Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

Jacob posted a review of Windy and whirly

“Cute must read. If you have little one's this would be a great added addition to your childs books collect.” read more

1 year, 3 months ago
markjazz posted a review of Old Man's War

8/10

“A very solid and quick read. Scalzi manages to create a Starship Troopers style storyline but with a new style that should appeal to sci-fi readers of this generation. He pictures for us a very vivid Universe filled with danger and yet manages to make the reader laugh here and there. A must for any ” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“Le mangiate di pesce e la passeggiata al molo. Gli strafalcioni di Catarella e le anagrafiche di Fazio. Le litigate con Livia e l’invadenza di Ingrid. La verandina, le carte da firmare e il muro di gomma a Montelusa. Al lettore seriale, fa piacere ritrovare tutto al suo posto, quando torna a visit” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“Labeling this as a novel is somewhat of stretch, as this book is more of a loosely-connected collection of short stories. There's a definite nautical theme running through many of the tales, recurring mentions of woodworms & Noah's Ark, ironic twists, and quite a few wry jabs at Judeo-Christian myth” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“Joseph Campbell was a veritable demigod of comparative mythology. He was brilliant at discovering connections in seemingly unrelated myths across the globe, illuminating the ways in which beliefs moved from culture to culture over thousands of years.

However: If you haven't read Campbell b” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“This paleoanthropology book has two things going for it: it boasts the latest information & discoveries (as 0f 2010) and it has stunning artistic reconstructions of hominids, Neanderthals, and Cro-Magnon humans. (courtesy of John Gurche).

The only noticeable issue is with the unusual amoun” read more

1 year, 3 months ago
XoXo posted a review of American Psycho

“The Most Disturbing Book Ever Written definitely a unique experience

life through the eyes of serial killer but is he a serial killer? can his narration be trusted ? when does his hallucinations end and reality begins ?

if you can stomach the gut wrenching,over the top murders a” read more

1 year, 4 months ago
Crooty posted a review of Believing the Lie

Imbroglios.

“This Inspector Lynley novel takes place in Cumbria, in the Lakes District, England.

Zed Benjamin is a young reporter at the tabloid the Source. Soon after his second visit to Cumbria after his boss's request to sex-up his story about reformed addict Nick Fairclough, Nick's cousin Ian Cress” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

An exciting novel full of charming people.

“The story of this epistolary novel takes place just after the end of WWII. Juliet Ashton is a London-based writer who used to have a humorous column in the Times under the name of Izzy Bickerstaff.

While she is at a loss as what to write next, she receives a letter from a Mr Dawsey Adams i” read more

1 year, 4 months ago
Desmond posted a review of Screw You, Interview!

“Job hunting is getting harder and harder throughout time, but this short yet interesting book comes to the rescue! This book tells secrets and strategies that most likely are unbeknownst by your competitors, so it can serve as your weapon in the job hunting field. The only potential problem from app” read more

1 year, 4 months ago
janeth posted a review of The Outsiders

“i love the outsiders and reading the book when i was reading the book i was i could not put the book down when nthe movied came out i wanted to watch it so bad with the drama the fighting” read more

1 year, 4 months ago
markjazz posted a review of Revelation Space

“This was my first taste in reading anything by Alastair Reynolds and one can tell off the bat that he is using his scientific background in the development of his "Universe". There's some fantastic wonders displayed in here and some great theories too. My main problem with this book however is that,” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

“Review "Profane on its surface, ethical at its core, and always fun . . ." Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review)

" . . . a talk show host who can hold his own as a literary storyteller . . . [An] impressive debut novel . . ." The Los Angeles Times

"Witty, furiously paced, and frequentl” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

“http://www.amazon.com/Between-Bridge-River-Craig-Ferguson/dp/0811853756/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1373685038&sr=8-3&keywords=craig+ferguson

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly Starred Review. A gallery of grotesques slogsthrough the sewersof the entertainment industry toward r” read more

1 year, 4 months ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of The Blood Star

“The Blood Star is the sequel to The Assyrian, and continues the adventures of the exiled hero Tiglath Ashur as he travels through Egypt, Phoenicia, Greece, and Italy. This is grand melodrama of the first order, full of vivid battle scenes, devious plots, attempted assassinations, and surprising twis” read more

1 year, 4 months ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of The Assyrian

“Epic historical melodrama set in Ancient Mesopotamia?

Check.

Bloody battle scenes that read like Sam Peckinpah meets Epic of Gilgamesh?

