Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

“Total garbage that is misclassified as being nonfiction. This guy is so full of himself that he became convinced of everything he wrote after reading the book.” read more

10 months, 1 week ago

“The empire is on its knees, but a last hope lies beyond the eastern frontier . . .

377 AD: Emperor Valens has stripped the Persian frontier of its legions, sending every available man to Thracia in an effort to contain the rampaging Gothic hordes. Now, covetous eyes have fallen upon Romeâ” read more

10 months, 3 weeks ago

7/10

“This is not intended to be a 'book of horror' so one should not think that before reading it. It's more a 'book of the weird'. There were probably only a couple tales in here that really moved me enough to be "scared". I feel I have to try and put myself in the time period these were written in orde” read more

10 months, 3 weeks ago

“Qui si cantano i cavalieri, le armi e gli amori che palpitano in un alto medioevo di fantasia, dove ogni esigenza di verosimiglianza storica cade di fronte al gusto dell’autore nel narrare una lunga e divertita fiaba. Paladino di Carlomagno, Agilulfo è solo un armatura vuota, benché immacolata n” read more

10 months, 3 weeks ago

A slow start but enjoyable.

“This is the first book of The Orokon pentalogy (before The King and Queen of Swords, Sultan of the Moon and Stars, Sisterhood of the Blue Storm, and Empress of the Endless Sun).

The events of this book take place in an 18th-Century setting, in the isolated village of Irion, a remote place ” read more

11 months ago
catcarlo posted a review of Il sogno di un hippie

“Perché Neil Young ha scritto questo libro? Perché si è ripulito da alcool ed erba e non riesce più a buttar giù una canzone, perché si è rotto un alluce in piscina, perché è un modo facile per fare i soldi (vedi alla voce Keith Richards). Di sicuro lo ha fatto a modo suo, da testone un po— read more

11 months ago

8/10

“This tale could have been told in 30 pages. Mr. James seems to go off for pages at a time before finally wrapping up each chapter with a good ending. While reading this I felt bored and thrilled at the same time so it was hard for me to rate this a 4/5. If this book was written in recent times I wou” read more

11 months ago

“Hmm awesome information for computer this is good

hey guys i have something to tell you . when create problem you computer . than i think you should call smartsnake

Hotmail Email Support Works Wonderfully

Keyword / tag >> Hotmail Helpline, Hotmail email support, Hotma” read more

11 months ago

“Hmm awesome information for computer this is good

hey guys i have something to tell you . when create problem you computer . than i think you should call smartsnake

Hotmail Email Support Works Wonderfully

You are at right place if facing irritated and unknown Hotmail e” read more

11 months ago

Not to give up hope never.

“Seven days for the eternity, seven days for world creation. Round us one thousand and people and who knows can among them and there are Angels and Demons. Sofia and Loukas at first sight ordinary workers, but only on the first. They become the main figures in a bet of their administration. Scene of ” read more

11 months, 1 week ago

“Benché uscito in una collana chiamata ‘Noir nella storia’, va detto innanzitutto che questo libro non è un noir, bensi un giallo d’impianto convenzionale, costruito com’è sulla ricerca del colpevole di una morte all’apparenza inesplicabile. Su un totale di più di quattrocento pagine, p” read more

11 months, 1 week ago

8/10

“This was my first read of Michio Kaku and I'm glad at how much it surprised me. I knew a little bit of space phyics and I wanted to see a dumbed down explanation and that is what I got. I also got to know a few more laws and I especially liked the quantum physics parts because I knew nothing about t” read more

11 months, 2 weeks ago

“After struggling for such a long with my class in 'English Literature' and with little interest in reading another book. I found this book and it was those wacked out illustrations that captured me and I have been a diligent reader ever since.” read more

11 months, 2 weeks ago
Folia vernalia posted a review of The Night Circus

Circus arrives without warning...

“This magnificent piece that takes you from the very first words. Circus arrives without warning, circus captures your mind and away the black-and-white paths. Read his story-feel paint his world. Three lines of one of the plot, as one. Unfortunate lovers Celia and Marco, that's cute Bailey, that is ” read more

11 months, 2 weeks ago
deputydog posted a review of 11.22.63

“A great time-travel book (listened to Nov 11, read Aug 13) would make a good movie or TV series - probably the later as would need time say 10 episodes to tell the full story.” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

“-Spoiler Warning-

This is one of those easy reads, so easy to read in fact, that it tends not to linger very long in the mind after finishing the last page.

