Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

manwhonose posted a review of The Exorcist

“An excellently written, slow-burning horror with convincing, relatable characters. An absorbing page-turner. Once you start reading, you can't stop until you've read the last word.” read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago

“My own son is learning so much from God's word. I hope the young growing man in your life will be blessed, too!

read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago

British humour

“Herodotus The Gnome Of Sofia – humor and espionage in the diplomacy world

Herodotus is humor, satire and a witty commentary on the downward political spiral in a former Communist country and the smug, foolish and baseless so called ‘’ superiority ‘’ of the diplomacy world.
<” read more

10 months, 3 weeks ago

Judas Goat The Kennet Narrow Boat Mystery

“Judas Goat The Kennet Narrow Boat Mystery – murder mystery, arms deal

Pulling the curtain on this not always known world, Patrick Brigham reveals the cover-ups behind a weapons deal. In a fictional story, the author unravels a murder case which stretches from Reading to Bulgaria, South A” read more

10 months, 3 weeks ago

“Interessante ler sobre os relatos de dois diferentes momentos em que uma mesma pessoa esteve em Cuba. Resumiria em: deslumbramento e desilusão.” read more

11 months ago

“Missing chapters and parts in the English translation

Some chapters and paragraphs of the Japanese paperback edition were not included in the English translation. Combining the original three-volumes (Japanese) would have been too long, and so the publisher requested that ~25,000 words be ” read more

11 months, 1 week ago
sensitivemuse posted a review of Sweetly

“The story was good at first. The mystery aspect of the story and the scary moments were well done and gave me the heebie jeebies. I was sort of hoping for a sequel to Sisters Red but knew this wasn’t the case as I read the summary before so I was mildly disappointed. Although it’s nice to see f” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

Excellent return to form

“Since the return of Alita, the titular Battle Angel, and her eclectic group of friends, we’ve been treated to a series with a few interesting ideas and a large number of lumbering, slow-moving expanses of non-story overstuffed with oddball characters and fighting so excessive it actually ground th” read more

1 year ago

6/10

“This book was recommended to me and when I read the back it sounded like a good plot. However, getting into it I felt like it was too political and some of the main characters were just flat. I didn't feel connected to them at all. I also didn't like the idea of a Base set up on Mercury. Even for sc” read more

1 year ago
PulpRoman posted a review of The Call Of The Wild

“A charming and simple book but again I'm left with a feeling of anti-climax. I couldn't find any moment where I was extremely overjoyed or excited yet the book does explore the link of man-beast-beast in the bare wild where morals are circumstantial and survival is salient. Additionally quite skilfu” read more

1 year ago

“This book was a struggle for me. The constantly trying to decipher the language written in a very British manner of literature devalued the experience. Most books I've read are coming of age ones but this is my least favorite so far;but I can and do empathize with and cheer on the main character Jea” read more

1 year ago
sunset96 posted a review of Traumnovelle

“This isn't so much a review as a comparison to Stanley Kubrick's film adaptation 'Eyes Wide Shut'.

With the exception of Vladimir Narbakov's Lolita, Stanley Kubrick was said to adapt the novels he thought weren't masterpieces in order to improve on them. This is arguably the case here, sin” read more

1 year ago
markjazz posted a review of The Book of Cthulhu 2

“Average rating for each story came out to 7.1. Here are my three favorite and least favorite of this volume.

TOP 3

The Drowning at Lake Henpin by Paul Tobin

This Is How The World Ends by John R. Fultz

Once More From The Top by A. Scott Glancy

BOTTOM ” read more

1 year ago

“Is this story a horror tale or the first recorded acid trip!?!? I find this book very hard to rate. I almost wanted to give it a 4/5. This novel is a 'found manuscript' and it gave me the feeling that there is almost no point to this tale when I finished it because by the end of it you're left wonde” read more

1 year ago

“This was an okay book. Certainly not the best, but it had it’s moments where it did engage me as a reader. The book had some gothic overtones and the setting of the story (which was Victorian but in the USA era) was interesting - which kept my curiosity going. I really enjoyed reading about Amelia” read more

1 year ago

“Great reading about the Silent film era and the Life of the "Genius" and "Pioneer" D.W. Griffith. If you are interested in Cinema, History or Theatre it's definitively a book to read.” read more

1 year ago

“One of the most original science fiction stories I've read. So vivid and the ideas presented were so fascinating. Each chapter ends with that cliff hanger quality making you want to read more and more. While reading this I thought to myself; "How is this not a movie yet?" and then further into the s” read more

1 year ago

Compelling Read

“I pulled my paperback copy of this book of my shelf on impulse one day, and I'm very glad I did. 'Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes' is a compelling read, which examines a large birth of issues including bullying, obesity, disabilities, child abuse, abortion, and religion. This all sounds very 'disease-o” read more

1 year ago

“The main thing that I really enjoyed about this book was although it went at an enormously slow pace it was the detailed writing that made it really good. The story itself was also really good, despite the theme being bleak and only gets much more bleaker towards the ending. The writing throughout t” read more

1 year ago
moviebuff15 posted a review of Parrotfish

Funny & Touching

“Intro- So, this is my first book review, and any comments or feedback would be much appreciated. I have always had a deep appreciation for GLBTQ (for the out-of-the-know, that's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered and/or questioning) books and cinema. I believe there really can't be enough of this” read more

1 year ago

“I enjoyed this first book of the Vampire Huntress Legend series. I liked the interactions of the characters, especially Damali and her friends. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, The Awakening.

read more

1 year, 1 month ago

“I liked this memoir of growing up on a struggling farm during the Depression. Parzych describes the highs and lows well and I liked learning what happened to him and the family.

read more

1 year, 1 month ago
krin5292 posted a review of The Snow Child

“This was a powerful and moving book about family, appreciation for one another, and making a new life. I liked how Faina brought Jack and Mabel closer together.

read more

1 year, 1 month ago
krin5292 posted a review of Room

“This was a very powerful and moving book! I liked the characters' interaction, especially between Ma and Jack as first she protects him from Old Nick and then how she prepares him for a much wider world.

read more

1 year, 1 month ago
krin5292 posted a review of Crazy Hot

“I enjoyed this first book in the Steele Street series. The characters were enjoyable to get to know, and the plot moved along well. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, Crazy Cool.” read more

1 year, 1 month ago

“This was a good collection of alternate history stories. My favorites included William Keith's "A Place to Stand" and R. Davis's "Across Hickman's Bridge to Home."

read more

1 year, 1 month ago
krin5292 posted a review of The Secret Supper

“I liked this historical thriller about Da Vinci, The Last Supper, religious and political intrigue in the 15th century. Sometimes there are mysteries and sometimes there are nothing to find, except rumors.

read more

1 year, 1 month ago

“I enjoyed this first book of the Bewitching Mystery series. I liked how Maggie learned about Felicity and about herself. I look forward to the next book in the series, A Charmed Death.

read more

1 year, 1 month ago

Wearisome beginning, until the final two parts.

“This is the second book of The Orokon pentalogy (after The Harlequin's Dance, and before Sultan of the Moon and Stars, Sisterhood of the Blue Storm, and Empress of the Endless Sun).

In this volume, Jemany and Catayana have been separated.

Cata, whose mind has been wiped clear, ha” read more

1 year, 1 month ago

“warmly embrace a racist novel (to kill a mockingbird)

http://stuffwhitepeopledo.blogspot.ca/2010/07/warmly-embrace-racist-novel-to-kill.html” read more

1 year, 1 month ago