Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

“LOVED this book. Picked it up at a second hand book shop in Hamsted, which feels like years ago. It exceeded my expectations and my mum (whose read A LOT of books in her time and her opinion to me and many friends means a lot) loved it too! I also enjoy googling a book after reading and at the time ” read more

1 year, 2 months ago

“LOVED this book. Picked it up at a second hand book shop in Hamsted, which feels like years ago. It exceeded my expectations and my mum (whose read A LOT of books in her time and her opinion to me and many friends means a lot) loved it too! I also enjoy googling a book after reading and at the time ” read more

1 year, 2 months ago

One of the finest Carols you'll ever hear

“Charles Dickens' most popular tale has seen so many incarnations on big and small screens, stage, radio and any other media platform you can think of that it's hard to imagine any new version bringing much to it but dreary over-reverence or wild departures. Amazingly, this truly superb reading by To” read more

1 year, 2 months ago

“This was a hard one for me to rate. I feel like giving it three stars isn't quite accurate because people percieve 3 stars as average but for me it means exactly what it says. I liked it. I didn't really like it, but it was better than okay. Maybe 3.25 stars.

Anyway, overall the book w” read more

1 year, 2 months ago
catcarlo posted a review of Vizio di forma

“A volte non sembra neanche un libro di Pynchon, anche se è vero che possiamo trovarci: personaggi a bizzeffe con la tendenza a sparire per pagine su pagine e poi ritornare a sorpresa; le droghe che scorrono a fiumi, a parte eroina e cocaina un po’ in ombra le altre – che siano naturali o sintet” read more

1 year, 2 months ago
Rude Boy posted a review of Restaurant Man

“How does a nice Italian boy from Queens turn his passion for food and wine into an empire?

In his winning memoir, Restaurant Man, Joe Bastianich charts his culinary journey from working in his parents’ red-sauce joint to becoming one of the country’s most successful restaurateurs. Joe ” read more

1 year, 2 months ago
The O.P. posted a review of Il museo degli errori

Italian Language, A Guide to Mistakes

“Aldo Gabrielli was an Italian linguist, quite an authority in his field of studies. His book "Il museo degli errori" (literally: "The Museum of Errors", a wordplay from "orrori", horrors, to "errori", errors) is a guide to avoiding usual mistakes in spelling, usage, style, pronunciation... and an in” read more

1 year, 2 months ago

“Even though this compilation has some good short stories (like "Password Incorrect", the one that gives name to the book), the overall quality is pretty low. If you're a geek, I would recommend starting to read it and throw it away as soon as you feel the stories are getting dumber.” read more

1 year, 2 months ago

“As far as sequels go, this was a pretty good one. Less smutty than the first which I appreciated, but in a way less fresh. Maybe it's because I read them so close together. Anyway, I'm glad they finally shed just a little light on the octopus thing and the mystery was just as interesting and compell” read more

1 year, 2 months ago

“preview available online:

http://free.yudu.com/item/details/683711/Rue-Morgue-Magazine---s-200-Alternative-Horror-Films-You-Need-to-See

read more

1 year, 2 months ago

“City of Bones may sound like your average young adult fantasy, and in a way it is but it actually came out right before the big ya boom that we are seeing right now. Although sometimes overshadowed by controversy and talk of love triangles, City of Bones actually reads like a new and fresh love sto” read more

1 year, 2 months ago

“Dreamless picks up pretty much where Starcrossed left off. Helen is on her mission and Lucas is keeping his distance the best he can. Enter, the hottie. You knew going into it that there was going to be a love triangle but I actually think it was handled well. I like Orion even more than I like Luca” read more

1 year, 2 months ago

“»1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die« is probably my all-time favourite piece of writing. Got it for christmas a couple of years ago and has been mildly obsessed since...

So will I ever get to see all the movies? Most likely not, but it will be interesting to try!

PS. This ” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“Sometimes a short story is meant to connect two stories, sometimes it's just a taste of what will come in a full length novel to follow but this one is a short story in the truest sense of the word. It tell's a complete story with no promise of more to come. If there were a full length would I read ” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“This one is a short one so the review will be too. It was exactly what a short story should be. A hint, a taste of what the full length will be like. I'm ready for the book now.” read more

1 year, 3 months ago
tersanay posted a review of Hana

“This short story companion to Delirium is told from the point of view of Hana, Lena's best friend. It takes place during the events of Delirium and offers us a second perspective. It was in some ways better than Delirium. It was shorter for one, and that meant the author couldn't drone on for multip” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“This isn't going to be a long review, I'll tell you why, because I'm not even sure why I read it in the first place, even in some parts I hated it. But it's very addictive I must say. It's one of them books that you can only read if your in the right state of mind, I don't know, just...One weird boo” read more

1 year, 3 months ago
Monty posted a review of Telegraph Avenue: A Novel

“While i am a fan of what Michael Chabon does - big novels, ambitious stories with a distinct atmosphere in each one, characters with a certain mystique - for some reason i have trouble reading his stuff. I'm sure it's a problem on my part - i just don't get his cadence or something. Not sure. That” read more

1 year, 3 months ago
Monty posted a review of This Is How You Lose Her

“Supposedly a collection of short stories, but i confess i didn't realize that and read it as though it were a cryptic novel with lots of holes. Despite my error, the book/stories was/were very satisfying, and there is a thread through many of the stories with the author's narrator Yunior. The colloq” read more

1 year, 3 months ago
tersanay posted a review of Ten Tiny Breaths

““What the hell do I have to do to get your attention? Do I need to get up there?” I throw an arm toward the stage. His eyes swell for just a second, in shock. He reaches forward to hold my hands, but he catches himself in time and instead folds them across his chest. “Believe me, you have my f” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“This short story about Leslie and Niall and Irial was a lovely follow up to Ink Exchange. I've only read the first three books of that series so without knowing what's going to happen in them, it was nice to see where Leslie's story takes her. It was dark and real and as always, Leslie is a beautifu” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“I'm having trouble knowing the exact rating.

It's hard to say whether I liked this book or not because reading it was difficult. It was hard to force myself to finish it and it felt really (I mean REALLY) predictable to me, but at the same time, I'm interested in the rest of them.

read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“4.25 stars. I really liked this book. It was witty and interesting and new in a way things never really seem new anymore.

It was almost a 5 star book to be honest. Only 2 things brought it down for me. One was the slightly repetitive nature of some parts of the book. For example, everytime” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“Maybe this book gets better. Maybe I just didn't give it a good enough chance. But I got 30% in and still found it laughably stupid so it's time to move on. I'm not sure if the author meant it to be like a spoof of the vampire genre but that's how it read to me and I don't do that kind of thing.” read more

1 year, 3 months ago
tersanay posted a review of Hereafter

““Hours can pass like years when you wait impatiently for something, especially something you crave and dread at the same time.”

Hereafter is like no ghost story I've ever read before. It was sad and hopeful, scary and joyous and both a tragedy and a love story. I spent the whole book n” read more

1 year, 3 months ago
tersanay posted a review of Heist Society

““It is an occupational hazard that anyone who has spent her life learning how to lie eventually becomes bad at telling the truth.”

“But the downside of being con artist is that it very hard to con. Even if the lies you tell are to yourself.”

Let me start off by saying t” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“Gironzolando per la rete, si scopre che, per molti statunitensi, questo racconto ha seguito il triste destino delle lettura obbligatoria, sopportata quando non odiata a scuola e bisognosa di un recupero nell’età adulta. E’ un vero peccato perché la breve storia che narra l’evoluzione di Dext” read more

1 year, 3 months ago
Monty posted a review of The Yellow Birds: A Novel

“Deserving of all the accolades, a beautifully written novel about war and how it affects the young people stuck fighting it. Sure to stand the test of time, I think much of this book rises to the level of poetry. And yet, it is crafted so well you can breeze through like a paperback novel. This is d” read more

1 year, 3 months ago
Monty posted a review of The Vessel

“I am a fan of futuristic fiction, and (my friend, full disclosure) Rita weaves a gripping plot through an very satisfying, and frighteningly realistic future world. Not quite distopian, perhaps because it is very close to our current trends, and definitely not utopian, it's a world that we probably ” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“Okay, I know what you're all thinking: "Another Superman origin story? We already have thousands of those!" Okay, you're right on that one, but Superman is a very famous character with a very famous origin. People get interested in a comic book character because of how they become in what they are r” read more

1 year, 3 months ago