Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

7/10

“I didn't like this book as much as the first one, which I gave a 5/5. I guess it's because the first one opened a whole new world for me and I feel this one just took longer to get anywhere. You know there's a final battle that's going to happen but you have to read through 400+ pages of people talk” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of Fire from Heaven

“Ahem...

So this book starts with Alexander as a young boy, in bed, playing with his pet snake. (Nudge, nudge, wink, wink.) Then his snake slithers away. He trundles off on his little toddler feet to search for it and wanders into his mother's room. (He really loves his mother. This is VERY” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“This is the first book in the writer's Harry Bosch detective series. These are great "page turner" books in my opinion. Even though it is not necessary, I would recommend starting from the beginning of the series. It's interesting to see how the lead character develops though the stories.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of The Source

“Artifacts found at an archaeological site in Israel provide the foundations for a series of fictional snapshots into the region's history. The time-span covered is ambitious in the usual Michener fashion, from Neolithic times up into the 1960s. The focus is mostly on the Jewish peoples, but some tim” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“These are the first three books in the Harry Bosch detective series. These are great "page turner" books in my opinion. Even though it is not necessary, I would recommend starting from the beginning of the series. It's interesting to see how the lead character develops though the stories.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of Evolution

“99.9% of all species that have ever existed are now extinct. What if anything makes us special? And what does the future hold for us a species?

This novel tackles those questions in an ambitious 600+ collection of chronological vignettes. These cover the proto-simian creature Purgatorius, ” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“It seems like each successive book in the Earth's Children series is more ponderous and contains less meaningful action than the one before. This particular volume is basically a Stone Age travelogue. If you're interested in ornately detailed descriptions of Ice Age scenery, flora, fauna, weather co” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“In the third book of the Earth's Children series, Ayla and Jondalar have left Ayla's remote valley home and have entered the territory of the Mamutoi People. This is Ayla's first real encounter with a tribe of her own Cro-Magnon race and she makes quite a first impression, with her tame horses and m” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“After being rather roughly ejected from her adoptive Clan of neanderthals, Auel's Cro-Magnon heroine Ayla has to survive on her own in a remote valley. Meanwhile, a tall blue-eyed stranger is traveling cross-country with his brother, on a collision course with unexpected tragedy and romance.
read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“I actually read this book for the first time in 3rd grade. It was my second adult novel (after Watership Down) and I voraciously gobbled up every abundant detail of the Cro-Magnon Ayla's adventures with her adoptive Neanderthal clan.

I've given The Clan of the Cave Bear a re-read after all” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“This is one of Shakespeare's problem plays, meaning it doesn't fit neatly into the category of tragedy or comedy, but occupies its own hybrid niche. "Black comedy" or "scathing satire" would probably be a fairly apt description for this outing. It's actually a lot of fun to read, especially if you l” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“Fantasy is not my first choice when it comes to novels but I do dabble in it once and a while. I think after reading this book though I'm going to be stuck as a fan of fantasy for a long while. I've read the first books from "Lord of the Rings", "Game of Thrones", and "The Wheel of Time" series and ” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
Supernaut posted a review of The Broker

“I absolutely hated this book. I finished it but it was tedious and grueling to do so. Obviously the writer took a trip to Italy and decided to incorporate it into some unbelievable tale. Two different government factions want this lead character dead and yet can't seem to kill him. He is taken to I” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“Fascinating books. :)Very interesting to know about his childhood and his life before he was wrong accused.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
markjazz posted a review of The Eternity Artifact

7/10

“Almost a great novel. I felt this book had a great beginning and middle but once the Artifact is found I was kind of getting disappointed as to what it was and what it stood for. I liked the different character view points, the vividness of the Planet as well, and it had just the right amount of rel” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
Jacob posted a review of Windy and whirly

“Cute must read. If you have little one's this would be a great added addition to your childs books collect.” read more

1 year, 7 months ago
markjazz posted a review of Old Man's War

8/10

“A very solid and quick read. Scalzi manages to create a Starship Troopers style storyline but with a new style that should appeal to sci-fi readers of this generation. He pictures for us a very vivid Universe filled with danger and yet manages to make the reader laugh here and there. A must for any ” read more

1 year, 7 months ago

“Labeling this as a novel is somewhat of stretch, as this book is more of a loosely-connected collection of short stories. There's a definite nautical theme running through many of the tales, recurring mentions of woodworms & Noah's Ark, ironic twists, and quite a few wry jabs at Judeo-Christian myth” read more

1 year, 8 months ago

“Joseph Campbell was a veritable demigod of comparative mythology. He was brilliant at discovering connections in seemingly unrelated myths across the globe, illuminating the ways in which beliefs moved from culture to culture over thousands of years.

