneath the clothing of suburban america. showing him and his friends, in their nice neighborhoods, shoo” read more

2 years ago