The historical component of the book is actually pretty decent. The author did his research and it shows, but he also doesn” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

“This is the volume in Joseph Campbell's Masks of God that covers Judaism, Christianity, & Islam. It is especially useful for illuminating the fascinating and often surprising foundations of Judeo-Christian myth, and one would be hard-pressed to find a more meticulous and thorough guide to such thing” read more

11 months, 4 weeks ago

“When it comes to tragic irony, few ancient or modern playwrights come close to Sophocles and these are the three works that showcase his dark genius at its best. This particular edition is translated by the ever-dependable Robert Fagles, and contains the following plays, in the order they were first” read more

11 months, 4 weeks ago

“As historical novels go, it doesn't get too much better than this adroit little tale. Personally, I find Renault's dry language a bit off-putting at times, but I know that others will find her style much more agreeable. It depends on personal taste. I find it slightly stuffy, others will see it as r” read more

11 months, 4 weeks ago

7/10

“It's been since 1995 the last time I read anything by R.L. Stine and I figured I'd give him a read again to bring back some memories of my childhood horror days. I must say I was surprised at how good this story was, as it takes place in 1900 and gives way to what becomes the street called "Fear Str” read more

1 year ago
catcarlo posted a review of La strada

“Nessun colore, solo un accenno di bianco, il nero delle notti senza stelle e un’infinita serie di sfumature di grigio. Cenere ovunque che, prima ancora che giunga a terra, sporca la neve che cade da un cielo in cui il sole è sempre coperto dalle nubi. E’ un mondo morto quello in cui avanzano lâ” read more

1 year ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of Funeral Games

“This book, the final volume in Mary Renault's Alexander the Great trilogy, covers the events right after Alexander's death. Without Alexander's powerful personality to provide unity and focus, his astonishing empire is quickly deteriorating into a mess of intrigue and entropy.

Funeral Game” read more

1 year ago
Saturn Loft posted a review of The Persian Boy

“It's not very often that you come across an historical novel that portrays events from the vantage point of a eunuch. It's not the easiest perspective for an author to immerse themselves in, but Renault pulls it off with convincing surety.

The narrator of The Persian Boy is Bagoas (based o” read more

1 year ago

Life and death as they should be.

“This is the fourth and final book in the Tiffany Aching series (after The Wee Free Men, A Hat Full of Sky and Wintersmith).

Tiffany is now the local witch on the Chalk. This means she mends broken toes and blows congested noses in the nearby villages.

When the old Baron dies unde” read more

1 year ago

Hate crime investigation.

“In this 39th Discworld novel, Samuel Vimes is coerced by his wife Lady Sybil into taking a holiday in Crundells, their estate in the Quirmian countryside.

Whereas his 6-year-old son Young Sam is delighted to discover a whole new world of animal poo, far from the hustle and bustle of Ankh-M” read more

1 year ago

“A fictionalization of the famous Spartan stand at Thermopylae, this novel does not pull any punches. It's gory, gritty, brutal, and very compelling. Steven Pressfield gives ancient events a feeling of immediacy; he has military experience and he puts this to fine use in giving the reader an authenti” read more

1 year ago

“The sequel to The King Must Die, The Bull From the Sea begins shortly after Theseus's triumphant return from Crete. His father's unfortunate suicide means he's now king of Athens, with all the accompanying perks and pains. This book lacks the momentum of it's predecessor; much of the drama is genera” read more

1 year ago

“My opinion of this book was highly unfavorable until the main character ended up as a bull dancer on the isle of Crete. That was when the author really hit her stride. Or perhaps I just became interested enough to overlook the overly-affected dialogue and constant emphasis on Theseus's maleness. The” read more

1 year ago

“This is a wonderful introduction to the colorful world of Greek Myth. Even though it was published back in 1962, it's lost none of its charm. The D'Aulaire's know how to tell a story and their whimsical illustrations are the perfect augmentations. I especially love the subtle details in the drawings” read more

1 year ago

“It was a tragedy to lose David Gemmell so early. He was one of the best fantasy writers in the biz and even his lesser books were better than most. He also passed away before he could finish his Troy trilogy, but thankfully his wife completed his work. Usually when someone takes over a series, some ” read more

1 year ago