Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

We have to create our own tomorrow...

“I ran into this book completely by chance while searching for some interesting dystopian items for young people. I said "why not?" and added a whole series on the waiting list to read in the future, but absolutely never heard of this book, nor about screening. The greater was my surprise when I foun” read more

8 months, 1 week ago
Villiana posted a review of The Time Machine

Eat or you will get eaten

“My first review :P

Warning, plenty of spoilers :)

I didn't know before this story in the original, so I have to admit that the Time Machine plowed my brain, like a herd of hurtling buffaloes. I still don't know exactly what to write, so maybe I'll start from the end. Ending made” read more

8 months, 2 weeks ago

“Great book, but not enough focus on the more eastern parts of Europe. That said the book is easy to read, and contains a lot of usefull information about the relations between food, culture and society. I read it to one of my history seminaries, and quiet enjoyed it.” read more

8 months, 3 weeks ago

Not captivating enough for the end of a series.

“This is the fifth and final book of the Orokon pentalogy (after The Harlequin’s Dance, The King and Queen of Swords and Sultan of the Moon and Stars, and Sisterhood of the Blue Storm).

In this volume, Jem & Co. have to travel back to Agondon as fast as possible, if they want a chance to ” read more

8 months, 4 weeks ago



Brilliant work Mr. Giammarco! This is one of the most candid, entertaining and informative books about the James Bond films written from the inside, with exclusive in-depth interviews from all the cast and crew. Lovely photos too, most never seen before! A real treat to see you on TV (☺” read more

9 months ago
geojones100 posted a review of Waiting

“Unforgettable sad story of unrequited love in two fronts: the legal and the taboo. Mesmerizing in its emotional study and heartbreaking in its delivery.” read more

9 months ago

“Read for the moment one time, translated into italian: it is a huge fresco of an age thorugh lifes of many characters that are truely living.. with their adventures that never annoy the reader” read more

9 months, 1 week ago

“Read six times (in italian language), the funniest way to know nearly everything..It is an excellent book for science lovers, and the Author is always ready to let us know how our world is amazing..” read more

9 months, 1 week ago
sensitivemuse posted a review of Drink, Slay, Love

“This was a joy to read! Pearl’s such a great character and she made the book entertaining. I loved her wit, it provided for the majority of the comedy parts in the plot. Her sarcasm and her attempt to try and fit into school life was absolutely hilarious.

The vampires in this book are we” read more

9 months, 2 weeks ago

"The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest"

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS

This one picks up right where the second book, The Girl Who Played with Fire, left off, with Lisbeth Salander rushed to hospital and then charged with attempted murder. The rest is basically just building up to her trial, with Mikael Blomkvist and a whole network of journ” read more

9 months, 4 weeks ago
sensitivemuse posted a review of Everneath

“First, loved the cover of this book. I fell in love with it the moment I saw the cover. As for the story, well, it was good at some parts and then at times it felt like it dragged. It’s an interesting twist on the Hades/Persephone myth, which is also what got me into the book as I’ve taken a lik” read more

9 months, 4 weeks ago

“Oh wow I loved this book. The three sisters were such memorable characters and each had their own distinct personality. Of the three I’d have to love Maura because of her outspoken personality, her temperament made her explosive and exciting to read about. I felt sorry for her at the same time bec” read more

10 months ago

“This book went off to a bit of a slow start, but it was a nice introduction to Amelia and how she came to be. I enjoy her character, she stands out in Victorian society, she’s strong willed and fiercely independent. Evelyn comes along later in the plot and she’s the complete opposite. Yet the tw” read more

10 months, 1 week ago
sensitivemuse posted a review of Amped

“This book grabbed me from the first page and I’m thinking Daniel H Wilson is quickly becoming my favorite new author. I loved reading this from cover to cover.

It’s certainly an interesting concept, where we can become ‘amplified’ to enhance ourselves but then you’d have to ask ” read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago
ran88dom99 posted a review of Integral Trees

“Feels extremely hurried after entering jungle. Quinn tufts choice to not explore their environment or develop new tech was their undoing.” read more

10 months, 3 weeks ago

“Life as We Knew It was pretty good. I enjoyed reading it. The Dead and the Gone isn’t really a continuation of the first one, it’s set in a different setting this time in New York City. Instead of a female protagonist, we have a male one who’s like the previous main character, has a family to ” read more

10 months, 3 weeks ago
geojones100 posted a review of The Shack

“After his young daughter is abducted and presumed killed by a serial killer, the father sinks deep into melancholy and turns his back on God. Years later, he receives a message from the Almighty asking him to return to the place of the killing--a rundown shack, for a personal meet-up and some seriou” read more

11 months ago

“**Caution: Spoilers! Read at your risk!**

Loved Rot and Ruin. This book was also ten times better than Rot and Ruin. Everything just got better when I read this book.

The characters got better (except Nix, for some reason I just can’t get myself to like her). There were moments” read more

11 months ago

Entertaining from start to finish.

“This is the fourth book of the Orokon pentalogy (after The Harlequin’s Dance, The King and Queen of Swords and Sultan of the Moon and Stars, and before Empress of the Endless Dream).

After leaving Unang-Lia on a flying carpet, Jem, Raj, Littler and the dog Rainbow crash on the volcanic W” read more

11 months, 1 week ago

“Rise Up and Salute the Sun is an important work of philosophy from a woman, one that is clearly influenced by independent thought and not strictly feminist thinking which is usually typical of female philosophers. What is most striking about Kassem's thoughts and use of words is the comprehensivenes” read more

11 months, 1 week ago

“Adrian!!!! ” read more

11 months, 2 weeks ago

“This wonderful book contains 118 (not 100) very large and simply magnificent full-page colour reproductions of Hiroshige's series of woodblock prints which depict the waterways, bridges, blossoms, buildings, people, seasons, gardens, temples, ceremonies (and more) in mid-19th century Tokyo. The acco” read more

11 months, 2 weeks ago

“I'm an Elton fan but wasn't sure whether to buy his first book. It's not an autobiography, but a book about AIDS; its impact on Elton (and friends tragically lost), the work that his foundation and others have done to combat the disease- in the face of obstacles- and what needs to be done to erase i” read more

11 months, 2 weeks ago

“I enjoyed reading this one. I rather liked the story, even though it’s dark and moody. The setting and the theme was well done and although Silvana and Janusz are supposed to be together, you can feel the detachment between the two of them because of the war. It changes everything and when they do” read more

12 months ago

“I loved this book about finding new friends in a new home while learning about their shared history of German occupation during World War II. I especially liked the way it was written through letters.

read more

12 months ago
krin5292 posted a review of The Scarlet Letter

“I liked this book about Puritan ethics and hypocrisy. I found the reactions of the townspeople to Hester interesting as time goes by.” read more

12 months ago

“I enjoyed this book about a Dominican-American man trying to find his way in New Jersey and Santo Domingo.” read more

12 months ago

“I learned much from reading this book, not only about medical history but also about ethics and about a family left in the dark for far too long.” read more

12 months ago

“I liked this chilling book about a haunted house and its inhabitants. I especially liked the interactions between the governess and the boy.” read more

12 months ago
krin5292 posted a review of M Is for Magic

“I liked all the stories. My favorites included Case of Blackbirds, Troll Bridge, Chivalry and Sunbird.” read more

12 months ago