Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

janeth posted a review of The Outsiders

“i love the outsiders and reading the book when i was reading the book i was i could not put the book down when nthe movied came out i wanted to watch it so bad with the drama the fighting” read more

1 year, 6 months ago
markjazz posted a review of Revelation Space

“This was my first taste in reading anything by Alastair Reynolds and one can tell off the bat that he is using his scientific background in the development of his "Universe". There's some fantastic wonders displayed in here and some great theories too. My main problem with this book however is that,” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

“Review "Profane on its surface, ethical at its core, and always fun . . ." Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review)

" . . . a talk show host who can hold his own as a literary storyteller . . . [An] impressive debut novel . . ." The Los Angeles Times

"Witty, furiously paced, and frequentl” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

“http://www.amazon.com/Between-Bridge-River-Craig-Ferguson/dp/0811853756/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1373685038&sr=8-3&keywords=craig+ferguson

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly Starred Review. A gallery of grotesques slogsthrough the sewersof the entertainment industry toward r” read more

1 year, 6 months ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of The Blood Star

“The Blood Star is the sequel to The Assyrian, and continues the adventures of the exiled hero Tiglath Ashur as he travels through Egypt, Phoenicia, Greece, and Italy. This is grand melodrama of the first order, full of vivid battle scenes, devious plots, attempted assassinations, and surprising twis” read more

1 year, 6 months ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of The Assyrian

“Epic historical melodrama set in Ancient Mesopotamia?

Check.

Bloody battle scenes that read like Sam Peckinpah meets Epic of Gilgamesh?

Check.

Lusty harlots? Conniving eunuchs? Nefarious kings? Tragic love? Creepy blind prophets spouting omens? A bold but obst” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

This is how you do Iron Man

“When people think of Marvel superheroes, usually the first ones that spring to mind are Spider-Man, Wolverine (or any of the high-profile X-Men), Captain America, the Incredible Hulk or the Punisher. Iron Man didn't get the same kind of high-profile position until he finally got his own movie, but s” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

Re: Audiobook

“"Thinking without awareness is the main dilemma of human existence." Eckhart Tolle

I don't really use listal for books, but I figured that I'd use it for this audiobook, since my mom always has it on when I'm in the car. I also don't read as much as I used to, probably because I find most ” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

“This a gem for the library of any mythology-lover. Although it was written back in the early 60s, it still represents one of the most comprehensive overviews of world religions and symbolism I've ever come across. Mrs. Jobes covers just about everything: the Greek/Roman myths, Christian, Islam, Mith” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“This is a very readable and visually appealing introduction to our evolutionary roots. Packed with illustrations, photographs, and discussions of contemporary theories (example: Did humans and neanderthals interbreed?), it reads fairly fast.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“I really adored this. A coffeetable book on paleoanthropology? It's like a dream come true. And it is gorgeous. David Brill's photographs of the skulls and other fossils have an almost 3-D feel, showing the diverse textures, colors, and patina of each specimen. Some books on early hominids have beau” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

Don't judge a book by it's cover!

“Wandl the Invader: 3/5

I Speak for Earth: 1/5

Don't judge a book by it's cover. "Wandl the Invader" kind of surprised me at how well it was written, even by 1930's standards. It's your typical Space-Aliens-invade-Earth plot but I enjoyed it and the Wandl creatures do not look lik” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

The end of an era

“Rating: 4 and a half stars

One of the more interesting things about the mangled timeline of Doctor Who is the "missing season" of Patrick Troughton adventures, which popular speculation says occurred between the TV serials The War Games and Spearhead From Space. This missing season, calle” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
Anonymous posted a review of One Piece

“This book is totally for every age, gender, species, etc. Once you start to read it you WILL NOT be able to put it down, it is that interesting and fun. As you read it you truly feel like you can accomplish anything and that it's okay to follow your dreams. I recommend this book to anyone and everyo” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

A moreish taste after all.

“A Dance with Dragons if the fifth book in The Song of Ice and Fire series (after A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Crows and a Feast for Crows and before, The Winds of Winter (forthcoming) and A Dream of Spring (forthcoming)).

The beginning of this volume is chronologically p” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

Further plots and schemes to seize power.

“A Feast for Crows is the fourth book in The Song of Ice and Fire series (after A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings and A Storm of Crows and before A Dance with Dragons, The Winds of Winter (forthcoming) and A Dream of Spring (forthcoming)).

This volume is chronologically parallel to A Danc” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

(...and doesn't) Hecatomb!

“Blood and Gold is the second half of A Storm of Sword, the third book in the Song of Ice and Fire series (after A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings and Steel and Snow - the first part of A Storm of Swords, and before A Feast for Crows, A Dance with Dragons, The Winds of Winter (forthcoming) and A Dr” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“Good German book for the identification of Grassland grasses. Mostly directed towards farmers, but also useful for other people, e.g. in ecology, wildlife management or conservation biology. Contains descriptions for grasses in florescence and without flowering, which is a big plus. On the other han” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“I am a big fan of Doc Savage but I have never been able to read all of this book. It's terrible! After at least three tries to read it I finally gave up and decided it was unreadable. The only thing this book has going for it is the usual fantastic cover by James Bama. This wasn't written by Lester ” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“I like the subject matter in this novel because I have worked in the fraud field before so I understand it a lot and you can learn a few things from this book. However, I think there was too much talking about the subject matter and not enough actual murders, which is why we all read these books to ” read more

1 year, 8 months ago

“My first Jeffery Deaver novel and I was pleased overall. There were a couple good plot twists and even though I guessed the ending it was still done well. I like the criminal profiling info that Deaver puts in a few times in the book too. It helps you follow along more with the killers methods and m” read more

1 year, 8 months ago

“If you like sci-fi, detective stories, you'll enjoy this read. It captures the period well with its references to the technologies of the time. Definitely fun to read.” read more

1 year, 9 months ago

“If you get a chance, grab a copy. Hope you enjoy my book. It's fun, provocative, and somewhat experimental what I've done with my main characters.” read more

1 year, 9 months ago

“I found her life fascinating! I didn't know much about her before I read the book, so I kept my mind open with what I was about to find out about her. Her life was filled with so much drama and tragedy, but she always maintained her dignity throughout it, which is admirable. She was a child star, a” read more

1 year, 9 months ago

“Roberto Saviano seven years later: Exit Zero Zero Zero Zero Zero ZeroRecensione, the new dense volume of Roberto Saviano on the vicissitudes of the global drug trade: the problems of the revival style of Gomorrah.

Zero Zero Zero is the new work by Roberto Saviano: a mixture of fierce globa” read more

1 year, 9 months ago

“This is one of those things best experienced twice, once as a kid and then again as an adult or teenager. There are things you wont get the first time that only a more mature person would get, and it only gets better as time progresses. Brilliant in every use of the word (except as a shiny object, t” read more

1 year, 9 months ago

“I'm not being hyperbolic at all when I say that this is definitely, without question, the best thing that has been created during my lifetime. This book taught me how to read, literally.” read more

1 year, 9 months ago



... จนกว่า พระผู้เป็นเจ้าจะให้พี่น้องของเจ้าได้พักผ่อน เหมือนดั่งที่ได้ประทานแก่เจ้าแล้ว จนกว่าทั้งหม” read more

1 year, 9 months ago

“เรื่องของชนเผ่าอินเดียนแดง การแย่งชิงทรัพยากร ความรู้สึกของผู้ถูกขับไล่ สังหาร” read more

1 year, 9 months ago

“"Greed has poisoned men's souls. Surface Dwellers have destroyed what was once beautiful and turned it into a ghostly illusion of what they call peace. But down here, we have real peace. There will be no fear, or sickness, hunger, hate, or greed. We have created our Utopia. And it is magnificent” read more

1 year, 10 months ago