Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

catcarlo posted a review of Il sogno di un hippie

“Perché Neil Young ha scritto questo libro? Perché si è ripulito da alcool ed erba e non riesce più a buttar giù una canzone, perché si è rotto un alluce in piscina, perché è un modo facile per fare i soldi (vedi alla voce Keith Richards). Di sicuro lo ha fatto a modo suo, da testone un po” read more

10 months, 1 week ago

8/10

“This tale could have been told in 30 pages. Mr. James seems to go off for pages at a time before finally wrapping up each chapter with a good ending. While reading this I felt bored and thrilled at the same time so it was hard for me to rate this a 4/5. If this book was written in recent times I wou” read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago

“Hmm awesome information for computer this is good

hey guys i have something to tell you . when create problem you computer . than i think you should call smartsnake

Hotmail Email Support Works Wonderfully

Keyword / tag >> Hotmail Helpline, Hotmail email support, Hotma” read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago

“Hmm awesome information for computer this is good

hey guys i have something to tell you . when create problem you computer . than i think you should call smartsnake

Hotmail Email Support Works Wonderfully

You are at right place if facing irritated and unknown Hotmail e” read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago

Not to give up hope never.

“Seven days for the eternity, seven days for world creation. Round us one thousand and people and who knows can among them and there are Angels and Demons. Sofia and Loukas at first sight ordinary workers, but only on the first. They become the main figures in a bet of their administration. Scene of ” read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago

“Benché uscito in una collana chiamata ‘Noir nella storia’, va detto innanzitutto che questo libro non è un noir, bensi un giallo d’impianto convenzionale, costruito com’è sulla ricerca del colpevole di una morte all’apparenza inesplicabile. Su un totale di più di quattrocento pagine, p” read more

10 months, 3 weeks ago

8/10

“This was my first read of Michio Kaku and I'm glad at how much it surprised me. I knew a little bit of space phyics and I wanted to see a dumbed down explanation and that is what I got. I also got to know a few more laws and I especially liked the quantum physics parts because I knew nothing about t” read more

10 months, 3 weeks ago

“After struggling for such a long with my class in 'English Literature' and with little interest in reading another book. I found this book and it was those wacked out illustrations that captured me and I have been a diligent reader ever since.” read more

10 months, 3 weeks ago
Folia vernalia posted a review of The Night Circus

Circus arrives without warning...

“This magnificent piece that takes you from the very first words. Circus arrives without warning, circus captures your mind and away the black-and-white paths. Read his story-feel paint his world. Three lines of one of the plot, as one. Unfortunate lovers Celia and Marco, that's cute Bailey, that is ” read more

10 months, 4 weeks ago
deputydog posted a review of 11.22.63

“A great time-travel book (listened to Nov 11, read Aug 13) would make a good movie or TV series - probably the later as would need time say 10 episodes to tell the full story.” read more

11 months ago

“-Spoiler Warning-

This is one of those easy reads, so easy to read in fact, that it tends not to linger very long in the mind after finishing the last page.

The historical component of the book is actually pretty decent. The author did his research and it shows, but he also doesn” read more

11 months ago

“This is the volume in Joseph Campbell's Masks of God that covers Judaism, Christianity, & Islam. It is especially useful for illuminating the fascinating and often surprising foundations of Judeo-Christian myth, and one would be hard-pressed to find a more meticulous and thorough guide to such thing” read more

11 months, 1 week ago

“When it comes to tragic irony, few ancient or modern playwrights come close to Sophocles and these are the three works that showcase his dark genius at its best. This particular edition is translated by the ever-dependable Robert Fagles, and contains the following plays, in the order they were first” read more

11 months, 1 week ago

“As historical novels go, it doesn't get too much better than this adroit little tale. Personally, I find Renault's dry language a bit off-putting at times, but I know that others will find her style much more agreeable. It depends on personal taste. I find it slightly stuffy, others will see it as r” read more

11 months, 1 week ago

7/10

“It's been since 1995 the last time I read anything by R.L. Stine and I figured I'd give him a read again to bring back some memories of my childhood horror days. I must say I was surprised at how good this story was, as it takes place in 1900 and gives way to what becomes the street called "Fear Str” read more

11 months, 2 weeks ago
catcarlo posted a review of La strada

“Nessun colore, solo un accenno di bianco, il nero delle notti senza stelle e un’infinita serie di sfumature di grigio. Cenere ovunque che, prima ancora che giunga a terra, sporca la neve che cade da un cielo in cui il sole è sempre coperto dalle nubi. E’ un mondo morto quello in cui avanzano l” read more

11 months, 2 weeks ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of Funeral Games

“This book, the final volume in Mary Renault's Alexander the Great trilogy, covers the events right after Alexander's death. Without Alexander's powerful personality to provide unity and focus, his astonishing empire is quickly deteriorating into a mess of intrigue and entropy.

Funeral Game” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of The Persian Boy

“It's not very often that you come across an historical novel that portrays events from the vantage point of a eunuch. It's not the easiest perspective for an author to immerse themselves in, but Renault pulls it off with convincing surety.

The narrator of The Persian Boy is Bagoas (based o” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

Life and death as they should be.

“This is the fourth and final book in the Tiffany Aching series (after The Wee Free Men, A Hat Full of Sky and Wintersmith).

Tiffany is now the local witch on the Chalk. This means she mends broken toes and blows congested noses in the nearby villages.

When the old Baron dies unde” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

Hate crime investigation.

“In this 39th Discworld novel, Samuel Vimes is coerced by his wife Lady Sybil into taking a holiday in Crundells, their estate in the Quirmian countryside.

Whereas his 6-year-old son Young Sam is delighted to discover a whole new world of animal poo, far from the hustle and bustle of Ankh-M” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

“A fictionalization of the famous Spartan stand at Thermopylae, this novel does not pull any punches. It's gory, gritty, brutal, and very compelling. Steven Pressfield gives ancient events a feeling of immediacy; he has military experience and he puts this to fine use in giving the reader an authenti” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

“The sequel to The King Must Die, The Bull From the Sea begins shortly after Theseus's triumphant return from Crete. His father's unfortunate suicide means he's now king of Athens, with all the accompanying perks and pains. This book lacks the momentum of it's predecessor; much of the drama is genera” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

“My opinion of this book was highly unfavorable until the main character ended up as a bull dancer on the isle of Crete. That was when the author really hit her stride. Or perhaps I just became interested enough to overlook the overly-affected dialogue and constant emphasis on Theseus's maleness. The” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

“This is a wonderful introduction to the colorful world of Greek Myth. Even though it was published back in 1962, it's lost none of its charm. The D'Aulaire's know how to tell a story and their whimsical illustrations are the perfect augmentations. I especially love the subtle details in the drawings” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

“It was a tragedy to lose David Gemmell so early. He was one of the best fantasy writers in the biz and even his lesser books were better than most. He also passed away before he could finish his Troy trilogy, but thankfully his wife completed his work. Usually when someone takes over a series, some ” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

“Another great installment in the Troy trilogy. Gemmell has the admirable ability to make the most minor characters into fully-rendered people, people you often find yourself emotionally-invested in. This can be dangerous, because in these novels, no one is entirely safe. Brutal and tragic events wil” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

“A highly readable and deftly written re-imagining of the Trojan War, Lord of the Silver Bow crackles with tense energy, vividly-drawn characters, and violent encounters. The author definitely doesn't pull any punches. Terrible things happen to decent people and the story swerves in unpredictable way” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

“Written in the 5th century BC, this is a fascinating snapshot of ancient Greek life and beliefs. Herodotus's narrative of the Persian War and the famous Spartan stand at Thermopylae are worth the price of admission alone, but where he really shines is in his many passages of sheer made up nonsense. ” read more

11 months, 4 weeks ago

“Well... this book is just a heap of silliness.

At first I was ready to lay the blame on translation problems (after all, the author is supposedly an Egyptologist, he surely knows the time period), but that excuse can only cover so much. It cannot cover dialogue that is foul enough to be ra” read more

11 months, 4 weeks ago

“In the final book of The Merlin Codex, Greek and Celtic myth continue to exist in a kind of vertigo-inducing disharmony. The descriptions are lovely (as they were in the first two books), but the storyline is as elusive as a Will-o-the-wisp.

We finally discover who's been causing the kerfu” read more

11 months, 4 weeks ago