Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

sensitivemuse posted a review of Everneath

“First, loved the cover of this book. I fell in love with it the moment I saw the cover. As for the story, well, it was good at some parts and then at times it felt like it dragged. It’s an interesting twist on the Hades/Persephone myth, which is also what got me into the book as I’ve taken a lik” read more

7 months, 3 weeks ago

“Oh wow I loved this book. The three sisters were such memorable characters and each had their own distinct personality. Of the three I’d have to love Maura because of her outspoken personality, her temperament made her explosive and exciting to read about. I felt sorry for her at the same time bec” read more

7 months, 4 weeks ago

“This book went off to a bit of a slow start, but it was a nice introduction to Amelia and how she came to be. I enjoy her character, she stands out in Victorian society, she’s strong willed and fiercely independent. Evelyn comes along later in the plot and she’s the complete opposite. Yet the tw” read more

8 months ago
sensitivemuse posted a review of Amped

“This book grabbed me from the first page and I’m thinking Daniel H Wilson is quickly becoming my favorite new author. I loved reading this from cover to cover.

It’s certainly an interesting concept, where we can become ‘amplified’ to enhance ourselves but then you’d have to ask ” read more

8 months, 1 week ago
ran88dom99 posted a review of Integral Trees

“Feels extremely hurried after entering jungle. Quinn tufts choice to not explore their environment or develop new tech was their undoing.” read more

8 months, 2 weeks ago

“Life as We Knew It was pretty good. I enjoyed reading it. The Dead and the Gone isn’t really a continuation of the first one, it’s set in a different setting this time in New York City. Instead of a female protagonist, we have a male one who’s like the previous main character, has a family to ” read more

8 months, 2 weeks ago
geojones100 posted a review of The Shack

“After his young daughter is abducted and presumed killed by a serial killer, the father sinks deep into melancholy and turns his back on God. Years later, he receives a message from the Almighty asking him to return to the place of the killing--a rundown shack, for a personal meet-up and some seriou” read more

8 months, 3 weeks ago

“**Caution: Spoilers! Read at your risk!**

Loved Rot and Ruin. This book was also ten times better than Rot and Ruin. Everything just got better when I read this book.

The characters got better (except Nix, for some reason I just can’t get myself to like her). There were moments” read more

8 months, 3 weeks ago

Entertaining from start to finish.

“This is the fourth book of the Orokon pentalogy (after The Harlequin’s Dance, The King and Queen of Swords and Sultan of the Moon and Stars, and before Empress of the Endless Dream).

After leaving Unang-Lia on a flying carpet, Jem, Raj, Littler and the dog Rainbow crash on the volcanic W” read more

9 months ago

“Rise Up and Salute the Sun is an important work of philosophy from a woman, one that is clearly influenced by independent thought and not strictly feminist thinking which is usually typical of female philosophers. What is most striking about Kassem's thoughts and use of words is the comprehensivenes” read more

9 months ago

“Adrian!!!! ” read more

9 months ago

“This wonderful book contains 118 (not 100) very large and simply magnificent full-page colour reproductions of Hiroshige's series of woodblock prints which depict the waterways, bridges, blossoms, buildings, people, seasons, gardens, temples, ceremonies (and more) in mid-19th century Tokyo. The acco” read more

9 months, 1 week ago

“I'm an Elton fan but wasn't sure whether to buy his first book. It's not an autobiography, but a book about AIDS; its impact on Elton (and friends tragically lost), the work that his foundation and others have done to combat the disease- in the face of obstacles- and what needs to be done to erase i” read more

9 months, 1 week ago

“I enjoyed reading this one. I rather liked the story, even though it’s dark and moody. The setting and the theme was well done and although Silvana and Janusz are supposed to be together, you can feel the detachment between the two of them because of the war. It changes everything and when they do” read more

9 months, 3 weeks ago

“I loved this book about finding new friends in a new home while learning about their shared history of German occupation during World War II. I especially liked the way it was written through letters.

read more

9 months, 3 weeks ago
krin5292 posted a review of The Scarlet Letter

“I liked this book about Puritan ethics and hypocrisy. I found the reactions of the townspeople to Hester interesting as time goes by.” read more

9 months, 3 weeks ago

“I enjoyed this book about a Dominican-American man trying to find his way in New Jersey and Santo Domingo.” read more

9 months, 3 weeks ago

“I learned much from reading this book, not only about medical history but also about ethics and about a family left in the dark for far too long.” read more

9 months, 3 weeks ago

“I liked this chilling book about a haunted house and its inhabitants. I especially liked the interactions between the governess and the boy.” read more

9 months, 3 weeks ago
krin5292 posted a review of M Is for Magic

“I liked all the stories. My favorites included Case of Blackbirds, Troll Bridge, Chivalry and Sunbird.” read more

9 months, 3 weeks ago
krin5292 posted a review of Virtuosity

“I liked this sci-fi thriller about virtual intelligence combined with a physical body. Someday, I'll see the movie this book was based on.

read more

9 months, 3 weeks ago
krin5292 posted a review of Mystery Cats (Signet)

“I enjoyed this set of feline mysteries. Favorite stories included "The Lady Wore Black" by Hugh B. Cave and "The Theft of the Mafia Cat" by Edward D. Hoch.

read more

9 months, 3 weeks ago
krin5292 posted a review of The Known World

“This was an interesting book about slavery, race and families in Manchester County, Virginia. I liked the interactions between the characters, including Moses and Caldonia.” read more

9 months, 3 weeks ago
Rak posted a review of Dicebox

“Dicebox is a slice-of-life sci fi that, somewhere along the way, develops a major plot and a large ensemble cast. The story follows Griffen and Molly, two transient workers in a spacefaring society. They're happily married, but things aren't perfect-- Molly sees disturbing visions, and Griffen's pas” read more

9 months, 3 weeks ago

“How to go from zero to Tolkien nerd in only ~400 pages!

No, really though, this was a fascinating read. The depth of history and the sense of legend imbued in the writing make it worth all the confusing lineages and the fact that you may never again wish to hear the words "light", "shadow"” read more

9 months, 4 weeks ago
Rak posted a review of Saga

“I'll just quote Vaughan on this one: "This is an original fantasy book with no superheroes, two non-white leads and an opening chapter featuring graphic robot sex. I thought we might be cancelled by our third issue."

And that barely even scratches the surface.” read more

9 months, 4 weeks ago

“Existential horror with a biological bent. Starts with a very bare-bones premise (an expedition into the mysterious Area X, about which nobody seems to know anything), but rapidly develops into something properly monstrous.

Bonus points: nearly all-female cast.” read more

9 months, 4 weeks ago

“I absolutely loved the first one. I loved Vincent so much and he instantly became a book crush. Both he and Kate made a great couple, and although they had the chemistry going on, their relationship sort of went in the way of the overall plot.

The plot had great potential and it was just ” read more

10 months, 1 week ago

“I enjoyed this book somewhat. Deborah was enjoyable to read as a character, she’s very strong willed and knew exactly what she wanted from life. Especially during this particular time period where she had an interest in medicine and science, it would have been hard for a woman during that time to ” read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago
Protiakne posted a review of Acne: For Dummies

“Proti akne prináša alternatívne spôsoby liečby akné.

Tipy, triky na www.protiakne.info od expertov po alternatívnych liečiteľov kožných ochorení.

read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago