Join Listal here 
Existing members 
Login here 
Join Listal to create lists, share images, get recommendations and much more

All updates

Morgan posted a review of Gone

“This is an interesting shorty about a confused man who awakens in a confused world. Time seems warped as does the world and even the man! It almost seems like two realms have collided and as a result the entire world turned upside-down. It is a quick easy read. Ideal for bedtime when sleepy and not ” read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago
Morgan posted a review of Subculture

“This story starts slowly, some parts are dull. The book’s description and some interesting parts kept me reading for more. I figured it as a slow-starting story that will gradually pull me in as it gets more exciting.

However, while some parts were exciting it wasn’t long before it se” read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago

“A very moving collection of poetry which lashes out at the cancer monster with all of the feelings of a patient in the final stages of cancer. They are intense and beautiful yet sad and hopeful.” read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago
NaesNest posted a review of Animal Farm

“This is one of my favorite classics. Not only is it before its time, it is thought provoking. Although, the characters are disguised as animals who think and feel they are much more dignified than humans, they unknowingly follow the same eerie steps of mankind. It is simply a wonderful story with e” read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago
BadGirl2k9 posted a review of Glass Houses

“This is one hell of a great series, written by Rachel Caine, she is a brilliant author. I've read all the Morganville books from the first to the very last and I could not put them down for a second. If you're a fan of vampire books, then be sure to read. I've put a list on my page of the whole seri” read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago

“Arthur Telling's "Kaitlin's Message

": Mr. Telling’s story leads one on a quest for the True God and Divine Wisdom. It stirs question to ones faith and compels one to desire to seek for more.

It is beautifully written in thought-provoking text. It is not the kind of book one r” read more

10 months, 2 weeks ago
markjazz posted a review of Red Thunder

4/10

“Not sure what all the hype is about this book, or the comparison to Robert Heinlein. I've read a few of Heinlein's novels and they're more hard sci-fi than this one. I find Varley writes more like Orson Card personally. This book I'd say has a reading level for 14-18 year olds. There's too much humo” read more

10 months, 3 weeks ago
markjazz posted a review of Conan the Victorious

7/10

“My first Conan novel I've read and probably the only one I'll read. The problem with a book like this is you know Conan survives. Whatever happens to him you know he's going to live through it. And yes, this is true for all comic book hero's but I'd rather read about it in something that takes me a ” read more

10 months, 3 weeks ago
sensitivemuse posted a review of Hybrids

“I loved the book for the action. The utter chaos and graphic depictions in the book are rather hard to swallow at times so it might not be for the feint of heart. It’s a typical story plot where you have elements of aliens and the government going hand in hand. So, don’t expect anything new or ” read more

10 months, 3 weeks ago

“The Body Finder has an interesting premise, (one not unlike Charlaine Harris' Harper Connelly series) but it doesn't manage to live up to it. Its main problem is a complete lack of tension, despite dealing with a serial killer targeting a small town. Kimberly Derting's rather workmanlike prose doesn” read more

11 months ago
manwhonose posted a review of The Exorcist

“An excellently written, slow-burning horror with convincing, relatable characters. An absorbing page-turner. Once you start reading, you can't stop until you've read the last word.” read more

11 months, 1 week ago

“My own son is learning so much from God's word. I hope the young growing man in your life will be blessed, too!

read more

11 months, 1 week ago

British humour

“Herodotus The Gnome Of Sofia – humor and espionage in the diplomacy world

Herodotus is humor, satire and a witty commentary on the downward political spiral in a former Communist country and the smug, foolish and baseless so called ‘’ superiority ‘’ of the diplomacy world.
<” read more

11 months, 2 weeks ago

Judas Goat The Kennet Narrow Boat Mystery

“Judas Goat The Kennet Narrow Boat Mystery – murder mystery, arms deal

Pulling the curtain on this not always known world, Patrick Brigham reveals the cover-ups behind a weapons deal. In a fictional story, the author unravels a murder case which stretches from Reading to Bulgaria, South A” read more

11 months, 2 weeks ago

“Interessante ler sobre os relatos de dois diferentes momentos em que uma mesma pessoa esteve em Cuba. Resumiria em: deslumbramento e desilusão.” read more

