Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

“This a gem for the library of any mythology-lover. Although it was written back in the early 60s, it still represents one of the most comprehensive overviews of world religions and symbolism I've ever come across. Mrs. Jobes covers just about everything: the Greek/Roman myths, Christian, Islam, Mith” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“This is a very readable and visually appealing introduction to our evolutionary roots. Packed with illustrations, photographs, and discussions of contemporary theories (example: Did humans and neanderthals interbreed?), it reads fairly fast.” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

“I really adored this. A coffeetable book on paleoanthropology? It's like a dream come true. And it is gorgeous. David Brill's photographs of the skulls and other fossils have an almost 3-D feel, showing the diverse textures, colors, and patina of each specimen. Some books on early hominids have beau” read more

1 year, 3 months ago

Don't judge a book by it's cover!

“Wandl the Invader: 3/5

I Speak for Earth: 1/5

Don't judge a book by it's cover. "Wandl the Invader" kind of surprised me at how well it was written, even by 1930's standards. It's your typical Space-Aliens-invade-Earth plot but I enjoyed it and the Wandl creatures do not look lik” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

The end of an era

“Rating: 4 and a half stars

One of the more interesting things about the mangled timeline of Doctor Who is the "missing season" of Patrick Troughton adventures, which popular speculation says occurred between the TV serials The War Games and Spearhead From Space. This missing season, calle” read more

1 year, 4 months ago
catcarlo posted a review of Odore Di Chiuso

“Concesso un turno di riposo ai vecchietti del BarLume, Malvaldi si abbandona a questo divertissement giocando con due generi ben definiti, il romanzo di ambientazione storica e il giallo con un cadavere in una stanza chiusa. Nel castello di una famiglia nobiliare in decadenza, posto dalle parti di C” read more

1 year, 4 months ago
Anonymous posted a review of One Piece

“This book is totally for every age, gender, species, etc. Once you start to read it you WILL NOT be able to put it down, it is that interesting and fun. As you read it you truly feel like you can accomplish anything and that it's okay to follow your dreams. I recommend this book to anyone and everyo” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

A moreish taste after all.

“A Dance with Dragons if the fifth book in The Song of Ice and Fire series (after A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Crows and a Feast for Crows and before, The Winds of Winter (forthcoming) and A Dream of Spring (forthcoming)).

The beginning of this volume is chronologically p” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

Further plots and schemes to seize power.

“A Feast for Crows is the fourth book in The Song of Ice and Fire series (after A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings and A Storm of Crows and before A Dance with Dragons, The Winds of Winter (forthcoming) and A Dream of Spring (forthcoming)).

This volume is chronologically parallel to A Danc” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

(...and doesn't) Hecatomb!

“Blood and Gold is the second half of A Storm of Sword, the third book in the Song of Ice and Fire series (after A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings and Steel and Snow - the first part of A Storm of Swords, and before A Feast for Crows, A Dance with Dragons, The Winds of Winter (forthcoming) and A Dr” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

“Good German book for the identification of Grassland grasses. Mostly directed towards farmers, but also useful for other people, e.g. in ecology, wildlife management or conservation biology. Contains descriptions for grasses in florescence and without flowering, which is a big plus. On the other han” read more

1 year, 4 months ago
catcarlo posted a review of Il senso di una fine

“‘Proprio non ci arrivi’ continua a ripetere e a scrivere Veronica a Tony nella seconda parte del libro. Beh, non ha tutti i torti il protagonista maschile e voce narrante del romanzo. E’ vero, è un uomo qualsiasi (non ‘qualunque’), un vero ‘common man’ che, come la maggior parte degli” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

“I am a big fan of Doc Savage but I have never been able to read all of this book. It's terrible! After at least three tries to read it I finally gave up and decided it was unreadable. The only thing this book has going for it is the usual fantastic cover by James Bama. This wasn't written by Lester ” read more

1 year, 4 months ago
catcarlo posted a review of Le notti bianche

“Un largo maestoso che accompagna una lunga sequenza che percorre in soggettiva le strade di Pietroburgo ravvivate dal fermento di una primavera che sta sbocciando. Poi un motivo patetico mentre l’immagine stringe su una panchina lungo il fiume, dove due personaggi, che paiono lontani dal resto di ” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

“I like the subject matter in this novel because I have worked in the fraud field before so I understand it a lot and you can learn a few things from this book. However, I think there was too much talking about the subject matter and not enough actual murders, which is why we all read these books to ” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

“Qualche volta la somma non fa il totale. Il messicano (nato in Spagna) Taibo omaggia a un secolo dalla scomparsa Salgari, una delle passioni della sua infanzia poi mantenutasi inalterata anche nell’età adulta, scrivendo una sorta di ‘Vent’anni dopo’ dedicato al ciclo più famoso dello scrit” read more

1 year, 4 months ago

“My first Jeffery Deaver novel and I was pleased overall. There were a couple good plot twists and even though I guessed the ending it was still done well. I like the criminal profiling info that Deaver puts in a few times in the book too. It helps you follow along more with the killers methods and m” read more

1 year, 5 months ago
catcarlo posted a review of Da Monticelli Al Don

“Dopo averne letti un buon numero, faccio fatica ad avvicinarmi ai libri che trattano della sventurata spedizione italiana contro l’URSS perchè mi mette ansia ritrovarmi di fronte la presunzione e la criminale incoscienza di chi mandò a soffrire e morire migliaia e migliaia di innocenti. Non pote” read more

1 year, 5 months ago
catcarlo posted a review of Don Camillo

“Sebbene all’esatto estremo opposto per intonazione e coloritura ideologica, questo libro ha risvegliato nel sottoscritto molte delle sensazioni evocate della prima parte di ‘900’. Perché anch’io vivo in un paese rivierasco che un alto argine separa dal Po, barriera che consente al fiume un ” read more

1 year, 5 months ago
catcarlo posted a review of La vedova Couderc

“Se la grande borghesia è marcia, come la famiglia d’origine del protagonista maschile, la piccola è un nido di vipere che farebbero qualsiasi cosa per riuscuire a mettere le mani sulla ‘roba’. E’ questo un tema costante nei romanzi di Simenon in cui non compare Maigret (ma anche quando in ” read more

1 year, 5 months ago

“If you like sci-fi, detective stories, you'll enjoy this read. It captures the period well with its references to the technologies of the time. Definitely fun to read.” read more

1 year, 5 months ago

“If you get a chance, grab a copy. Hope you enjoy my book. It's fun, provocative, and somewhat experimental what I've done with my main characters.” read more

1 year, 5 months ago
catcarlo posted a review of Metello

“Se molte furono le polemiche che accolsero questo libro alla sua uscita, ora, che sono passati sessant’anni, ci si può abbandonare al racconto e ai personaggi evitando di accapigliarsi sulla sovrastruttura ideologica. Che c’è, innegabile, perché tra i motori del volume ci sono la lotta dei mu” read more

1 year, 6 months ago
catcarlo posted a review of Metello

“Se molte furono le polemiche che accolsero questo libro alla sua uscita, ora, che sono passati sessant’anni, ci si può abbandonare al racconto e ai personaggi evitando di accapigliarsi sulla sovrastruttura ideologica. Che c’è, innegabile, perché tra i motori del volume ci sono la lotta dei mu” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

“I found her life fascinating! I didn't know much about her before I read the book, so I kept my mind open with what I was about to find out about her. Her life was filled with so much drama and tragedy, but she always maintained her dignity throughout it, which is admirable. She was a child star, a” read more

1 year, 6 months ago
catcarlo posted a review of L'Ussaro Sul Tetto

“Angelo Pardi è un miracolato. A cavallo o a piedi, alla luce del sole o sfuggendo le insidie, attraversa cinque mesi e quasi cinquecento pagine di colera accusando al più un principio di mal di pancia (sconfitto con due bottiglie di borgogna): eppure non si tira indietro, anzi si danna a soccorrer” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

“Roberto Saviano seven years later: Exit Zero Zero Zero Zero Zero ZeroRecensione, the new dense volume of Roberto Saviano on the vicissitudes of the global drug trade: the problems of the revival style of Gomorrah.

Zero Zero Zero is the new work by Roberto Saviano: a mixture of fierce globa” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

“This is one of those things best experienced twice, once as a kid and then again as an adult or teenager. There are things you wont get the first time that only a more mature person would get, and it only gets better as time progresses. Brilliant in every use of the word (except as a shiny object, t” read more

1 year, 6 months ago

“I'm not being hyperbolic at all when I say that this is definitely, without question, the best thing that has been created during my lifetime. This book taught me how to read, literally.” read more

1 year, 6 months ago



... จนกว่า พระผู้เป็นเจ้าจะให้พี่น้องของเจ้าได้พักผ่อน เหมือนดั่งที่ได้ประทานแก่เจ้าแล้ว จนกว่าทั้งหม” read more

1 year, 6 months ago