Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

Compelling Read

“I pulled my paperback copy of this book of my shelf on impulse one day, and I'm very glad I did. 'Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes' is a compelling read, which examines a large birth of issues including bullying, obesity, disabilities, child abuse, abortion, and religion. This all sounds very 'disease-o” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

“The main thing that I really enjoyed about this book was although it went at an enormously slow pace it was the detailed writing that made it really good. The story itself was also really good, despite the theme being bleak and only gets much more bleaker towards the ending. The writing throughout t” read more

12 months ago
moviebuff15 posted a review of Parrotfish

Funny & Touching

“Intro- So, this is my first book review, and any comments or feedback would be much appreciated. I have always had a deep appreciation for GLBTQ (for the out-of-the-know, that's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered and/or questioning) books and cinema. I believe there really can't be enough of this” read more

12 months ago

“I enjoyed this first book of the Vampire Huntress Legend series. I liked the interactions of the characters, especially Damali and her friends. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, The Awakening.

read more

1 year ago

“I liked this memoir of growing up on a struggling farm during the Depression. Parzych describes the highs and lows well and I liked learning what happened to him and the family.

read more

1 year ago
krin5292 posted a review of The Snow Child

“This was a powerful and moving book about family, appreciation for one another, and making a new life. I liked how Faina brought Jack and Mabel closer together.

read more

1 year ago
krin5292 posted a review of Room

“This was a very powerful and moving book! I liked the characters' interaction, especially between Ma and Jack as first she protects him from Old Nick and then how she prepares him for a much wider world.

read more

1 year ago
krin5292 posted a review of Crazy Hot

“I enjoyed this first book in the Steele Street series. The characters were enjoyable to get to know, and the plot moved along well. I look forward to reading the next book in the series, Crazy Cool.” read more

1 year ago

“This was a good collection of alternate history stories. My favorites included William Keith's "A Place to Stand" and R. Davis's "Across Hickman's Bridge to Home."

read more

1 year ago
krin5292 posted a review of The Secret Supper

“I liked this historical thriller about Da Vinci, The Last Supper, religious and political intrigue in the 15th century. Sometimes there are mysteries and sometimes there are nothing to find, except rumors.

read more

1 year ago

“I enjoyed this first book of the Bewitching Mystery series. I liked how Maggie learned about Felicity and about herself. I look forward to the next book in the series, A Charmed Death.

read more

1 year ago

Wearisome beginning, until the final two parts.

“This is the second book of The Orokon pentalogy (after The Harlequin's Dance, and before Sultan of the Moon and Stars, Sisterhood of the Blue Storm, and Empress of the Endless Sun).

In this volume, Jemany and Catayana have been separated.

Cata, whose mind has been wiped clear, ha” read more

1 year ago

“warmly embrace a racist novel (to kill a mockingbird)

http://stuffwhitepeopledo.blogspot.ca/2010/07/warmly-embrace-racist-novel-to-kill.html” read more

1 year ago

“My review can be short and simple. I bought this book many years ago when first attempting to assemble my Dylan CD collection, and it was a perfect tool for that task. (At the time I believe it was only a studio album or two out of date). The extra background information on songs and albums is inter” read more

1 year ago
mazardeus posted a review of Animal Farm

“Clasic book filled with incredible political themes all written in a very basic, easy-to-read structure.” read more

1 year ago

“An unforgettable experience in reading. A lot happens in this book, it's very readible, and very funny.” read more

1 year ago
mazardeus posted a review of The Transall Saga

“One of those amazing books where you feel everything the main character has experienced. It's such an incredible story about survival.” read more

1 year ago
mazardeus posted a review of A Clockwork Orange

“I read this book after watching the brilliant Kubrick film. It's really amazing! Love the English slang, and I felt like I was really living the atmosphere in this book.” read more

1 year ago

“The best fantasy literature I have ever read in my life. Told in a great deal of beauty and detail, this is probably the best experience I had in reading.” read more

1 year ago

“Perfect. Somehow, I misplaced this book and wanted one of the original hardbacks to replace it.

Very happy. Thank you.:-)” read more

1 year ago

“I recommend this book to ANYONE (any age) who enjoys the writings of Roald Dahl, C.S. Lewis, Madeleine L'Engle, or J.R.R. Tolkien. This is a very fun, humourous, and enjoyable fantasy novel, and one that should be read more than once!” read more

1 year ago

“I was doubtful when I started the Harry Potter books- in fact I was only going to read them because a friend begged me to do so. Much to my surprise, I was immediately hooked on the first novel, and finished all three within a week. I can honestly say that the three Harry Potter books are among the ” read more

1 year ago
wirelessrouter posted a review of Steve Jobs

“Steve Jobs wanted to change the world, "put a dent in the universe." And he did. If you are interested in life and want to know how Jobs changed it right before our eyes, you should read this book.” read more

1 year ago

“The story tells you how the greed can lead to destruction. This time, you can see Sherlock Holmes trying to unfold the mystery of the treasure before which you will see him having cocaine to serve his mind. He feels that there's nothing to live for if you don't get to work on challenging things in l” read more

1 year ago

“Alchemist is definitely the most inspiring book you will ever read. If you have a dream, this book will inspire you to follow it and never give up on it.

If a person truly desires for something, the whole universe conspires to help him to realize it. So, have something that will always hel” read more

1 year ago

“This book goes very deep into Kareena's life revealing more on how she was during her childhood and also includes pictures of Kareena herself. The first picture in the very book I can admit is sexy, she's standing confidently looking up at the camera with a short black dress. Sexy but not OTT. There” read more

1 year, 1 month ago
AmaudeusRenee posted a review of Oxygen: A Novel

“The book started out fantastic! I could totally feel the emotion of the protagonist and it touched me. However, the excitement and pull began to fizzle out and I just couldn't bring myself to finish the book. I can't give it a fair rating since I did not complete it, but I can say that it lost my in” read more

1 year, 1 month ago

“Ughh! In the authors own words "Bad book. Bad plot. Bad everything." I can't believe I wasted hours on this horrible piece of crap. Please don't bother.

read more

1 year, 2 months ago
markjazz posted a review of Edge of Infinity

7/10

“The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi by Pat Cadigan (7/10)

The Deeps of the Sky by Elizabeth Bear (6/10)

Drive by James S.A. Corey (8/10)

The Road to NPS by Sandra McDonald and Stephen D. Covey (7/10)

Swift as a Dream and Fleeting as a Sigh by John Barnes (7/” read more

1 year, 2 months ago

“Total garbage that is misclassified as being nonfiction. This guy is so full of himself that he became convinced of everything he wrote after reading the book.” read more

1 year, 2 months ago