11 months, 3 weeks ago

“Missing chapters and parts in the English translation

Some chapters and paragraphs of the Japanese paperback edition were not included in the English translation. Combining the original three-volumes (Japanese) would have been too long, and so the publisher requested that ~25,000 words be ” read more

12 months ago
sensitivemuse posted a review of Sweetly

“The story was good at first. The mystery aspect of the story and the scary moments were well done and gave me the heebie jeebies. I was sort of hoping for a sequel to Sisters Red but knew this wasn’t the case as I read the summary before so I was mildly disappointed. Although it’s nice to see f” read more

1 year ago

Excellent return to form

“Since the return of Alita, the titular Battle Angel, and her eclectic group of friends, we’ve been treated to a series with a few interesting ideas and a large number of lumbering, slow-moving expanses of non-story overstuffed with oddball characters and fighting so excessive it actually ground th” read more

1 year ago

6/10

“This book was recommended to me and when I read the back it sounded like a good plot. However, getting into it I felt like it was too political and some of the main characters were just flat. I didn't feel connected to them at all. I also didn't like the idea of a Base set up on Mercury. Even for sc” read more

1 year, 1 month ago
PulpRoman posted a review of The Call Of The Wild

“A charming and simple book but again I'm left with a feeling of anti-climax. I couldn't find any moment where I was extremely overjoyed or excited yet the book does explore the link of man-beast-beast in the bare wild where morals are circumstantial and survival is salient. Additionally quite skilfu” read more

1 year, 1 month ago

“This book was a struggle for me. The constantly trying to decipher the language written in a very British manner of literature devalued the experience. Most books I've read are coming of age ones but this is my least favorite so far;but I can and do empathize with and cheer on the main character Jea” read more

1 year, 1 month ago
sunset96 posted a review of Traumnovelle

“This isn't so much a review as a comparison to Stanley Kubrick's film adaptation 'Eyes Wide Shut'.

With the exception of Vladimir Narbakov's Lolita, Stanley Kubrick was said to adapt the novels he thought weren't masterpieces in order to improve on them. This is arguably the case here, sin” read more

1 year, 1 month ago
markjazz posted a review of The Book of Cthulhu 2

“Average rating for each story came out to 7.1. Here are my three favorite and least favorite of this volume.

TOP 3

The Drowning at Lake Henpin by Paul Tobin

This Is How The World Ends by John R. Fultz

Once More From The Top by A. Scott Glancy

BOTTOM ” read more

1 year, 1 month ago

“Is this story a horror tale or the first recorded acid trip!?!? I find this book very hard to rate. I almost wanted to give it a 4/5. This novel is a 'found manuscript' and it gave me the feeling that there is almost no point to this tale when I finished it because by the end of it you're left wonde” read more

1 year, 1 month ago

“This was an okay book. Certainly not the best, but it had it’s moments where it did engage me as a reader. The book had some gothic overtones and the setting of the story (which was Victorian but in the USA era) was interesting - which kept my curiosity going. I really enjoyed reading about Amelia” read more

1 year, 1 month ago

“Great reading about the Silent film era and the Life of the "Genius" and "Pioneer" D.W. Griffith. If you are interested in Cinema, History or Theatre it's definitively a book to read.” read more

1 year, 1 month ago

“One of the most original science fiction stories I've read. So vivid and the ideas presented were so fascinating. Each chapter ends with that cliff hanger quality making you want to read more and more. While reading this I thought to myself; "How is this not a movie yet?" and then further into the s” read more

1 year, 1 month ago

Compelling Read

“I pulled my paperback copy of this book of my shelf on impulse one day, and I'm very glad I did. 'Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes' is a compelling read, which examines a large birth of issues including bullying, obesity, disabilities, child abuse, abortion, and religion. This all sounds very 'disease-o” read more

1 year, 1 month ago

“The main thing that I really enjoyed about this book was although it went at an enormously slow pace it was the detailed writing that made it really good. The story itself was also really good, despite the theme being bleak and only gets much more bleaker towards the ending. The writing throughout t” read more

1 year, 1 month ago
moviebuff15 posted a review of Parrotfish

Funny & Touching

“Intro- So, this is my first book review, and any comments or feedback would be much appreciated. I have always had a deep appreciation for GLBTQ (for the out-of-the-know, that's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered and/or questioning) books and cinema. I believe there really can't be enough of this” read more

1 year, 1 month ago