Check.

Lusty harlots? Conniving eunuchs? Nefarious kings? Tragic love? Creepy blind prophets spouting omens? A bold but obst” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

“Farmer scrisse questo libro in omaggio a Kurt Vonnegut, tanto che la prima edizione uscì a firma Kilgore Trout, l’immaginario scrittore di fantasceinza che compare qua e là nei romanzi dell’autore di ‘Mattatoio n. 5’. Vonnegut diede prima il suo assenso e poi si ritirò mentre il volume ve” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

This is how you do Iron Man

“When people think of Marvel superheroes, usually the first ones that spring to mind are Spider-Man, Wolverine (or any of the high-profile X-Men), Captain America, the Incredible Hulk or the Punisher. Iron Man didn't get the same kind of high-profile position until he finally got his own movie, but s” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

Re: Audiobook

“"Thinking without awareness is the main dilemma of human existence." Eckhart Tolle

I don't really use listal for books, but I figured that I'd use it for this audiobook, since my mom always has it on when I'm in the car. I also don't read as much as I used to, probably because I find most ” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

“This a gem for the library of any mythology-lover. Although it was written back in the early 60s, it still represents one of the most comprehensive overviews of world religions and symbolism I've ever come across. Mrs. Jobes covers just about everything: the Greek/Roman myths, Christian, Islam, Mith” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

“This is a very readable and visually appealing introduction to our evolutionary roots. Packed with illustrations, photographs, and discussions of contemporary theories (example: Did humans and neanderthals interbreed?), it reads fairly fast.” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

“I really adored this. A coffeetable book on paleoanthropology? It's like a dream come true. And it is gorgeous. David Brill's photographs of the skulls and other fossils have an almost 3-D feel, showing the diverse textures, colors, and patina of each specimen. Some books on early hominids have beau” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

Don't judge a book by it's cover!

“Wandl the Invader: 3/5

I Speak for Earth: 1/5

Don't judge a book by it's cover. "Wandl the Invader" kind of surprised me at how well it was written, even by 1930's standards. It's your typical Space-Aliens-invade-Earth plot but I enjoyed it and the Wandl creatures do not look lik” read more

1 year, 5 months ago

The end of an era

“Rating: 4 and a half stars

One of the more interesting things about the mangled timeline of Doctor Who is the "missing season" of Patrick Troughton adventures, which popular speculation says occurred between the TV serials The War Games and Spearhead From Space. This missing season, calle” read more

1 year, 5 months ago
catcarlo posted a review of Odore Di Chiuso

“Concesso un turno di riposo ai vecchietti del BarLume, Malvaldi si abbandona a questo divertissement giocando con due generi ben definiti, il romanzo di ambientazione storica e il giallo con un cadavere in una stanza chiusa. Nel castello di una famiglia nobiliare in decadenza, posto dalle parti di C” read more

1 year, 5 months ago
Anonymous posted a review of One Piece

“This book is totally for every age, gender, species, etc. Once you start to read it you WILL NOT be able to put it down, it is that interesting and fun. As you read it you truly feel like you can accomplish anything and that it's okay to follow your dreams. I recommend this book to anyone and everyo” read more

1 year, 5 months ago

A moreish taste after all.

“A Dance with Dragons if the fifth book in The Song of Ice and Fire series (after A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Crows and a Feast for Crows and before, The Winds of Winter (forthcoming) and A Dream of Spring (forthcoming)).

The beginning of this volume is chronologically p” read more

1 year, 5 months ago

Further plots and schemes to seize power.

“A Feast for Crows is the fourth book in The Song of Ice and Fire series (after A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings and A Storm of Crows and before A Dance with Dragons, The Winds of Winter (forthcoming) and A Dream of Spring (forthcoming)).

This volume is chronologically parallel to A Danc” read more

1 year, 5 months ago

(...and doesn't) Hecatomb!

“Blood and Gold is the second half of A Storm of Sword, the third book in the Song of Ice and Fire series (after A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings and Steel and Snow - the first part of A Storm of Swords, and before A Feast for Crows, A Dance with Dragons, The Winds of Winter (forthcoming) and A Dr” read more

1 year, 5 months ago

“Good German book for the identification of Grassland grasses. Mostly directed towards farmers, but also useful for other people, e.g. in ecology, wildlife management or conservation biology. Contains descriptions for grasses in florescence and without flowering, which is a big plus. On the other han” read more

1 year, 5 months ago