However: If you haven't read Campbell b” read more

1 year, 8 months ago

“This paleoanthropology book has two things going for it: it boasts the latest information & discoveries (as 0f 2010) and it has stunning artistic reconstructions of hominids, Neanderthals, and Cro-Magnon humans. (courtesy of John Gurche).

The only noticeable issue is with the unusual amoun” read more

1 year, 8 months ago
XoXo posted a review of American Psycho

“The Most Disturbing Book Ever Written definitely a unique experience

life through the eyes of serial killer but is he a serial killer? can his narration be trusted ? when does his hallucinations end and reality begins ?

if you can stomach the gut wrenching,over the top murders a” read more

1 year, 8 months ago
Crooty posted a review of Believing the Lie

Imbroglios.

“This Inspector Lynley novel takes place in Cumbria, in the Lakes District, England.

Zed Benjamin is a young reporter at the tabloid the Source. Soon after his second visit to Cumbria after his boss's request to sex-up his story about reformed addict Nick Fairclough, Nick's cousin Ian Cress” read more

1 year, 8 months ago

An exciting novel full of charming people.

“The story of this epistolary novel takes place just after the end of WWII. Juliet Ashton is a London-based writer who used to have a humorous column in the Times under the name of Izzy Bickerstaff.

While she is at a loss as what to write next, she receives a letter from a Mr Dawsey Adams i” read more

1 year, 8 months ago
Desmond posted a review of Screw You, Interview!

“Job hunting is getting harder and harder throughout time, but this short yet interesting book comes to the rescue! This book tells secrets and strategies that most likely are unbeknownst by your competitors, so it can serve as your weapon in the job hunting field. The only potential problem from app” read more

1 year, 8 months ago
janeth posted a review of The Outsiders

“i love the outsiders and reading the book when i was reading the book i was i could not put the book down when nthe movied came out i wanted to watch it so bad with the drama the fighting” read more

1 year, 8 months ago
markjazz posted a review of Revelation Space

“This was my first taste in reading anything by Alastair Reynolds and one can tell off the bat that he is using his scientific background in the development of his "Universe". There's some fantastic wonders displayed in here and some great theories too. My main problem with this book however is that,” read more

1 year, 8 months ago

“Review "Profane on its surface, ethical at its core, and always fun . . ." Kirkus Reviews (Starred Review)

" . . . a talk show host who can hold his own as a literary storyteller . . . [An] impressive debut novel . . ." The Los Angeles Times

"Witty, furiously paced, and frequentl” read more

1 year, 8 months ago

“http://www.amazon.com/Between-Bridge-River-Craig-Ferguson/dp/0811853756/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1373685038&sr=8-3&keywords=craig+ferguson

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly Starred Review. A gallery of grotesques slogsthrough the sewersof the entertainment industry toward r” read more

1 year, 8 months ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of The Blood Star

“The Blood Star is the sequel to The Assyrian, and continues the adventures of the exiled hero Tiglath Ashur as he travels through Egypt, Phoenicia, Greece, and Italy. This is grand melodrama of the first order, full of vivid battle scenes, devious plots, attempted assassinations, and surprising twis” read more

1 year, 8 months ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of The Assyrian

“Epic historical melodrama set in Ancient Mesopotamia?

Check.

Bloody battle scenes that read like Sam Peckinpah meets Epic of Gilgamesh?

Check.

Lusty harlots? Conniving eunuchs? Nefarious kings? Tragic love? Creepy blind prophets spouting omens? A bold but obst” read more

1 year, 8 months ago