Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

krin5292 posted a review of Skull Session

“I liked this thriller about the "monster" inside and what happens when it's released without control. I liked Paul's interactions with Lia, his son Mark, and his aunt Vivian.” read more

7 months, 2 weeks ago
krin5292 posted a review of The Museum of Horrors

“This was a good collection of horror tales. Ones I liked included "Piano Bar Blues" by Melanie Tem and "Hammerhead"by Richard Laymon.” read more

7 months, 2 weeks ago

“I liked this first book in the "Capital Crimes Series". I enjoyed meeting the characters as well as trying to figure out who killed Blaine. I look forward to reading the next book, Murder on Capitol Hill.” read more

7 months, 2 weeks ago



Overall I liked this fantasy epic featuring the innocent Tristan trying to understand his purpose in the world. Sometimes, however, I wish there was a list of characters and their connections as many of the names were similar and I found it hard to keep track of who was who. I look forwar” read more

7 months, 2 weeks ago

“I enjoyed this books about musicians in a traveling restaurant. I liked the character interactions, especially between Billy and Libby.” read more

7 months, 2 weeks ago

“Un cadavere spaggiato sotto al Ponte di Mezzo allontana il commissario Soneri, sul margine di una crisi della mezza età, da Parma portandolo in un piccolo paese di montagna che, chiuso sotto tutti i punti di vista, si rivela ben presto un posto dai mille segreti dove si combattono il desiderio di m” read more

7 months, 3 weeks ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of Nefertiti: A Novel

“Mutnodjmet, the quiet and unambitious younger sister of Nefertiti, gets roughly catapulted into the devious world of Egyptian courtly life when Nefertiti becomes the Queen Consort of the radical pharaoh Akhenaten. Solid historical outing, with plenty of melodrama and richly imagined scenes of Ancien” read more

7 months, 3 weeks ago

“Fantastic, in-depth overviews of famous paintings by our favorite lisping nun. I also really like the illustrations and lay-out. The publisher, Dorling-Kindersley, can usually be relied upon to produce quality work, especially when it has a strong visual element. Almost any of their art-related book” read more

7 months, 3 weeks ago

“A truly successful epic novel*, one that covers very long periods of time, is a tricky undertaking. You have to provide enough information to feed the appetites of history buffs, but you also have to balance that with a convincing human story. Rutherfurd doesn't quite achieve that balance.

read more

7 months, 3 weeks ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of Centennial

“A novel about Colorado and a large book in every sense of the word, Centennial is one of Michener's most successful outings. It boasts the humongous timeline we've come to expect from him, but the fiction itself rests on a solid foundation of fascinating historical facts. Exposition abounds, of cour” read more

7 months, 3 weeks ago

7/10

“I didn't like this book as much as the first one, which I gave a 5/5. I guess it's because the first one opened a whole new world for me and I feel this one just took longer to get anywhere. You know there's a final battle that's going to happen but you have to read through 400+ pages of people talk” read more

7 months, 3 weeks ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of Fire from Heaven

“Ahem...

So this book starts with Alexander as a young boy, in bed, playing with his pet snake. (Nudge, nudge, wink, wink.) Then his snake slithers away. He trundles off on his little toddler feet to search for it and wanders into his mother's room. (He really loves his mother. This is VERY” read more

7 months, 3 weeks ago

“This is the first book in the writer's Harry Bosch detective series. These are great "page turner" books in my opinion. Even though it is not necessary, I would recommend starting from the beginning of the series. It's interesting to see how the lead character develops though the stories.” read more

7 months, 3 weeks ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of The Source

“Artifacts found at an archaeological site in Israel provide the foundations for a series of fictional snapshots into the region's history. The time-span covered is ambitious in the usual Michener fashion, from Neolithic times up into the 1960s. The focus is mostly on the Jewish peoples, but some tim” read more

7 months, 3 weeks ago

“These are the first three books in the Harry Bosch detective series. These are great "page turner" books in my opinion. Even though it is not necessary, I would recommend starting from the beginning of the series. It's interesting to see how the lead character develops though the stories.” read more

7 months, 3 weeks ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of Evolution

“99.9% of all species that have ever existed are now extinct. What if anything makes us special? And what does the future hold for us a species?

