Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

“This book should be where the Lord Meren series takes off, because this is where he starts getting very close to finding out who killed Nefertiti. The murder mystery of Nefertiti has been an underlying plot weaving through all the books, percolating in the background during Meren's various other inv” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of Eater of Souls

“Ancient Egyptian sleuth Meren finds himself on the trail of an unknown killer in the gripping 4th book of the Lord Meren mysteries. To make matters creepier, the killer seems to resemble a particularly nasty monster from Egyptian myth. A solid addition to the series.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“In this installment, Lord Meren is involved in a top secret mission on behalf of Pharaoh Tutankhamen, but his plans are hampered by family drama of the worst kind. Now he's stuck with having to solve a murder among his own kin, no easy task. Yet another solid outing for the Lord Meren series.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“Book #2 in the Lord Meren mystery series is yet another capably executed whodunnit. It moves quickly and confidently through twists and turns in the pursuit for certain murderous individuals, and you're never entirely sure where those turns will take our world-weary hero.

As usual the comp” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“Enjoyable and well-executed gritty detective tale from the Egypt of Pharaoh Tutankhamen's reign. Somebody finds a freshly-murdered stiff in the undertaker's sacred workshop and it's up to Lord Meren,Pharaoh's chief investigator to figure out who committed such a downright sacrilegious act. He's aide” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“The first two books in Daniel Boorstin's Knowledge Trilogy, The Discoverers (about science) and The Creators (about art), are both outstanding examples of comprehensive history done well. They're weighty books, but the fascinating information and engaging writing do much to offset their intimidating” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“A very ambitious yet fascinating exploration of art history. Boorstin doesn't stop at the visual arts (painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, etc); he also covers literature, music, and dance. Although I wished for illustrations in a few places where specific artworks were discussed, the sh” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of The Discoverers

“This is an engaging and beautifully well-written history of science. Basically, imagine some of the most fascinating essays and magazine articles on science you've ever read, stick 'em in a 700 page book, and you have The Discoverers.

For those who actually want details on just how much th” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“Excellent information, not crazy about the delivery.

Really not crazy about it.

I remember liking the Masks of God series a lot more when I was a teenager, but on a recent 2nd run-through I found it somewhat less satisfying. It made me feel unclean for liking Campbell in the firs” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“There's a lot going on in this book: secret missions, conspiracies, ancient politics & diplomacy, serial killers, and betrayals both expected and unexpected. An engaging mix of historical action-adventure and mystery noir, and a strong finish for the series.

PS: I especially enjoyed the gl” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“Very fascinating and disturbing disorder. Why would anyone would make a child sick on purpose? Very hard to read sometime.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“Nick Drake's first mystery novel, Nefertiti, was intriguingly atmospheric but failed to provide anything more than a tottering, malnourished waif of a mystery plot. This sequel is more assured,yet it still has Drake's poetic touches to make it unique. Detective Rahotep's world-weary, cynical leaning” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“An Egyptian detective is ordered by Pharaoh Akhenaten to locate his missing queen, Nefertiti. Evil machinations are afoot of course, but the actual mystery is fairly weak. However, this book does succeed in creating a very unique sense of atmosphere. Interesting start to the series.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“I found this enjoyable enough, though it wasn't a blockbuster historical novel by any means. Nefertari, niece of Nefertiti, has to win her way into the good graces of the Egyptian people and defend herself against the wily machinations of an evil high priest. (He's even got an evil eye.) Plus there'” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“I read the previous book, The Dragonbone Chair years ago, so I was glad to read the recap before reading on. There were times when the plot jumped around and I had trouble keeping track, but overall I liked this book and I look forward to reading the final book, To the Green Tower.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“I loved this book about family, history and magic. Each character has a rich story to tell and Hoffman gives them the space to tell it.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“Last year I read North by Roger Hubank, a fictional account of the Greely expedition. Afterwards, I wanted to read an historical account of the Greeley expedition. In this book, I learned more about problems with the first two relief attempts. I liked Guttridge's detailed end notes describing the so” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
krin5292 posted a review of Criminal Elements

“I like this anthology of mysteries. My favorites include Sue Grafton's "She Didn't Come Home," and Peter Lovesey's "A Man With a Fortune."

read more

1 year, 7 months ago
krin5292 posted a review of The Testament of Mary

“This was a thought provoking book, depicting the Gospel story from a different point of view. I liked how throughout Mary talks about being a mother first and last.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“This was an interesting cyberpunk novel. I liked the characters Berry and Chevette and how they worked together to figure out the story behind the special glasses. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, Idoru.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
krin5292 posted a review of Skull Session

“I liked this thriller about the "monster" inside and what happens when it's released without control. I liked Paul's interactions with Lia, his son Mark, and his aunt Vivian.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
krin5292 posted a review of The Museum of Horrors

“This was a good collection of horror tales. Ones I liked included "Piano Bar Blues" by Melanie Tem and "Hammerhead"by Richard Laymon.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“I liked this first book in the "Capital Crimes Series". I enjoyed meeting the characters as well as trying to figure out who killed Blaine. I look forward to reading the next book, Murder on Capitol Hill.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago



Overall I liked this fantasy epic featuring the innocent Tristan trying to understand his purpose in the world. Sometimes, however, I wish there was a list of characters and their connections as many of the names were similar and I found it hard to keep track of who was who. I look forwar” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“I enjoyed this books about musicians in a traveling restaurant. I liked the character interactions, especially between Billy and Libby.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of Nefertiti: A Novel

“Mutnodjmet, the quiet and unambitious younger sister of Nefertiti, gets roughly catapulted into the devious world of Egyptian courtly life when Nefertiti becomes the Queen Consort of the radical pharaoh Akhenaten. Solid historical outing, with plenty of melodrama and richly imagined scenes of Ancien” read more

1 year, 8 months ago

“Fantastic, in-depth overviews of famous paintings by our favorite lisping nun. I also really like the illustrations and lay-out. The publisher, Dorling-Kindersley, can usually be relied upon to produce quality work, especially when it has a strong visual element. Almost any of their art-related book” read more

1 year, 8 months ago

“A truly successful epic novel*, one that covers very long periods of time, is a tricky undertaking. You have to provide enough information to feed the appetites of history buffs, but you also have to balance that with a convincing human story. Rutherfurd doesn't quite achieve that balance.

read more

1 year, 8 months ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of Centennial

“A novel about Colorado and a large book in every sense of the word, Centennial is one of Michener's most successful outings. It boasts the humongous timeline we've come to expect from him, but the fiction itself rests on a solid foundation of fascinating historical facts. Exposition abounds, of cour” read more

1 year, 8 months ago

7/10

“I didn't like this book as much as the first one, which I gave a 5/5. I guess it's because the first one opened a whole new world for me and I feel this one just took longer to get anywhere. You know there's a final battle that's going to happen but you have to read through 400+ pages of people talk” read more

1 year, 8 months ago