This novel tackles those questions in an ambitious 600+ collection of chronological vignettes. These cover the proto-simian creature Purgatorius, ” read more

7 months, 4 weeks ago

“It seems like each successive book in the Earth's Children series is more ponderous and contains less meaningful action than the one before. This particular volume is basically a Stone Age travelogue. If you're interested in ornately detailed descriptions of Ice Age scenery, flora, fauna, weather co” read more

7 months, 4 weeks ago

“In the third book of the Earth's Children series, Ayla and Jondalar have left Ayla's remote valley home and have entered the territory of the Mamutoi People. This is Ayla's first real encounter with a tribe of her own Cro-Magnon race and she makes quite a first impression, with her tame horses and m” read more

7 months, 4 weeks ago

“After being rather roughly ejected from her adoptive Clan of neanderthals, Auel's Cro-Magnon heroine Ayla has to survive on her own in a remote valley. Meanwhile, a tall blue-eyed stranger is traveling cross-country with his brother, on a collision course with unexpected tragedy and romance.
read more

7 months, 4 weeks ago

“I actually read this book for the first time in 3rd grade. It was my second adult novel (after Watership Down) and I voraciously gobbled up every abundant detail of the Cro-Magnon Ayla's adventures with her adoptive Neanderthal clan.

I've given The Clan of the Cave Bear a re-read after all” read more

7 months, 4 weeks ago

“This is one of Shakespeare's problem plays, meaning it doesn't fit neatly into the category of tragedy or comedy, but occupies its own hybrid niche. "Black comedy" or "scathing satire" would probably be a fairly apt description for this outing. It's actually a lot of fun to read, especially if you l” read more

7 months, 4 weeks ago

“Fantasy is not my first choice when it comes to novels but I do dabble in it once and a while. I think after reading this book though I'm going to be stuck as a fan of fantasy for a long while. I've read the first books from "Lord of the Rings", "Game of Thrones", and "The Wheel of Time" series and ” read more

8 months ago

“L’archeologo e divulgatore Manfredi scrive una biografia romanzata di Alessandro Magno spezzandola in tre libri racchiusi qui in un unico Oscar che è un balenottero vicino alle mille pagine. Nel complesso una rilassante lettura estiva, che scorre abbastanza veloce nella parte narrativa, ma che ri” read more

8 months ago
Orbital Decay posted a review of The Broker

“I absolutely hated this book. I finished it but it was tedious and grueling to do so. Obviously the writer took a trip to Italy and decided to incorporate it into some unbelievable tale. Two different government factions want this lead character dead and yet can't seem to kill him. He is taken to I” read more

8 months, 1 week ago

“Fascinating books. :)Very interesting to know about his childhood and his life before he was wrong accused.” read more

8 months, 1 week ago
markjazz posted a review of The Eternity Artifact

7/10

“Almost a great novel. I felt this book had a great beginning and middle but once the Artifact is found I was kind of getting disappointed as to what it was and what it stood for. I liked the different character view points, the vividness of the Planet as well, and it had just the right amount of rel” read more

8 months, 1 week ago
Jacob posted a review of Windy and whirly

“Cute must read. If you have little one's this would be a great added addition to your childs books collect.” read more

8 months, 2 weeks ago
markjazz posted a review of Old Man's War

8/10

“A very solid and quick read. Scalzi manages to create a Starship Troopers style storyline but with a new style that should appeal to sci-fi readers of this generation. He pictures for us a very vivid Universe filled with danger and yet manages to make the reader laugh here and there. A must for any ” read more

8 months, 2 weeks ago

“Le mangiate di pesce e la passeggiata al molo. Gli strafalcioni di Catarella e le anagrafiche di Fazio. Le litigate con Livia e l’invadenza di Ingrid. La verandina, le carte da firmare e il muro di gomma a Montelusa. Al lettore seriale, fa piacere ritrovare tutto al suo posto, quando torna a visit” read more

8 months, 2 weeks ago

“Labeling this as a novel is somewhat of stretch, as this book is more of a loosely-connected collection of short stories. There's a definite nautical theme running through many of the tales, recurring mentions of woodworms & Noah's Ark, ironic twists, and quite a few wry jabs at Judeo-Christian myth” read more

8 months, 3 weeks ago